WoW Multiple Monitors - Need Advice

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by rtdgoldfish, Jun 13, 2009.

  1. rtdgoldfish macrumors 6502a

    rtdgoldfish

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #1
    I've been using my 13" Macbook with a 21" Samsung external LCD monitor for a while. Currently when playing WoW, the game is rendered on the external monitor and the Macbook's display is blank. What I would like to do is force WoW to think that the external monitor and the build-in display is one large monitor like you can do in Windows. I'd like to be able to put all my action bars, maps, party frames, ect on the Macbook display while the game renders on the external.

    Does anyone know if this is possible?? I found a nice guide for Windows but I can't figure out what I need to do on OSX to make it work.

    Dual-Heading and WoW: A How-to

    Thanks!
     
  2. fcamilleri macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    In Your Mind
    #2
    i haven't played wow in a while, but when I did, I played on my imacs main screen, and i had safari running in my other monitor

    you had to put it in windowed mode under graphics settings and turn on another option, I believe it was remove borders or turn off borders...idk something with borders.
    It gave you wow, in fullscreen goodness, with your other screen available for anything.
     
  3. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #3
    Just for my info- I've got a 1.8 ghz G5 at home with two video cards running two monitors. If I run Wow in full screen, the second monitor is blank, if I put it (WoW) into Windowed mode the other monitor is availabe for whatever I want, usually a browser for things like thottbot.

    My question- if you are using your laptop to run an external monitor, can you utlilze both spaces as seperate displays or is it just mirrored (2 identical displays)? I suppose the setting is the the System Prefs for mirrored or not?

    Thanks!
     
  4. ericvmazzone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    #4
    On my MBP I bought early in 2007 I ran in windowed mode like that, each monitor was a separate display.
     
  5. pekedey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #5
    You can do either. You can mirror the display or you can extend the desktop. (I'm using the 2008 13" uMB).
    As for the WoW question, You could do it by running WoW in windowed mode and making sure you are on extended desktop (rather than mirroring), then manually stretching the window where you want it.
     
  6. rtdgoldfish thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rtdgoldfish

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #6
    The problem is you cannot stretch WoW any bigger than the first monitor. It keeps the aspect ratio of that monitor so when you try to make it bigger, you just end up getting half the screen cut off.

    I guess what I'm really looking for is some sort of utility for OSX that will force the system into thinking I have one monitor with 2720x800 resolution instead of two monitors running at 1280x800 and 1440x900. Anyone have an idea how that can be done??

    This is what currently happens, I can run Safari, Mail, iTunes, ect. on the 2nd monitor but I want WoW to extend onto this monitor instead.
     
  7. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #7
    I think you hit a snag right there. On my computer, playing in windowed mode, WoW keeps the aspect ratio set as you resize the window. So, even if you trick it into thinking you have a larger monitor, it will keep the ratio the same and you'll max out at whatever your screen height is.

    While I find that playing WoW using my full 24" iMac is too much, I understand that's a personal preference. Maybe if you had 4 monitors, then you could stretch down and across all 4?
     

Share This Page