Won't connect to the Internet after installing El Capitan public beta

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Yngwie503, Jul 10, 2015.

  1. Yngwie503 macrumors newbie

    Yngwie503

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Location:
    Houston TX
    #1
    just installed the public beta and cannot connect to the Internet.. Cannot login to iCloud, tells me I cannot connect to the servers
     
  2. Tygrz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #2
    Try resetting your router? Unplug it for 30 seconds and then retry.
     
  3. Yngwie503 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Yngwie503

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Location:
    Houston TX
    #3
    didn't work
     
  4. Tygrz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #4
    Sorry to hear that. Hope you can find a 'cure'.
     
  5. Yngwie503 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Yngwie503

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Location:
    Houston TX
    #5
    Just installed the public beta and cannot connect to the Internet.

    I keep getting this message:
    Safari can't open the page
    (nsposixerrordomain:1 )
     
  6. pass78 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    #6
    Getting the same error message, steaming pile of you know what
     
  7. pass78 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    #7
    I have tried resetting my router, cleared DNS. It is not a router issue, it is an OS issue. Turned phone to airplane mode, then enabled wifi, had internet access on phone and another wifi enabled pc.
     
  8. mefistos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
  9. Negaiido macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #9
    Bit early to blame the OS don't you think? Ever thought of a 3rd party conflict? I do not have the issue. Googling the issue results in some suggestions.
     
  10. pixyish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #10
    I had the same issue. I installed the beta over Yosemite and couldn't then connect to the Net or my Time Capsule disks. I ended up doing a clean install and started adding all the other Apps that I use. I use Norton Internet Security (NIS) with my OSX no matter what other people say. But as I installed NIS the problem reoccurred.

    For now I have disabled NIS and all seems to be well. You should disable any 3rd party firewall if you have one installed and then check again.

    Good luck.
     
  11. jamescharley22, Jul 11, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2015

    jamescharley22 macrumors member

    jamescharley22

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Kayenta, AZ
    #11
    I also have this issue as well. From how El Capitan's been behaving, I've noticed it doesn't like secure connections (Wi-Fi or Ethernet) and hangs when loading everything else. For links that aren't secure, I have to disconnect from Wi-Fi so Safari spits out whatever its loaded. However! This has only occurred on my home network, I briefly switched to my iPhone hotspot and things loaded just fine, but I disconnected shortly after to preserve my cellular data.

    I'm in a bit of a pickle also as I can't just download El Capitan again any time soon AND I purposefully installed without having backed up my hard drive. So if anyone comes across a workaround, please post!

    Edit for more information: I've also reset my satellite modem connection, my router, my NVRAM, and my SMC. AirPort says my AirPort Express is operational and I'm connected to the Internet.
     
  12. hojx macrumors 6502

    hojx

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    Try exploring and experimenting:

    Try forgetting your router and reconnecting to it.

    Try putting your iPhone in hotspot mode and connect your Mac to your iPhone (try both Wi-Fi and USB separately).
     
  13. jamescharley22 macrumors member

    jamescharley22

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Kayenta, AZ
    #13
    I tried this, and, at least for me, it hasn't worked. On the bright side, unsecured links load completely without having to disconnect.
     
  14. pixyish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #14
    Try disabling any third party anti-virus or firewall if you have one installed.
     
  15. jamescharley22 macrumors member

    jamescharley22

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Kayenta, AZ
    #15
    I don't have any third-party antivirus or firewalls. I have tried disabling the system firewall to no avail, though. I reenabled the system firewall shortly after.
     
  16. MrNomNoms macrumors 65816

    MrNomNoms

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #16
    In all due respects you gain nothing out of using NIS - it is yet another boat anchor weighing down the operating system that isn't needed. I say the same thing about 'Little Snitch' which has a notorious reputation for being the source of the vast majority of kernel panics and system instability yet people insist on using it then blaming Apple for their woes.
     
  17. JeanVis, Jul 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2015

    JeanVis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #17
    I can only connect to the internet when I disconnect my Bluetooth keyboard. Bluetooth itself is still enabled. Don't have other Bluetooth hardware so I can't test whether it is just the keyboard or the fact that hardware is connected via bluetooth.
     
  18. Salomao macrumors newbie

    Salomao

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    #18
    Had the exact same problem.
    Restaria VRAM worked out like magic.
    Restart you computer press and hold "command + option + P + R" the moment you hear the boot sound (chime). Hold the keys till you hear the chime again.

    Best of luck
     
  19. artaxua macrumors newbie

    artaxua

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    #19
    I had the same problem. Uninstalling Norton Internet Security solved the problem. Hope this helps.
     
  20. gburdge macrumors newbie

    gburdge

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    #20
    I had the same problem and I turned off AVAST internet security and now it works. Thanks artaxua
     
  21. Hellens5 macrumors newbie

    Hellens5

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    #21

    Got the same problem . This was what I did.

    Go to networksettings > assistent> klick I use DSL> enter your Passwort> now you can abort the process.
     
  22. RayCLamb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    #22
    Yes same for me. It was a real mess with Norton installed, Safari, Outlook, App Store all not working. Uninstalled Norton and rebooted, everything back to completely normal. MacBook Pro 2015
     
  23. luchid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    #23
    Why do so many people keep insisting on running NIS or Avast? Unless it's a corporate requirement, there's absolutely no reason to have them.
     
  24. Ckell928 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    #24


    Try this. Go to Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration and delete the following (suggest you make copies to the desktop first if in doubt):

    com.apple.airport.preferences.plist
    NetworkInterfaces.plist
    preferences.plist
    com.apple.nat.plist

    Restart and test
     
  25. Ontop macrumors newbie

    Ontop

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    #25
    I've just did that and it worked. I was unable to connect OSX el Capitan itself to the internet, but I was able to connect to the internet with chrome and firefox. Thank you for posting that.
     

Share This Page