Would you guys recommend me an HD camcorder?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Joeytpg, May 25, 2009.

1. Joeytpg macrumors 6502

Joeytpg

I'm going to Egypt (Yeah!) and I wanna buy a good HD camcorder

So far I've been pretty loyal to Canon, so a Canon would be my first choice but I'm open to other possibilities...

I'd like something that'll cost me less than 800 dollars if possible, it'll be used for trips, recording music performances (I'm a musician, so I'd like to record myself playing and during my performances).

what can I get? :)

2. TheStrudel macrumors 65816

TheStrudel

If you don't mind messing around with tape, the Canon HV series represents excellent value for money, still - an HV30 would probably work well for you. I recommend using whatever money you don't spend on the camera to get a decent external microphone to use for recording your performances, a shotgun mic from Rode or so forth. I think the HV30 does have the stereo input jack, so either get a microphone that uses a minijack or convert an XLR mic to stereo mini.

Whatever camera you do get - and there are quite a few good ones at that price point - you will want to get an external mic.

3. Joeytpg thread starter macrumors 6502

Joeytpg

thank you. I actually wanna move away from tape, I wanna use SD cards or internal memory

which one you recommend?

4. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

UltraNEO*

Currently I'm using a Canon HF11.
    [​IMG]

It's a has 32Gb ram fitted internally and has a SD slot allowing another 32GB via a class6 SD card (not included). At it's highest setting (MXP 24Mbps) I'm still able to record up to 5 hours of footages on the (internal memoy), adding the additional SD card, you'll effectively double it's capacity. Plus, it offers 3.2MP still camera, oporational whiles in and out of video campturing mode.