16 gb of ram in my macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by arven1231, Dec 5, 2014.

  1. arven1231 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    #1
    Hello,
    I uderstand that some macbook pros (specs will be down below) can be upgraded to 16 gb even though apple says other wise but i was wondering if my macbook can handle it because it's a special order mac (one of the features it has is 750 gb of solid state storage but thats the main difference) my specs are 2.9 GHz Intel core i7, and the memory is 8gb 1600 MHz DDR3.
    I wanted to know your guys opinion before i purchased two 8 gb ram cards.
    _______________________________________________________________
    These macs can be upgraded to 16 gb of ram
    MacBook Pro 13-inch 2.3GHz dual-core Intel Core i5
    MacBook Pro 13-inch 2.4GHz dual-core Intel Core i5
    MacBook Pro 13-inch 2.7GHz dual-core Intel Core i7
    MacBook Pro 13-inch 2.8GHz dual-core Intel Core i7
    MacBook Pro 15-inch 2.0GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    MacBook Pro 15-inch 2.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    MacBook Pro 15-inch 2.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    MacBook Pro 15-inch 2.4GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    MacBook Pro 15-inch 2.5GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    MacBook Pro 17-inch 2.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    MacBook Pro 17-inch 2.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    MacBook Pro 17-inch 2.4GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    MacBook Pro 17-inch 2.5GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
     
  2. jdphoto macrumors 6502

    jdphoto

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    #2
    What model of macbook pro do you have? (ex. 15-inch, Late 2012) Also retina or non retina?
     
  3. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #3
    Hello,

    which model of Mac ?

    From your spec. I guess it's a Macbook Pro 13" Mid 2012, model identifier 9,2, right ?

    This model accepts up to 16 GB.

    Maximum Memory 16 GB (Actual) 8 GB (Apple)
    Memory Slots 2 - 204-pin PC3-12800 (1600 MHz) DDR3 SO-DIMM


    (source : Mactracker)

    (NB : you can not upgrade the RAM on Retina models)
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    If its retina, then you cannot upgrade your ram, since its soldered.

    If its fairly new and not retina, then you should be able too
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
     
  6. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #6
    This implies to me that you have a model with the Retina display. If that's the case, you are out of luck as far as upgrades go as the RAM is soldered on to the logic board.
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    The 2.9GHz i7 appeared in both a retina and non-retina MBP. The 750GB SSD could have been added by the OP in the non-retina model. I don't recall if there was a 750GB option for the retina MBP in 2012.
     
  8. SL4VE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #8
    your list is inaccurate, most i5 or i7 cannot be upgraded especially if their retina than you cannot.
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    Not true. All of those processors listed also appeared in non-retina MBPs.
     
  10. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #10
    The Retina could be ordered with a 768 GB SSD. There was no 750 GB SSD option from the factory on non-Retina models. "Special-order Mac" infers a BTO.
     
  11. arven1231 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    #11
    I believe My MacBook pro is mid 2012 not a retina

    P.S. thanks for all the replies
     
  12. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #12
    Go to /about this Mac, "more infos".

    The answer to your question depends on what exact model you have.
     
  13. arven1231 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    #13
    my specs are 2.9 GHz Intel core i7, and the memory is 8gb 1600 MHz DDR3. It's not a retina and it's mid 2012
     
  14. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #14
    ----> Macbook Pro 13" Mid 2012, model identifier : 9,2

    Maximum Memory : 16 GB (Actual) 8 GB (Apple)
    Memory Slots : 2 - 204-pin PC3-12800 (1600 MHz) DDR3 SO-DIMM

    (source : Mactracker)
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
  16. arven1231 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    #16
  17. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #17
    All models that were built in 2011 or later support 16GB.
     
  18. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #18
    Mid-2012 13" non Retina: definitely will take two 8 GB SODIMMs DDR3 1600 MHz. (16 GB per MacTracker, or you can also check Crucial's configurator at their site if you need further conformation).

    Just did that very thing with bro-in law's new machine (along with 512 Crucial SSD MX100). Bought Crucial 16 GB RAM kit from Amazon for $134 just about a week ago (actuall on Black Friday, because I remember seeing I got another $15 off the 512 GB Crucial SSD).
     
  19. mohawkapple macrumors member

    mohawkapple

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    k-town
    #19
    Can anybody tell me if this would work in my mid 2012 macbook pro? thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  20. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #20
    Yes, but it'll run at reduced speeds.

    Mid-2012 and later Macs should use 1600MHz RAM.
     
  21. mohawkapple macrumors member

    mohawkapple

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    k-town
    #21
    Darn, guess I'll have to take a ride out there again and exchange them.. Thanks for the reply!
     
  22. mohawkapple, Feb 6, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2015

    mohawkapple macrumors member

    mohawkapple

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    k-town
    #22
    Went out and bought this one, hope this one will work?
    X2 $54.99
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Jeff R macrumors 6502

    Jeff R

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    #23
    Go for 16GB RAM lol!
     
  24. ixxx69 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #24
    I didn't read the whole thread carefully, but don't you already have 8GB installed? You just bought a 8GB kit to replace your existing 8GB?
     
  25. Jeff R macrumors 6502

    Jeff R

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    #25
    Mohawkapple is not the OP ;)
     

Share This Page