Woah, WTF! Maps still work with no SIM Card in!?!?!?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Rob Mclovin, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. Rob Mclovin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #1
    Just took the SIM card out and opened the maps, and the GPS and maps still works. It pinpointed me, and then loaded all the maps.

    How did it load maps without any data?
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    They were in the cache system and GPS works independent ofr Internet usage. All it needs is a clear sky to communicate with satellites.
     
  3. kdarling macrumors demi-god

    kdarling

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Cabin by a lake with snow softly falling
    #3
    WiFi on?

    Otherwise it came from cache. We assume you looked at your location before.

    The cache part actually worked with the old devices. Mostly.
     
  4. dread macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #4
    Am I correct that airplane mode turns off gps. I need to use the gps overseas without data. I am getting an app that caches maps. How do I do this without incurring charges. Should I remove the sim card or is leaving data roaming off enough.
     
  5. doubleatheman macrumors 6502a

    doubleatheman

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #5
    Im sure your not, but if you were on wi-fi it would work fine too....

    For the Tom Tom app, you wont need cellular data for anything but traffic info, all the maps and positioning will be done from gps data or map info from the flash chip on the phone.
     
  6. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    GPS is not consuming your data nor will it, it communicates only with the GPS satellites in orbit to triangulate your position. Yes, Airplane mode does turn of your GPS feature.
     
  7. Rob Mclovin thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #7
    Ya had no wifi on. So if i go on a cruise, and take the SIM card out will i still get the maps, or its only on places ive looked at before?

    Edit: Ya just tryed, only does locations you've looked at before.
     
  8. doubleatheman macrumors 6502a

    doubleatheman

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #8
    This is interesting because GPS emits no signals whatsoever, it simply picks up signals already in the air all the time...
     
  9. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #9
    You will not get maps.
     
  10. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Only in places were there is a cache of. (places previously looked) However, be wary of the fact cache information can be deleted to make more room in memory for something else.
     
  11. anjinha macrumors 604

    anjinha

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #11
    I just tried it on my iPhone and the GPS still worked with Airplane Mode on... :confused:
     
  12. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    That's odd. (I don't have 3G or 3G S only 2G) But according to Apple supporting documentation the GPS should be turned off when Airplane mode is on.

    Mmmm, maybe turning off Location Services??
     

Share This Page