Windows How I Dislike Thee, Let Me Count The Ways

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Huntn, Apr 10, 2011.

1. Huntn, Apr 10, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2011

Huntn Suspended

Huntn

I realize I am using ancient Vista so maybe this is not even a valid critique for todays new and improved Windows 7 but I'd still like to vent. :)

I've been running 32 bit Vista for over 3 years on my MBP (see signature). Vista has been acting a little wonky lately, this despite running a System Utility on a regular basis and doing nothing but just average computer based tasks, start a program and hope expect to get online with it. So last night off and on for about 5 hours:

1. Started Vista for a Windows only work scheduling program called Navtec PBS.
    2. Could not get online with it. :(
    3. Network and Sharing Page indicates I was online with a good connection.
    4. Problem Program requires the latest Windows Net.Framework program, but Windows Update won't launch.
    4. Restart Windows and hope this helps.
    5. Windows Update won't launch. :(
    6. Restore System to an earlier Date.
    7. Windows Update Works! Security and Net.framework updates installed! :)
    8. Restart- Now computer won't boot up. :mad:
    9. Insert Windows Install Disk to "Repair Computer".
    10. Message: Windows can't Auto Repair Computer. :mad:
    11. Boot off Windows Install Disk and System Restore to even earlier date.
    12. Windows now starts, but can't get online with the original program or even Firefox. :mad:
    13. Network and Sharing Page shows I have a good online connection.
    14. Task manager shows both Problem Program and Firefox are running, but neither pop up on the desktop. :mad::mad:
    15. In absolute disgust, boot into Snow Leopard and curse the name Winblows! Ah Snow Leopard caresses me, soothing away the frustration...:D