Working Professional: what should I buy: MBA or Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by provoloney, Jan 17, 2008.

1. provoloney macrumors newbie

I've had apple laptops for about 5 years now. Love them. New to this forum and I'm a bit confused by the more technical discussion. Suffice it to say my first mac was a 15" powerbook in roughly 2002. Then I got an ibook G4 in late 2005. My current ibook has I think 512 of some type of memory. I loved the powerbook, the screensize was perfect, though it probably contained more power than I really would ever use.

I liked my ibook a lot except I think I slightly prefer the 15" size screen. Also, I don't know why but the ibook feels slow to me (recently at least). maybe that's just age.

I'm now a young professional who uses his computer at home for mostly personal use and occasional work and business trips (about once a month). I primarily use the internet and prepare word documents. Also, I use iTunes a lot and like to download music. Finally, I like to watch video clips and stuff like that on my computer.

I am really drawn to the MAB and am ready to purchase, but I'm hearing so much negative stuff here that it makes me think I should just go with the pro. I actually like the fact they've taken out the CD Drive (I would get an attachment just in case). My only concern is the speed issue. I don't want the computer to get slow everytime I have more than a few web-browsers open or am trying to watch a news clip. The consensus seems to be that this a huge step back in terms of speed, etc... I am finding my 2 and a half-year ibook a bit slow, so if it's like that I don't know. Also, I don't like the resolution on the ibook screen, but I think that's gotten better in the MAB. I have a 80 G hard drive in my ibook and it seems like I have 20 G left. Makes me think that 80G shouldn't really be a problem. I also only keep computers for 1 and a half years to 2 years.