"Wireless Sync" isn't really wireless

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by maw4bc, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. maw4bc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #1
    I have to plug my iPad into the charger to even sync it. How can you call something wireless when you have to be wired to something?
     
  2. dazed macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #2
    Mine is syncing as I type this. I'm not plugged into anything.
     
  3. chadryan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    #3
    You have to tell it manually to sync if you don't have the cord plugged in. Plugging it in just prompts it to sync automatically.
     
  4. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #4
    WiFi sync will not start automatically unless you are plugged into power. Thought is you will have to plug in at some point.

    You can however force a sync either from your iOS5 device or from iTunes on the computer. Neither of these require you to be plugged into power.

    -Kevin
     
  5. maw4bc thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #5
    am i missing something here??? my iTunes Wi-Fi Sync says

    "Automatically sync with iTunes on your computer when your iPad is plugged in to power and connected to Wi-Fi"

    Sync now is greyed out
     
  6. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #6
    With your iPad plugged into iTunes....did you on the Summary screen enable WiFi syncing? You have to do that once.

    -Kevin
     
  7. reesnomad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    #7
    Agree, doesn't work for me

    The "iTunes Wi-Fi Sync" on my iPhone 4 only works when I have it plugged into power. I agree, this is not wireless!

    And I did turn it on in the Summary page on iTunes
     
  8. Codepiink macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    #8
    You can go into setting->general->iTunes Wi-Fi Sync-> and click "sync now" and it does it wirelessly.........
     
  9. maw4bc thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #9
    ahhhhhaa! got it working, didn't know about having to click the check mark on the summary page
     
  10. Ivangf2 macrumors newbie

    Ivangf2

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #10
    yes, it does connect wiressly

    1. Plug your iPad to your mac
    2. When iTunes opens click on RESUME on the iPhone section
    3. In Resume screen you have to click on "connect this iPhone Wiressly
    4. Listo! You can now do all your stuff wires sly

    Note: You have to exit from iTunes and restart again in order your mac recognise you iDevice, and you have to be on the same wifi connection

    Regards :apple:
     
  11. sparkstsa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    #11
    ...or you can click on your device in itunes and click sync to initiate a wireless sync.
     
  12. sedril macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #12
    I'm not seeing the option under summary to enable wifi sync.... what am I missing?
     
  13. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #13
    Are you on iTunes 10.5?

    -Kevin
     
  14. reesnomad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    #14
    I have iTunes 10.5 on my PC, so it's a slightly different scenario. I can sync wirelessly, but iTunes ONLY finds my phone (or visa versa) when the phone is plugged into power. So, again, there is no true wireless sync for me.
     
  15. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #15
    So is the option just gray when you try to sync manually on your phone?
     
  16. aircanman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Under the info settings on iTunes there is an option for WIFI syncing. working on mine no problem and it does not need to be plugged in to work.
     
  17. Hammie macrumors 65816

    Hammie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Wash, DC Metro
    #17
    Mine is only working manually. Automatic sync never initiates.

    Yes, I have iTunes 10.5.
    Yes, I my iDevice is on iOS 5.
    Yes, I have wifi syncing enabled in iTunes.
    Yes, I am connecting my iDevice to a power source.

    The only thing I can think of is that my Mac Mini is hardwired to my home network and is not on the wi-fi network directly. However, iTunes sees each device and I can initiate a manual sync. Therefore, this theory doesn't seem too logical.

    Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
     
  18. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #18
    Only thing I would try would be a complete restart of all devices.....my Mom had to restart both her phone and iMac before it would automatically get picked up.

    -Kevin
     
  19. Invincibilizer macrumors 6502a

    Invincibilizer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #19
    I have windows and wireless sync doesn't work.

    Not too trouble some as it is more intuitive to transfer via USB cable anyways.
     
  20. yanki01 macrumors 68040

    yanki01

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #20
    works fine wireless syncing with my MacBook Pro. I'm not connected to a power source either.
     
  21. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #21
    For those with a PC...

    Under Summary (with iPhone plugged in) Select Back up to iCloud
    Once this is done AND you have Calender/Contacts connected to Outlook 2007 or higher...everything will sync wirelessly if you manually select it from the iPhone or whenever you plug into an Alarm Clock, Computer or the Wall. You can validate this by looking at iTunes and it will again say in Summary: Last backed up to iCloud: Today "time".

    Mine is working just fine and can see everything moving between the iPhone, Outlook, and iCloud.:)
     
  22. Reservation macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    #22
    Is anyone else able to sync without having to do the above? I just have to enable wifi on both my MBP and iPod Touch (as well as have iTunes open) for the iPod to sync. No need to go through General --> Sync now.
     
  23. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #23
    Backing up to iCloud and wireless syncing to iTunes are two different things
     
  24. Hammie macrumors 65816

    Hammie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Wash, DC Metro
    #24
    No go. I restarted my Mac Mini and all my iDevices. Still not doing anything when I connect them to power.
     
  25. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #25
    Works for me on my iPod touch....check the Sync With iPod over Wifi under iTunes


    how come it doesnt automatically sync when I plug it in tho? It did it manually on previous iTunes, I have to hit Sync for it to sync
     

Share This Page