Ziphone..

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ajestrella, Apr 21, 2008.

  1. ajestrella macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #1
    So if you use Ziphone to jailbreak your iphone, and this "bootloader" or w/e is downgraded, can you use Pwnage to restore it to it's OTB condition? Will it "upgrade" the bootloader?


    Thanks.
     
  2. jk111 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #2
    Bootloader

    Using Ziphone will cause a permanent, non-reversible bootloader downgrade. This CANNOT BE reversed without opening up the actual phone. Therefore, your warranty is voided.

    If you use a program called iLiberty, I am sure you have heard of it, it only downgrades the bootloader using the fake blank which CAN BE reversed with pwnage.


    jk111

    If you need any help or would like info on iLiberty, please reply back.
     
  3. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    Does the bootloader get downgraded if you just jailbreak the phone? Or is it only if you unlock it? I'm confused.
     
  4. ajestrella thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #4
    Yea I thought I did a lot of research but apparently not enough.. :(
    I was just recommended Ziphone over and over again, and it seemed easy enough. I got the apple care plan for my iphone, and I'd like to be able to have the safety net. Will they be able to tell for sure?
     
  5. bigandtasty macrumors 6502

    bigandtasty

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #5
    I am with Tobefirst, does this only downgrade your bootloader if you unlocked with Ziphone?

    I have only jailbroken my phone, works fine. Wondering though if I screwed something up? Don't care about warranty, the second the next gen iPhone is released I will buy. Still would like to know once and for all..

    Thanks for any 411 on this subject....
    :)
     
  6. Hudzilla macrumors 6502a

    Hudzilla

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #6
    WTF?:confused:


    It can now be reversed if you add the bootneuter source to installer, or just PWN your phone using pwnagetool.
     
  7. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #7
    Your information is outdated - BootNeuter is the only available solution right now to upgrade your bootloader from 3.9 to 4.6 if, for example, you were another one of Zibri's victims.
     
  8. wfielder84246 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I had originally jailbroke, activate and unlocked using ziphone 2.5c which downgraded the bl to 3.9. I then restored and used pwnage to upgrade the bl to 4.6 and unlock etc. Very easy programe to use and you only have to pwn you phone once!
     
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    You can access all information referring to Pwnage in the top sticky or you use the FAQ to better inform yourself on the iPhone scene before proceeding with any tool. I however, recommend you use Pwnage Tool for Mac or WinPwn for Windows.
     
  10. ajestrella thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #10
    Ok, so my bl is def downgraded if I used ziphone (which I did). But from what I understand I can restore it, and pwn it using pwnage, and that will upgrade the bl? Or is there another step after pwning it? Sorry if I'm asking an obvious question, there's just a lot of different answers here and I just want to be sure.

    Thanks a lot!
     
  11. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    Pwnage tool can upgrade your downgraded BootLoader. Just use BootNeuter to do it anything.
     
  12. sikandar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    #12
    Ipod feature of unlocked Iphone

    Hi,

    I have an unlocked Iphone and am currently using it with T-Mobile. All features seem to be working fine. I am interested in using the Ipod feature of the Iphone. However, I am afraid that if I plug in my Iphone to the computer and connect it to Itunes, then my phone will get locked again. How do I use the Ipod feature of my Iphone? I have many MP3s waiting to be loaded to my Iphone. Please advise.
     
  13. ajestrella thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #13
    Ok that's good to hear; thanks a bunch! I'll have to get pwnage asap!
     
  14. AFKMatrix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #14

    Just plug it in!! If your that paranoid go into Itunes and turn off automatic update. Or when it tells you there is an update just click the canel button.
     

Share This Page