Workaround for AT&T charging 700+ for the 32GB

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bbplayer5, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #1
    Just went to AT&T and they tried to charge me 699 for the 32GB phone since I am still under contract from the 3G. To remedy this, the sales person recommended I add a line to my account and strip it down to nothing (9.99 a month). This way I got the 32GB phone for 299. Now I can cancel the second line after 30 days for 175, or just pay 9.99 a month and still come out way under 700+ a month!
     
  2. nikhsub1 macrumors 68010

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #2
    What about the $30/month for the data plan that you MUST get with the iphone? Then figure taxes as well. You are looking at $55/month here easy.
     
  3. TurboSC macrumors 65816

    TurboSC

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #3
    interesting...

    I was thinking about canceling my account ( $175 ) and getting a new one... but I don't think you can keep your #... this method may prove to work better...
     
  4. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #4
    Nope, second line isnt the line that the new phone is going to be on. My current phone number is going to be switched to my second line, and the line I have now will be my old iPhone OR any other phone I have. So I simply have another phone on that line for 9.99.
     
  5. nojokews6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #5
    this was my plan just not sure how its going to work. so your saying i can just add another line and be able to move my number over to my new line and cancel my original line and just pay the early termination on my old line ?some people are trying to tell me this wont work.
     
  6. TimUSCA macrumors 6502a

    TimUSCA

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Location:
    Aiken, SC
    #6
    No, he's saying you open a new line on your family plan and get the iPhone 3GS for the $200 subsidized price. Then, simply put the new iPhone under your phone number and now you just have a $10/month line that nobody is using. Hell, use it as a house phone or something.
     
  7. jamesarm97 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #7
    I thought it was $499 for the 32g if you are still under contract and $699 if you don't have att service.
     
  8. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #8
    Correct. I just went through the process on Apple's website and it says $399 for the 16GB and $499 for the 32GB.
     
  9. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #9
    Correct! This is only if you cant upgrade. I broke my phone 4 months ago and had to get a new one. That reset my stupid agreement apparently.
     
  10. D3lta macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Location:
    Cupertino, California
    #10
    I thought even current iPhone 3G get to upgrade for $399/$499? $599/$699 prices are for non-commitment prices...
     
  11. Rat-Boy macrumors 65816

    Rat-Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Georgia
    #11
    Not according to the web site.

    I tried to preorder and got the 599 and 699 price quote.

    It seems different for everyone depending on God knows what.
     
  12. nojokews6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #12
    Why do I have to keep it at all? Can't I just cancel after 1 month?
     
  13. gibbz macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #13
    Just to be clear. I currently have an iPhone 3G contract set to end in July 2010 (upgrade eligible in Dec.). So I have a line with an iPhone 3G and data plan.

    So I add a line buying the 32GB iPhone 3G S to get it for $299. Now that phone needs a data plan. So you are saying AT&T will move my number to the second new line, bringing with it the data plan from my original iPhone 3G? Thus, leaving an empty line at $9.99?


    If this is the case, then does the original line still become upgrade eligible as planned then since the new one is the only one which used the subsidized iPhone 3G S pricing?
     
  14. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
  15. gibbz macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #15
    Then what the heck is the logic in the OP's plan?
     
  16. Mr. Giver '94 macrumors 68000

    Mr. Giver '94

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #16
    Only if you are planning to use both of the phones. If you just have one line that uses an iPhone and another which is basically not used, you don't need to pay for data.




    I think... AT&T confuses me so much and I get a different story depending on what day of the week it is... :rolleyes:
     
  17. thor79 macrumors 6502

    thor79

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #17
    Ok how about this...get an old non-iphone that still works. Get the new iphone on the new line...get it all setup like you want it...transfer number over. Replace old iPhone on original line with the old non-iphone....set it for the cheapest data plan and pay as you go talk...then cancel the first line after 30 days.

    Eliminating the original iPhone is key so you aren't required to keep the more expensive data plan on it.

    Gotta get a sales clerk willing to do it for ya though...pretty easy to see through the scheme so you need someone that wants to make the sale more than caring about AT&T's policies.
     
  18. Mr. Giver '94 macrumors 68000

    Mr. Giver '94

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #18
    o_O


    say what???? I think the easiest way is just to add a line, get the iPhone 3Gs, and cancel the line...
     
  19. coolwater macrumors 6502a

    coolwater

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #19
    I doubt it works

    Can be a good tactic if every iPhone does not require $30/mo data plan. However, since one more iPhone does require another $30/mo data plan, this tactic can cost more down the road.
     
  20. thor79 macrumors 6502

    thor79

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #20
    Yeah that's the easiest way...but don't you need something to fill that line for the month until you can cancel it? If you do then it's much easier to get a old cheap phone than leaving an old iphone on it. no where near the restrictions on regular phones.

    Don't think you can just create a line and leave it empty...but then again I have no experience with multiple lines. I would think they would require SOMETHING to be assigned to the line. No point in leaving the expensive iPhone on there if you have an old cheap gsm phone laying around. It'll be like $9.99 for the line + $4.99 or whatever for the cheap media net plan or whatever they have now.
     
  21. Mr. Giver '94 macrumors 68000

    Mr. Giver '94

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #21
    True. But as I said, I don't think you need to add data if you aren't going to be using it.
     
  22. thor79 macrumors 6502

    thor79

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #22
    True...but that only applies to non-iphones...so you need a placeholder phone that doesn't have the required data plan of the iphone.

    So instead it would be put the non-iphone on the original line with no data and set to pay as you go. Then all you have is the cost of the line.

    As I said...you gotta get the right person to pull it off...someone wanting to uphold AT&T's policies would see right through it.
     
  23. Mr. Giver '94 macrumors 68000

    Mr. Giver '94

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #23
    Oh right I forgot it was required... :eek:
     
  24. zorahk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #24
    I have no problems forking out 500 I just don't understand why I am not a valued enough customer and my price is at 699 even though I have been with them almost 3 years now.
     
  25. thor79 macrumors 6502

    thor79

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #25

    tell me about it...I've been with them much longer than that and they're telling me I need to pay $699 for the 32GB...screw that. How about some customer loyalty rewards...
     

Share This Page