Windows ME in VMware Fusion

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SandboxGeneral, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #1
    Just for fun only and to see if I can do it, I am trying to load Windows ME into VMware Fusion 2.0.8 for OS/X 10.6.6.

    It will not install because it cannot find the floppy boot disk.... duh.;) So I downloaded the boot disk files from the Internet and I am trying to burn them to a CD to be bootable for Windows but I cannot seem to make it happen. I've been Googleing and MRoogling and tried a few things, but so far just have a bunch of CD coasters.

    Here are the tools I have at my disposal.

    OS/X 10.6.6
    Windows XP SP3 in VMware Fusion 2.0.8
    Toast Titanium 9.0.7
    Windows ME CD
    Windows ME boot disk files from Internet

    When I attempt to install Windows ME, VMware Fusion detects it as such and assigns 256MB RAM and 8GB of HDD space for it and says it will next install the operating system. But the two images below are as far as I can ever get.

    Does anyone have any ideas that can assist me?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MrWillie macrumors 65816

    MrWillie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Location:
    Starlite Starbrite Trailer Court
    #2
    Your Mac knows better. Listen to it. I believe you can get banned from MR for even admitting that you have an ME disk. Well you should be...:)

    Bart's boot disks can't help you out ? I also have a USB floppy drive that I use when I go into some of the older PLC panels and they have a floppy disk with the program backed up on it. I have never used it to install an OS, but then again, is ME a 'real' OS?

    Will the drivers from the OSX disk even work with ME ?

    Edit: if I remember correctly Bart has a tutorial on making a bootable OS disk. You might want to try it out.
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Highly unlikely, but you wouldn't really need them in a VM anyway...

    B
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Windows ME? Haven't you heard? It is blacklisted by the NSA because of how potentially hazard it is...
     
  5. SandboxGeneral thread starter Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #5
    I know, I know... LOL. I was going through an old CD album where I store a bunch of computer discs and ran across ME. I wondered if I could get it to load in the VM or not so I decided to try. I do remember every bit of a disaster ME was with all the BSOD's. It really was a precursor to Vista.

    I'll have to search that out and give it a whirl.

    The truth? No! hehehe...
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    I participated in the beta for ME, and was really unhappy when they released it to manufacturing when I and many others were still having reproducible serious bugs. That was the first step in my ultimate move back to the Mac.

    B
     
  7. SandboxGeneral thread starter Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #7
    I made a boot disc just like he showed on the website and it still didn't work. I am just wondering if it's an issue with the VM rather than the Windows discs. Honestly, who would really want to run Windows 9.X/ME anymore today?

    I must have missed that memo. Either way, in a VM the OS would be err... sandboxed. ;)

    It should have been my first step to the Mac for the first time. It didn't happen for me until 2007 when I got my first Mac, MBP 2,2.
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    Still took me 5 years, I bought one more PC (a Dell desktop running XP) in 2003 and only picked up the iBook in early 2005.

    B
     
  9. MrWillie macrumors 65816

    MrWillie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Location:
    Starlite Starbrite Trailer Court
    #9
    Hey, I opened a box in my attic and found a bunch of old AOL disks and I am trying to....:)
     
  10. DarkVinda macrumors regular

    DarkVinda

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #10
    THIS IS WRONG ON SO MANY DIFFERENT LEVELS...

    although saying that i got my hands on an old gateway pc with me on it t'other day - turned it on went for a brew came back - thought what the hell am i doing and flicked the switch on the back of the psu to kill it - nice loud pop which took the board with it - best thing really...

    but it would be interesting just to see whats the oldest we could get going!!!


    <-- is off to raid his disc collection - im sure i've got win98 se somewhere :p
     
  11. vistadude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #11
    This is too cool cause windows ME is almost as cool as vista. Remember ME was the first windows OS to have system restore on it?

    Could you just install windows XP, then run windows ME in virtual PC? This would avoid needing bootcamp drivers.
     
  12. karsten macrumors 6502a

    karsten

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #12
    that's not even close to an idea of fun for me ha:) that was so much worse than vista it's crazy.

    but to answer you though is winME on the supported list for Fusion? just a thought
     
  13. pacmania1982 macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #13
    OK - what you need to do

    1) Download this file http://s93616405.onlinehome.us/bootdisk/win98sc.zip and extract it. In here you will have a WIN98SEC.IMG file. On your VM, add a floppy disk drive and tell it to use this image file.

    2) Put the Windows ME disk into your Mac and tell VMware to use a physical disk.

    3) Turn on your VM. It should see the WIN98SEC.IMG disk and boot from it. You'll be dropped into DOS with CDROM support once its complete. From here FDISK and create a primary partition. Restart your VM once done

    4) Boot from the WIN98SEC.IMG disk image again. This time once its booted and you're in DOS again, format C:, once complete change to your CDROM letter - it should tell you which one it is when its starting up. Watch the screen and it'll tell you what drive letter has been assigned.

    5) Run setup.exe from the root of the CDROM. This should begin the Windows ME installation

    6) Once complete, install the VMware additions.

    Hope this has helped

    pac
     
  14. pacmania1982 macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #14
    I just bought Virtual PC 4 from eBay for my old PowerBook G3 - which includes a retail version of Windows 98 SE - its sealed! Never used :D

    pac
     
  15. vistadude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #15
    Ok now you're actually putting down money to install Windows ME. That's where the wrongness starts :D

     
  16. pacmania1982 macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #16
    I didn't say anything about putting money down for Windows ME....I got Windows 98SE (much better imo). I'm not going to use it for anything other than nostalgia - and might have a go at putting Windows 2000 or XP FLP on it :D

    pac
     
  17. pacmania1982 macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
  18. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #18
    I have Windows 98SE as a VM in Parallels on my iMac. I only use it to play the Windows version of Master of Orion II. If Activision would only OSS the code for the Mac version so someone could Cocoa it I could delete Win98 for good :)
     

Share This Page