Windows XP Problem With Product Key With Bootcamp

eden1909

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2007
11
0
Hi,

Recently I have needed to use some windows programs and felt that Bootcamp would be the way to go with this. I have Bootcamp Beta, the latest version, penultimate before Leopard.

I have partitioned and installed windows and formatted correctly. However, when the time comes to enter the Product Key, the Product Key is 'invalid'.

I have since installed XP Pro on a old machine, not Mac, as a primary operating system with the same CD, and the same Product Key with no problems whatsoever.:confused:

This has lead me to believe that there is a problem with the Mac, rather than the CD or the Product Key.

Has anyone had this problem? Can anyone offer me any advice?

Many Thanks

Eden
 

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
29,085
288
Indianapolis
1. You probably only have on Windows license.
2. If you want it only on the Mac then just call up Microsoft to activate it.
 
Comment

eden1909

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2007
11
0
Eidorian,

Many thanks. I'm not even aware that there are separate licences. Surely as I'm running windows as a separate OS, then, this shouldn't have any effect whatsoever.

Eden
 
Comment

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
29,085
288
Indianapolis
Eidorian,

Many thanks. I'm not even aware that there are separate licences. Surely as I'm running windows as a separate OS, then, this shouldn't have any effect whatsoever.

Eden
Unless you purchased separate licenses then your key is only for a single license, single machine.

There are times when even a single license, single machine won't activate over the internet and you need to call Microsoft.
 
Comment

eden1909

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2007
11
0
Eidorian,

Just to check that we are on the same sheet.

I haven't tried to activate it yet, I am still in the setup stages, the screen that shows the blue background and set-up with 39 mins remaining.

This is when I enter the Product Key, and this will not be accepted.

In reference to earlier, surely this should not have any effect, as these keys simply unlock the set-up part first, then you can activate later.

Eden
 
Comment

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
29,085
288
Indianapolis
Eidorian,

Just to check that we are on the same sheet.

I haven't tried to activate it yet, I am still in the setup stages, the screen that shows the blue background and set-up with 39 mins remaining.

This is when I enter the Product Key, and this will not be accepted.

In reference to earlier, surely this should not have any effect, as these keys simply unlock the set-up part first, then you can activate later.

Eden
Are you sure it's the correct media?

An OEM key will only work with OEM media. The same for retail and volume license keys and media.
 
Comment

eden1909

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2007
11
0
Eidorian,

Yes, I am sure.

I have already put this CD on an old machine, which accepted the Product Key no problems. And XP is now running on this machine fine. Only difference is that it isnt a Mac.

Eden
 
Comment

eden1909

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2007
11
0
Unfortunately I can't tell you much about the other machine, simply that it is not a brand name, and was built by someone else for me.

I just cannot understand why the setup will accept the Product Key on this machine, but not on the Mac?!
 
Comment

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
29,085
288
Indianapolis
I don't think it's a vendor specific installer disc then that'll check the hardware first.

The disc should be working.
 
Comment

eden1909

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2007
11
0
Yes, that was my first thought, but, as I got it from a friend who makes and builds PC's then I was assured that it was a fully working copy of Windows XP Pro SP2 OEM.

The only thing that he could say might cause the problem would be the Mac, simply because he doesn't know his way around them!

After trawling the net to find Bootcamp specific problems regarding this, I am no better off.

The disc should be working, and in all fairness, it does, just not on the Mac!
 
Comment

eden1909

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2007
11
0
Me neither, I just can't understand it! I'm wondering whether its a problem with the fact that the Drives are partitioned or the way its formatted.

But I've tried every combination possible, and still it refuses to accept the Key.

I've even tried 6 other Product Keys from various members of the family and friends, but still to no avail!
 
Comment

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
29,085
288
Indianapolis
Me neither, I just can't understand it! I'm wondering whether its a problem with the fact that the Drives are partitioned or the way its formatted.

But I've tried every combination possible, and still it refuses to accept the Key.

I've even tried 6 other Product Keys from various members of the family and friends, but still to no avail!
EFI should be in BIOS mode and the drive translation should be handled just fine. Windows should just see the unpartitioned space, EFI space, and then the HFS+ partition of OS X.

I've installed Windows XP on countless Macs now and I've never encountered this.
 
Comment

Nordichund

macrumors 6502
Aug 21, 2007
392
25
Oslo, Norway
I had a few problems installing my OEM XP with SP2 in the beginning. Whilst installing using Boot camp it seemed as though Windows didn´t want to recognize my keyboard. After a few attempts I finally made it. However to your problem if you are using an OEM XP Windows disc you are only allowed to install it on one machine. After I had installed Parallels I had to type in the code again, which was not accepted and I had to call up Microsoft to explain the problem and get a new code. The person I talked to was very helpful and was quite willing to give me a new code as long as it was for just one machine. So if you give Microsoft a call tell them that you have only installed it on your Mac. Tell them you are having problems and have had to install it again. Do not tell them you have already installed it on another machine, otherwise they won´t help you.
 
Comment

eden1909

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2007
11
0
Sorry, can you clarify EFI space? Is that the C Partition, how do i check that these settings are all correct. I've set the install up with Bootcamp Assistant.

:confused:
 
Comment

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
29,085
288
Indianapolis
I had a few problems installing my OEM XP with SP2 in the beginning. Whilst installing using Boot camp it seemed as though Windows didn´t want to recognize my keyboard. After a few attempts I finally made it. However to your problem if you are using an OEM XP Windows disc you are only allowed to install it on one machine. After I had installed Parallels I had to type in the code again, which was not accepted and I had to call up Microsoft to explain the problem and get a new code. The person I talked to was very helpful and was quite willing to give me a new code as long as it was for just one machine. So if you give Microsoft a call tell them that you have only installed it on your Mac. Tell them you are having problems and have had to install it again. Do not tell them you have already installed it on another machine, otherwise they won´t help you.
The product key isn't accepted in the installer.

That's the important part.

Sorry, can you clarify EFI space? Is that the C Partition, how do i check that these settings are all correct. I've set the install up with Bootcamp Assistant.

:confused:
It's not important to this issue but the EFI space is 200 MB of drive space set aside for EFI.
 
Comment

eden1909

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2007
11
0
Where do I go from here?

If I had another Mac then I would see if it worked on that one. Unfortunately I don't.

What happens next?

Something must be wrong with my machine, and obviously Apple won't help due to them not supporting windows!
 
Comment

cbrain

macrumors 65816
Dec 9, 2006
1,049
0
North-East, UK
Where do I go from here?

If I had another Mac then I would see if it worked on that one. Unfortunately I don't.

What happens next?

Something must be wrong with my machine, and obviously Apple won't help due to them not supporting windows!
There do offer support for Boot Camp but only if it's the 2.0 version included with Leopard.
 
Comment

eden1909

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2007
11
0
They still won't support Windows or any other operating system in Bootcamp.
 
Comment

CylonGlitch

macrumors 68030
Jul 7, 2009
2,929
113
SoCal
I found out that OEM keys do not always last. I was working for a company that had a modified version of Windows XP that they had licensed; thus every machine we purchased came with it's own OEM license that they just threw away. If you installed these OEM disks right away on a machine (any machine) they always worked. BUT if you waited 6 months to a year, they wouldn't work.

My guess would be that you'd get the same error regardless of the machine you're trying to install it on. Just the way that it is. :(

Once you've gotten past the EFI bios, a Mac is no different then any other PC, thus Windows doesn't know any better.
 
Comment

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
29,085
288
Indianapolis
what number would you call?
They give you the number in the activation window and you can select your country.

I found out that OEM keys do not always last. I was working for a company that had a modified version of Windows XP that they had licensed; thus every machine we purchased came with it's own OEM license that they just threw away. If you installed these OEM disks right away on a machine (any machine) they always worked. BUT if you waited 6 months to a year, they wouldn't work.

My guess would be that you'd get the same error regardless of the machine you're trying to install it on. Just the way that it is. :(

Once you've gotten past the EFI bios, a Mac is no different then any other PC, thus Windows doesn't know any better.
I just activated an ancient OEM XP SP2 disc just fine. It's over two years old now.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.