10GBe speed issues on macOs Sierra with Myricom 10G-PCIE-8C-T

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Daleyelama, Oct 18, 2016.

  1. Daleyelama macrumors newbie

    Daleyelama

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
    #1
    We are running 4 MacPro's 5.1 on a NAS via 10GBe Myricom 10G-PCIE-8C-T network adapter. After upgrading to macOs Sierra there was a maximum speed of 90 MB/s available.

    Myricom told us, it's a driver problem. But that's simply not true.
    We wrote a script which increases the speed to 1000 MB/s.

    If there's anyone out there with the same issues, just send a PN.

    Vor Neustart.png
     
  2. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #2
    I'm using a SolarFlare 10GbE adaptor with Sierra and have had no problems.
     
  3. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #3
    I have a vSphere cluster where each ESXi server has six QLogic 57810 10GbE adaptors and all are fine.

    (Point - the OP was about Myricom issues - questionable value to say that other cards are OK.)
     
  4. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #4
    OP said it's not drivers. That implies an issue with Sierra. If other 10GbE cards are working without problems, then it may not be Sierra.
     
  5. Daleyelama thread starter macrumors newbie

    Daleyelama

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
    #5
    Which SolarFlare adaptor are you using?
     
  6. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #7
    AFP or SMB?
    SMB does not work for me in Sierra, be it using a SolarFlare SFN5122F or Intel X520-DA2. I've even disabled SMB signing and it's still troublesome. Has been this way since El Capitan for me, and continues in Sierra.

    AFP on the other hand gives full speeds over 10GbE.
     
  7. Daleyelama thread starter macrumors newbie

    Daleyelama

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
    #8
    AFP or SMB?

    We are running SMB on full speed.
     
  8. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #9
  9. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  10. Daleyelama thread starter macrumors newbie

    Daleyelama

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
    #11
  11. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #12
    LOL, thanks, but that script you sent me just disables SMB signing. It's all over the internet and it rather goes against the spirit of these forums not to share it.
    Regardless, I'd already tried that and while it does improve SMB speeds it's nowhere near as good as AFP.
    Thanks anyway.

    http://kb.promise.com/thread/disable-smb-signing-on-os-x-10-11-5-10-12-x/
     
  12. Daleyelama thread starter macrumors newbie

    Daleyelama

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
    #13
    And which upload speed do you have with AFP und MacOs Sierra? With SMB we reach 1000MB/s.. with AFP 250MB/s.
     
  13. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #14
    I get about 800MB/s reads and about 300MB/s writes over AFP but that's because I am using extremely slow drives.
     
  14. Daleyelama thread starter macrumors newbie

    Daleyelama

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
    #15
    You should try SMB to increase your speed ;-)
     
  15. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #16
    I'm using Seagate 8TB Archive drives. Nothing will help speed those up. lol

    I will begin swapping them out for 10TB drives at the beginning of next year which should help a lot.
     
  16. Daleyelama thread starter macrumors newbie

    Daleyelama

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
    #17
    Strange, that you have 800 down and 300 up..! Even if your drives are slow. We use WD8001FFWX. They are great.
     
  17. Amorphous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #18
    @pastrychef @Daleyelama I wonder how you guys achieve those speeds?

    In our Mac Pro 5,1 we have these installed:
    - 'Solarflare SFN5122F' which gives 10GBe over optical fibre
    - 'HighPoint SSD7101A-1 NVMe M.2 RAID Controller' with EVO 960 NVMe2 sticks, which is the shared volume

    However, we are only getting speeds that are really really slow. Our terminals are connected to a Zyxel 10GBe XS1920 switch via CAT7.

    Any ideas on how to improve these speeds?
     

    Attached Files:

  18. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #19
    If you are using the HighPoint RAID Controller in your MacPro5,1, there's a good chance that speeds are being bottlenecked by PCI-e slots. On the MacPro5,1 itself, what kind of speeds are you seeing natively (not over the network)?

    The ~300MB/s writes and ~800MB/s reads that I get are from my NAS. The NAS has eight 3.5" SATA hard drives of which two are used for redundancy.
     
  19. Amorphous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #20
    Hi @pastrychef , thanks for your response.

    We have the Highpoint and Solarflare in the PCIe 16x slots, which should theoretically give a bandwidth of 3.2GB/s.

    The read/write speed we are achieving locally in the server much faster, (1590MBs Write, 2360MBs Read) screenshot is enclosed below.

    The said server has BootROM version 140.0.0.0 with OS10.11.6 El Capitan, and our client terminals run on latest BootROM, uses NVMe to boot OS10.14.

    @h9826790, do you have anything you may be able to add here too
     

    Attached Files:

  20. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #21
    I can't think of a reason why you are not getting better speeds...

    I switched from the SolarFlare SFP+ cards to AQC107 based 10GBase-T cards and I still get pretty much the same speeds...

    Screen Shot 2019-06-10 at 5.41.58 AM.png
     
  21. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #22
    Upgrade your server to 10.14 or at least Sierra and then try again.
    Also, I'd do this if under macOS 10.13.3:
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT205926

    Separately, I'd also update that BootROM to 144.0.0.0.0. There are some nice fixes in it.
     
  22. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #23
    Ah!! Yes!!

    I forgot about the potential SMB issues... I've continued to use AFP throughout all these years...
     
  23. Kier-XF macrumors member

    Kier-XF

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    #24
    One thing I've noticed with 10Gbe is that running any form of virtualization software on my iMac Pro massively impacts ethernet throughput. I've verified this with VMware Fusion Pro, Parallels and Virtualbox - even before they actually spin up virtual machines.

    The problem is so enormous that I've actually moved my Vagrant/VMware development suite off my own machine and put it onto a separate box so that my iMP isn't impacted by whatever is going on.
     

Share This Page

23 October 18, 2016