15 Macbook Pro 2011 wont wake from sleep

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by boodwiser, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. boodwiser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #1
    I have an early 2011 15'' mbp running OSX 10.7.1 (problem occurred on 10.7.0 but not snow leopard when I had it, though i also replaced my RAM around this time) and I'm having a strange intermittent problem with the display not turning back on after I reopen the lid. I move the curser/ mouse or tap a keyboard key to wake the computer, and check that the display is not turned down but nothing happens, just a black screen. When this happens I am forced to hold down the power button for 10sec to reboot the machine.

    When the lid is closed the LED in the front blinks, like normal, then i'll open the lid and nothing appears. When i then close the lid after nothing happens the LED is solid which is strange. Nothing seems to work to turn on the display but from the sound of it the HDD is running when I do open the lid.

    The problem has happened a number of times but like i said its really intermittent. I could close and open the lid 50plus times and it wont happen then once in a while it will. Though as of late it seems to be more frequent, happened three time today! I've looked over some help forums and i am yet to find a thread about this specific problem, so any help would greatly be appreciated.

    Thanks!
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Have you tried pressing the Escape key? Pressing just once and quickly the Power button?

    When you installed Lion, was it an install on a fresh install of Snow Leopard or was it on your current running state.
     
  3. boodwiser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #3
    lion was installed on running state of snow leopard.

    Pressing the power button once quickly doesn't do anything. Will try pressing the escape key next time this happens, but i've probably done that before to no avail.
     
  4. boodwiser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
  5. killerrobot, Sep 13, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011

    killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    Try resetting the SMC - it supposedly runs differently under Lion so coming from SL can cause problems sometimes.
    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3964

    Hope that works - otherwise you may have found a new bug in Lion. :p

    EDIT: Now that I think about it I think I did read a thread about the display not turning on after sleep while running Lion so it might be a bug. I don't think it was this one specifically but it's similar: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1220981
     
  6. darkfader, Sep 14, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011

    darkfader macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #6
    I have this problem too. How much RAM do you have installed?
    I'm not sure if it's a Lion problem, since it happens with Bootcamp too. Here is the Windows 7 login screen after waking up:
    [​IMG] (ImageShack.us)
    I'm going to think this is a hardware problem and Apple should have recognized/addressed that by now.
    But it could also be a Radeon bug since Bootcamp only uses that and not the integrated chip.

    Btw, Lion isn't very great with hibernation too. Although it wakes up then if you don't have more than 4GB loaded, it will be unresponsive for a few minutes or stays unresponsive.
     
  7. boodwiser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #7
    the symptoms sound similar to those required for resetting the SMC. Today I went to the gym and when i got home the mac's fan was running and CPU was hot even though the machine should have been asleep. Had to force reset it.

    darkfader I have 8gb of ram installed.

    The more it happens the more i just think it is some sort of lion bug....
     
  8. boodwiser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #8
    reset SMC yesterday. Problem happened today. Think i should just take it into an apple store?
     
  9. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Try repair disk permission? Is this happen after Lion? If it's I think the only solution would be wait for the software update.

    Did you keep it up to date like EFI?

    Hope this help :)
     
  10. darkfader, Sep 19, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2011

    darkfader macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #10
    I just tried removing one of my non-Apple-certified modules and indeed one of them is giving problems with sleep mode. This is stupid! Why does it need Apple-certified memory to have sleep mode work correctly?! The memory itself is fine when you memtest it.
    I have only tried a short sleep and wouldn't be surprised if the other module gives problems when sleeping a longer time.
    Apple should just update the SMC firmware (?) to make all memory compatible!
    I dl'ed Thaiphoon blaster and tried derating the memory speed in SPD memory. But that did not help either.
    It'd odd though... one memory slot seems more susceptible.
    I guess I just need to continue using hibernation mode for now.
     
  11. md301 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #11
    hi

    i have upgraded my 2011 mbp memory to 8gb from 4 gb and ssd myself (not fron apple store) i do have the same problem. i have found out it was my ssd corsair was having a deep sleep. but everytime its screen stays black i only hit the decrease brighhtness of display on the keyboard and it goes back on. this is not something serious for me as it saved me few hundred dollard upgrading by myself rather than apple store. yes i took this to the apple store and they noticed it was my eitheir of my after market upgrades.i did put the original memory and ssd and it didnt have the problem. try to put ur original mempry back then see what happens. or if the decrease display brightness key wakes it , you could live with this.
     
  12. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    Can you guys tell me what kind of RAM did you buy? Thanks.
     
  13. md301 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #13
    hi

    i bought kingston from frys electronics
     
  14. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    Thanks for your reply. Do you know which brand would be the best? I'm thinking about Corsair.
    Is it happened to you every time when it wake from sleep?
     
  15. md301 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #15
    hi

    I do not know which one is the best out there, when i bought mine, i only cared about compatibility, the sales people might tell you its compatible, but it might have problems when you install it, make sure it is returnable when you buy it, do many testing once you install it, open and close the lid many times, try this for the next few days before returning it.

    I have kingston on my memory but my ssd is corsair, i can live with the deep sleeping mode as i could hit the decrease screen brightness key easily to wake it up. (cool thing about this is if some ignorant steals your mac, they would think your mac is broken)

    No, mine does not go to deep sleep everytime, but it does it like 3 out of 5 of the time.

    I hope this helps.
     
  16. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    Thanks for your advice. Do you think is to do with your SSD upgrade? Have you tried the Apple HDD with 8GB ram? I'm not too sure what you mean by "Deep Sleep" ha
     
  17. darkfader macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #17
    Corsair CMSO8GX3M2A1333C9 (2 x 4GB)
     
  18. milliepuppy macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #18
    .. not running iStat Pro are you.... ??

    Upgraded mid 2009 pro to an SSD running Lion and then the troubles started.

    Got rid of the iStat pro widget .. and they all went away !! :)
     
  19. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #19
    Cool. That's what I'm going to get. I hope it will work on mine perfectly.

    Real :eek: What is it to do with iStat?
     
  20. milliepuppy macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #20
    Has caused failure to resume/ wake issues for quite a number of users .. its always an easy place to start in trouble shooting .. ie. remove software ..

    Istat worked fine for me in SL and when i set up my new Lion install on a new SSD running as an external USB drive ... but as soon as the SSD was installed inside my macbook pro it suffered failure to wake/ resume issues.

    .. deleted iStat pro widget and all is good !!!
     
  21. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #21
    (this might not be relevant but it seems vaguely so...)

    when i have my external (Time machine) backup drive connected to my MBP it takes exponentially longer to come back from sleep.
     
  22. boodwiser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #22
    Hi,

    I have Mushkin Enhanced 8GB 2X4GB PC3-8500 DDR3-1066 7-7-7-20 SODIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit for Apple. I have run memtest on the modules and test says 100% healthy.

    I think it's the Lion.... Disk utility/verify disk permissions does not fix issue...
     
  23. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #23
    You could have got the DDR3-1333 since your MBP support it. I'm not sure what's the different maybe a little bit faster?

    By the way, I think it's to do with Lion as well.
     
  24. darkfader macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #24
    MacBook's problems: Apple-Incompatible memory when using sleep mode. Give up on this until Apple acknowledges the problem. I hope it can be solved with an SMC firmware update though.
    Lion's problems: When waking from disk-sleep: 3-beeps when >4GB in use or an endless spinning beachball. I wanted to resume watching my series this morning and got the beachball. I was so frustrated that after rebooting and waiting that I couldn't concentrate on the subtitles anymore.
    Give up on Lion, install Snow Leopard, much faster boot time too. Lion is a lot more bloated than SL. More services loaded and disk/help indexing going on. More chance that one piece is broken and hangs the system.
    I think I'll install SL next to my Lion so I can try any new SW updates.
     
  25. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #25
    Any sleep problem after downgraded to SL? Is it really to do with non-Apple ram or Lion? I'm so confused. :(:confused:
     

Share This Page