Windows XP - Reinstall on another Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ildondeigiocchi, Jun 2, 2009.

  1. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #1
    Ok guys so here's the issue. I have a 2008 mac pro which is being replaced with a 2009 Mac Pro. I currently have Windows XP Pro 32-bit installed on a 150GB Bootcamp partition. My question is the following. Can I install Windows XP on my new Mac Pro with the same registration key. I bought the Genuine Windows XP Pro direct from Microsoft and it only came with one registration key. Please help. :D
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Nope. Uninstall from the one, install on the other.
     
  3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #3
    It should work fine. I'll just ask to authenticate. Worse case, you give them a call and you get a new auth number.

    As an aside, you can move your current XP install to the new machine intact, then install the new drivers (from Disk 1 of the new computer's Restore disks).

    I recommend "WinClone". You use it to create a backup image file of the current install. Then, after using Boot Camp Assistant to create a new Windows partition on the new machine, use WinClone to restore from that backup image file. It should boot, find the new hardware and be relatively happy. Then you can update the drivers [from the new machine's restore disk 1].
     
  4. ildondeigiocchi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #4
    This may sound really stupid but how do you uninstall it.
     
  5. ildondeigiocchi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #5
    I really need to know how to uninstall XP so I can reinstall it on the other computer. How do I uninstall it?
     
  6. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    You can't, and as such, there is no need. Just erase the Windows partition on the old Mac in order to prevent violating the Windows license through 2 concurrent installations, and then install it on the new Mac. If it won't let you activate, you will be provided with a phone number, and a representative will give you a new activation key.
     
  7. berdinkerdickle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #7
    Just the answer I was looking for.
    Thanks.
    I see it as being similar to bring over a VM from a previous machine.
    When I did that the new machine didn't miss a beat.
    When I first opened the VM it "Found New Hardware" and installed all.
    Never had one issue.

    I'm getting a new machine Monday. I've got a WinClone backup of XP all set up just the way I want it. I'm just going to Restore it on the new machine.

    I'm expecting the worse case scenario is certain sw like StruCalc will need a new key based on the machine's ID.

    I'm so excited in anticipation for Monday.
    I'll be Staying home watching for Fedx :D
     
  8. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #8
    One thing that MIGHT happen is when you go to activate the windows on the new Partition/Machine/Whatever, Windows may tell you you have already activated this version.

    If it does-call the phone number-it is 100% automated. You just have to SWEAR that it is installed on just a single computer :)
     
  9. windywoo macrumors 6502a

    windywoo

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #9
    Windows is good for 3 activations over the internet then after that you might have to phone them. They might have changed the rules since I used XP.
     
  10. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #10
    I think 3 is correct. And even if you have used them up, the phone call is no biggie. Like I said, it 100% automated-you never have to talk to anyone.
     
  11. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #11
    I've used Acronis True Image to clone customers boot camp volumes on MB/MBP's by backing up the image file to an external hard drive. On the new PC run windows setup through all the way after boot camp has finished the drivers install True image, create a rescue CD within the app then boot off the CD (by holding the alt key down and waiting for the CD option to appear about 20 seconds after the Mac and bootcamp partitions) and restore the image off the external drive.

    One warning I would give is that the 2009 MacPro is a core i7 which is a very different and newer chipset to the 2008 version so you may end up with BSOD hell if you're unlucky, perhaps upgrading the Intel chipset drivers on the 2008 MP to current versions may negate this possibility IF they install Ok.

    If it's still hosed I'd use an app like Genie backup manager (instead of Acronis or Winclone) to back all your files and settings to an external drive but not your hardware..
     

Share This Page