13" MBP...Should I get 1?Urgent help required!!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rohit6060, Feb 25, 2011.

1. rohit6060 macrumors member

Hi guys,
    I've been planning(rather saving) to buy a laptop for past one year or so.I use a four year old HP laptop which I surely have extended much beyond its usual lifespan.
    I'm a portability freak and hence I'm interested only in 13" MBP.I'm not at all a gamer and neither do all thez audio/video encoding.I need a laptop which looks good,performs well,has a good battery life and can run some games which I would play rather occasionally...
    As such I feel base model 13" is a perfect choice for me.I've read a lot about its GPU and just can't decide how good/bad is it actually.Geekbench for CPU sounds really impressive.I'm a first time mac user and just don't wish to buy another windows crap just to save a few bucks.
    My other major concern is the lifespan.Although I'm a big tech freak but I don't really enjoy updating my gadgets that often.I use my gadgets for there full life span and then go for an update.
    My experience with my HP laptop has been horrible and the case is similar for many of my frnds having other models of HP/dell laptops.Usually I've seen thez laptops start loosing there steam after 2 year.Battery will die down,You'll have to format every 6 months due to some unknown viruses etc. etc.
    As such I feel a MAC will be a better OS suiting my purpose.I plan to use it for next 4-5 years.U guys think macbooks really have that much of life span?
    talking of specs,320gb is enough for me,an i5 is more then enough for me(I was actually expecting a i3 in base model)4gb ram,thunderbolt etc. all sounds good...
    I've really not experienced the 1280*800 macbook graphics visibility.I mean I do watch a lot of movie,usually 720p or blu ray prints.Is this resolution sufficient enough for me?Watching movies might just be the only thing where I might regret a discrete GPU or a low res screen...