100 Tracks (Logic Pro X) Mac Choice?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by nathanbensmusic, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. nathanbensmusic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #1
    Hi.
    I'm building a home studio and I'm now looking into the machine I'm going to need.
    I'm using logic pro x, I have around 100 tracks using plug ins and sample libraries writing and recording live for composing for film.
    I need a system that would be able to handle this with no hiccups?

    My budget is around £2500.

    I have been looking into the new IMac 27"
    4.0GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 4.2GHz
    • 16GB 1867MHz DDR3 SDRAM - two 8GB
    • 3TB Fusion Drive

    Would this work for what I am after?
    Thanks
     
  2. iceman42 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #2
    if they are large music files i would get a 512gb ssd drive and just get 8gb then just buy a extra 8gb ram stick for some where else that is cheaper.i think 3.3 quad core should be enough.the fusion drive won't be able to handle the large files like the ssd would.
     
  3. nathanbensmusic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #3
    I have no idea how to fit an ssd and I'm not sure I want to take it apart after I buy.
    Any other suggestions?
    Thanks
     
  4. jazzer15 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #4
    It can be custom ordered from Apple online with the 512GB SSD. No need to take anything apart. You will just have to buy an External drive for storage.
     
  5. nathanbensmusic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #5
    Thanks I didn't realize. Found this on the website,

    27-inch iMac with Retina 5K display
    • 3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5, Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
    • 8GB 1867MHz DDR3 SDRAM - two 4GB
    • 512GB Flash Storage
    Along with a external 6TB hard drive which I already have for my sample libraries, this should run fine. Those 100 tracks using sample libraries should run no problem?
     
  6. jazzer15 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #6
    I suspect that would be fine, but honestly I will leave to someone else your question about running 100 tracks. My guess is it will depend upon effects and other things you do to those tracks. I primarily am recording audio tracks and don't usually have many. I went with an i7, but that was more due to photo editing of RAW files that I also do, and I suspect I would have been fine with an i5 in any event.

    Hopefully you will get more feedback here, but if you don't, you might consider calling Apple online and making clear to the sales rep that you speak with that you have very spcific questions regarding requirements for music production. If you get past the initial layer of sales people, they have some specialists who have experience in various creative areas and who, in my experience, can be quite helpful.
     
  7. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #7
    remember that RAM will make a big difference to how many tracks it can handle but teh 27 inch iMac is still user upgradeable at far cheaper prices than apple charge so buy with 8Gb and see how it goes, add more RAM if needed. (2 x 8GB installed in the 2 free slots will give you 24Gb at a very reasonable price).
     
  8. Ogami-Z macrumors newbie

    Ogami-Z

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    #8
    Been a long time lurker here & I just had to join up to offer some input, so you don't go making a big mistake & order the wrong configuration.

    If your making mostly Band music e.g. 2 guitars, bass, drums & some keyboards etc. then yes the i5k iMac with 8gb ram would be fine. But for projects with a heavy virtual instrument track count most of which will be Kontakt instruments having enough RAM is crucial (pun intended) Also these days a lot of synth VI's can be pretty heavy on the CPU, So I'd recommend going for the best CPU available. And it's true as mentioned above it's much cheaper to upgrade the RAM yourself, so I'd recommend this configuration:


    27-inch iMac with Retina 5K display
    • 4.0GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 4.2GHz
    • 8GB 1867MHz DDR3 SDRAM - two 4GB
    • 512GB Flash Storage
    • AMD Radeon R9 M390 with 2GB video memory
    • Magic Mouse 2
    • Magic Keyboard (British) & User’s Guide (English)
    • Accessory Kit
    Total cost: £2159

    Just pop in 2x8GB modules yourself brining it put to 24GB or 4x8 for 32GB. Also according to OWC the latest 5k iMac can actually take 16GB modules so you could actually go up to 64GB RAM. I'm thinking of going for a 5k myself soon, it can be tricky to come up with the right configuration. Anyway good luck with your new iMac when you get it.
     
  9. nathanbensmusic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #9
    Hey guys, thanks for your help so far.. I always see the old Mac Pro tower in a lot of composer studio's, why? and would this be a better option, do they have better processors or more ram? thanks
     
  10. roberthallin, Jan 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2016

    roberthallin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #10
    That depends on which model it is, but the twelwe core models from 2012 and 2010 are faster, at least in a regular benchmark. These can also use 128gb of ram.
     
  11. nathanbensmusic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #11
    Brilliant, So would it best to invest in one of those? Im not even sure what an ssd is and all the talk about memory and such>. confusing. As long as I can run 100 tracks with plug ins and sample libraries ill be happy. Thanks for the speedy reply also.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 15, 2016 ---
    If I bought a Mac Pro 12 Core, 64 GB Ram? :)
     
  12. roberthallin, Jan 18, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2016

    roberthallin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #12
    That should work fine. It's possible the new iMac would handle it just as good, but with the Mac Pro you'd have more processor cores at your disposal and the option to expand the ram up to twice the amount of the iMac. If computer noise is a concern the Mac Pro is easier to work into a studio since you can put it in another room and run the necessary cables to your recording room. A studio that I've worked in even put their Mac Pro's in the ceiling, worked great.
     

Share This Page