Windows XP RAM limit.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Markov, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #1
    I'm sick of hearing conflicting answers on this topic... I just want a straight answer already! haha :D


    Anyway, will a MacBook Pro with 4 gigs of RAM (2X 2GB that are a pair) in Windows XP be picked up (meaning 3.9 is what Windows would see) and work in dual channel mode? And will it work properly, or will Windows do the ol' "nahhhh I don't feel like workin..." act?

    Thanks in advance!

    PS: Sorry if this has been started already!!
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    32-bit anything will only see 3.3GB.
    64-bit will see anything that you can afford.
     
  3. Markov thread starter macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #3
    Thanks!

    Ok thanks! Now how about Vista? I would assume it's higher for 32-bit than Windows XP 32-bit.
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    No... 32-bit is 32-bit...
     
  5. Markov thread starter macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #5
    Damn... aright well thanks for the help! I thought it was OS related, because I know that OS X can see a hell of a lot more than Windows 32-bit.
     
  6. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #6
    As the previous poster said, 32 bit sees 3.3 GB, 64 bit sees 4 GB. MacOS X is 64 bit.
     
  7. Markov thread starter macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #7
    Ohh... hmmm. I thought OS X wasn't going 64-bit until Snow Leopard, or completely 64-bit anyway.
     

Share This Page