Windows 7 x32 vs. x64

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by learyik, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. learyik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    #1
    I am currently running xp x32 in parallels on my 24" iMac 2.66 with 4 gb ram was wondering whether i should go with x32 or x64 within parallels. Can i do an upgrade in parallels, and if I can what is the best way to go? Just give me some thoughts please. :confused:
     
  2. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #2
    You cannot upgrade from 32bit to 64bit, it requires a full reinstall. Furthermore, since you're running it in a virtual machine, just go with 32bit unless you're allocating more than 4gb in the virtual machine
     
  3. ComradeSlice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    #3
    If by "x32" you mean x86 and if by "x64" you mean x86_64, then no. :apple:
     
  4. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #4
    As others have said, no you can't upgrade from a 32-bit to 64-bit or vis-versa. But that's ok because doing a clean install is better anyway. Using the upgrade option is rarely ever a good idea.

    But yes, you should absolutely use 64-bit.
     
  5. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #5
    I would doubt the wisdom of 64-bit in parallels. If you dedicate 50% of RAM to Windows and to OS X you have no benefit from 64-bit. No additional RAM to run. You may get slightly faster execution on some apps but that will be marginal. 64-bit really starts to make sense on a 4-8 GB RAM system which does number crunching like rendering and 3D. CAD stuff would make use of this nicely.
     
  6. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #6
    I would disagree. Use the 32 bit version, as (unless you plan on using more than 4gb of RAM) it won't make a difference, HOWEVER, the 64bit version of Windows 7 takes up somewhere around twice as much space as the 32 bit version, so you'll save some disk space.
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Unfortunately, going from XP to 7 requires a full reinstall regardless of bit construction.

    Now, what would be best, I'd say 32-bit Win 7 for Parallels (you won't give Win 7 over 2GB RAM in a Virtual Machine as it'll mean less resources for OS X)... Now, if you'd go with Boot Camp, I'd advise 64-bit.
     
  8. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    A few extra gigabytes, I wouldn't exactly call that double. But to the OP, I missed the part where you mentioned you were going to be using Parallels, and in that situation, sticking with 32-bit should work just fine since you're already running it on a VM.
     

Share This Page