Windows on mac, nooby questions

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by rvpete, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. rvpete macrumors member

    rvpete

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna
    #1
    OK i had it, i need windows on my mac, also i never itended to do this

    why?
    i need several programs only available for windows and i dont want to work with my laptop at home and my old PC gets to hot *what am i saying i need an ac when working with it -_-*

    now, wha should i use? parrales or bootcamp or what

    main thing on windows:
    minor office related applications (mostly for my university stuff related japanese dictionarys)
    some conversion tools
    and maybe some games (i'd like to play q4 again) *but i am not THAT a gamer on pc anymore just starcraft and wc3 that wors on osx fin too)

    would would you suggest is better for me?
    how to i get windows to work
    and is an windows xp pro student fine too
    is there a way to change between mac and windows without rebooting? *i guess no, but would be kewl*

    my mac: iMax 2.16Ghz core dua with 2GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
     
  2. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #2
    Paralells:
    +No need to reboot
    -Not free
    -Worse performance

    Bootcamp
    +Free
    +Fastest
    -Have to reboot
     
  3. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    Really, the only disadvantage to bootcamp is having to restart, and that only takes like 3 minutes. Is your time too valuable for 3 minutes?

    Oh it is?

    Prove it...:D
     
  4. rvpete thread starter macrumors member

    rvpete

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna
    #4
    ok i jst read ther are some issues with iMac20" x,x

    i dont wont to shoot my mac with a ful loaded gun called windows xp so ... because dont waont to spend more money on windows (yeah i bought it seperatey xD) i'd use bootcamp

    any issues i have to bear with?
     
  5. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    Just get an antivirus.
     
  6. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #6
    doesn't bootcamp require a partition to be formatted NTFS or FAT32, you can't just install it if you have a single drive.

    Part of why I use VMware is because it' just requires a 3.5 gig file, I don't have to have a partition or mess with my drives at all.
     
  7. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    Yeah, it does, but the installer makes it really easy and clean.
     
  8. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #8
    if you are on an iMac or something with just 1 drive, how do you partition an active drive?
     
  9. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #9
    Bootcamp does this for you.
     
  10. rvpete thread starter macrumors member

    rvpete

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna
    #10
    i never needed a antivir till now because of my hardware firewall that protects me from harm that isnt done by my own stupidity :3

    and so ..

    is bootcamp easy to understand or is it .. dangerous for my files? *backuped about 150 GB today and out of space for the remaining 100 GB x.x
     
  11. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #11
    Bootcamp itself isn't dangerous, but you probably want to get a software antivirus to help out your hardware firewall. I prefer to be on the safe side.
     
  12. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #12
    Or better yet, just be careful when you visit suspicious sites and use FireFox instead of IE6 or 7.
     
  13. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #13
    Just don't use Windows to go on the Internet at all.
     
  14. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #14
    Since we're doing noobie questions here: Is there a quick way to boot into windows from OS X using a 3rd party app or something?

    it doesn't actually need to be faster to boot, but hitting a single button to go 'select startup disk' and restart would be much faster for me.

    Yeah, I know the command + boot, but that's even slower
     
  15. rvpete thread starter macrumors member

    rvpete

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna
    #15
    erm

    is it just me or does the mac really get WAY hotter when running in windows?

    i dont think this is healthy for an imac .. *my room alone is at 32°C*
     
  16. AVR2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #16
    OS X takes the time it takes to shut down and begin restarting, so no third-party app is going to change that. And then it's just a matter of holding down the option key for a few seconds, and selecting the Windows partition to boot from, which takes a second. So that's maybe 5 seconds in total you're trying to save.

    Nobody's time is so valuable that they can't take 5 seconds over something :)
     
  17. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #17
    http://www.kainjow.com/ apparently does the trick :)
     
  18. thuff13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #18
    I would suggest you use both. Parallels can run off of the Bootcamp partition (I don't know if VMWare can do this or not). That way you don't have to restart when you are using a program that is not processor intensive and you can still listen to iTunes or browse the internet safely. Then if you need to use a processor intensive app (if you are playing a game or something) you can restart in Bootcamp and have all system resources for that app.
     
  19. rvpete thread starter macrumors member

    rvpete

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna
    #19
    that would be a good idea ... just i dont want to spend more money on this xD

    just because you talk about processor intensive stuff:

    Is converting a mkv file to somethins then mkv prozessor intensive so i should use bootcamp or is this also save on parallels x.x
     
  20. bankshot macrumors 65816

    bankshot

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Southern California
    #20
    What about the hours of lost productivity from having to shut down all Mac applications and not having simultaneous access to the Mac side while in Windows? Unless you do simple tasks one at a time, rebooting is a colossal pain and waste of time.
     
  21. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #21
  22. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #22
  23. rvpete thread starter macrumors member

    rvpete

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna
    #23
    lol thx for the link, mad e laugh quite hard what he types ....

    just now

    what i didn't figure out

    if i restart in windows and then shut down --- is the fanspeed back to normal?
    does an iMac have this many fans?

    sry for my crappy english atm .. my brain seems to have an heat outage :eek:
     
  24. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #24
    That's if you're a pc-newbie.

    I've been browsing crazy sites via Windows for years. Have never found any "spyware" or even viruses. You just gotta be careful.
     

Share This Page