Windows Only on a Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by andreab35, Sep 20, 2008.

  1. andreab35 macrumors 6502a

    andreab35

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I was just thinking today and wondering this question... and I couldn't find the answer to my question in the Search.

    Anyways, is it possible to run Windows only on a Mac?

    (you are probably wondering why that I should even bother to run windows... but I was just curious).

    Thanks! :eek:
     
  2. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #2
    No problem at all. Read the documentation how to use Bootcamp. Follow the documentation, except that you create only _one_ partition on your hard drive (for Windows only) instead of two (one for MacOS X, one for Windows).

    After doing that, you can still install MacOS X on an external hard drive and use it without any problems. (As far as I know, nobody has yet managed the opposite: Install Windows on an external drive only and make it work on a Macintosh with MacOS X on the internal drive).
     
  3. andreab35 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    andreab35

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Thank you for kindly answering my question! I really appreciate it! :)
     
  4. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #4
    I'm surprised it was answered without anyone saying "Why would you want to do that?" or "Just buy a cheap Windows box."

    As stated above it is possible to do, and it is fairly easy too. Just follow the instructions in the Boot Camp Assistant.
     
  5. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #5
    Why would you wanna do that!?

    :p

    okay, seriously though, why? I'm not bashing or whatnot, I just want to know the theory behind it.
     
  6. andreab35 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    andreab35

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    LOL... I knew someone would say that.
    I like Apple laptop styling and hardware.
    I mean, I don't think I'd ever do such a thing... but I was just curious. :eek:
     
  7. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #7
    Honestly, I would since Windows is slightly more productive for my day-to-day use. But its not stable for me :(
     
  8. howie1108 macrumors newbie

    howie1108

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    Don't know why you would want to but it can be easily done. Just follow the Boot Camp Assistant installing Windows, boot up Windows, format and delete the Mac OS X partition and extend the Windows partition out. I even think a while ago PC Magazine benchmarked a MacBook Pro running just Windows Vista and I think it beat the rest of the Windows laptops by a fair bit :cool:

    Good Luck!
    - CaptHowie.
     
  9. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #9
    A Mac running Windows does not seem so weird to me.

    Apple makes nice hardware -- especially their laptops.

    Why not get a MB or MBP and put Windows XP or Vista on it? :)
     
  10. someone28624 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #10
    It doesn't seem odd to me either, really. I love OS X so much though, I'd have a hard time deleting it even if I did usually use Windows for whatever reason.
     
  11. Rondue macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #11
    I cant hate on that either but if you give OSX a try especially leopard you will begin to use it i assure you :)
     
  12. jbrenn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #12
    it can be done

    i had a hard drive failure on my mb and i have a spare 40 gig for some reason it would not let me install osx on it but i was able to install windows. This was just a work around until i could go do a apple store and get them to replace it.
     

Share This Page