2006/2007 Mac Pro (1,1/2,1) and macOS Sierra

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mr. Zarniwoop, Jun 13, 2016.

  1. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #1
    So who can get it running first?

    I wonder if Pike's boot loader can load it?
     
  2. VAGDesign macrumors 6502

    VAGDesign

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Location:
    Greece
  3. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #3
    Don't forget to include the new arrivals to the unsupported list: 2006/2007/2008/2009 (1,1/2,1/3,1/4,1). Unless they deserve a separate thread.
     
  4. LarrikinAus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #4
    I am downloading Sierra beta now and have a Mac Pro 3,1. Will try and get it working using the Pike boot loader today and will post updates.
     
  5. gpatpandp macrumors 6502

    gpatpandp

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #5
    Usually links are plentiful for those of us without a Developer account though I am not able to find any.
     
  6. LarrikinAus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #6
    OK, so here is a brief update.

    I have a Mac Pro 3,1. It won't even let me download the Beta saying "This version of OS X 10.12 cannot be installed on this computer."
     
  7. gpatpandp macrumors 6502

    gpatpandp

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #7
    You will most likely need a supported machine in order to download it directly from Apple's Developer site.
     
  8. LarrikinAus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #8
  9. dfritchie macrumors regular

    dfritchie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #9
    Pike's boot.efi identifies your mac as a 3,1, don't think it will work as is with sierra
     
  10. LarrikinAus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #10
  11. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #11
    I wouldn't be surprise if they won't let you download and gives you a message "please buy new computer and if you need assistant, go to Apple.com
     
  12. LarrikinAus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #12
    You are right - it pretty much does do that - except for go buy a new computer - but it won't let you even download it on an unsupported computer. Luckily I have downloaded it on a supported rMBP so all good :)
     
  13. gpatpandp, Jun 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2016

    gpatpandp macrumors 6502

    gpatpandp

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #13
    That is incorrect...the actual boot.efi file has absolutely nothing to do with identifying any portion of any mac whatsoever.

    Netkas post/suggestion merely points to a link for installing Yosemite on an unsupported Mac and is not entirely relevant for an unsupported Mac Pro.

    Also while your input is appreciated, your 3,1 Mac Pro will not require a hacked boot.efi as it has always been able to boot a Mac 64-bit operating systems natively so your hack will require a different approach then either the Mac Pro 1,1 or 2,1.
     
  14. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #14
  15. LarrikinAus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #15
    I know - I never said it would.
     
  16. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #16
    Is anyone going to host it? I'd like to try something with it. In fact, I'll PM you about it.
     
  17. Dean Yu macrumors regular

    Dean Yu

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    #17
    The great reduce of 4,1 in number is expected. 4,1-->5,1 Master race starts.
    Meanwhile my 2007 iMac 20" is not moving...:)
     
  18. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #18
    It does KP with latest Pike's boot efi. As usual: installed on a 4,1, disabled SIP and replaced boot.efi with proper one.

    Didn't have a chance to investigate this more because my MP has to do the today's work.
    Maybe later this evening I'll get some time for tinkering with it.
     
  19. Mr. Zarniwoop thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #19
    I suspect that 3,1/4,1 will be a simpler hack as they at least have EFI64.

    The 1,1/2,1 will likely need a new (or at least tweaked) bootloader. Hence this thread. :)
     
  20. jemmX macrumors member

    jemmX

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Universe
    #20
    I will looking forward, same machine here :)
     
  21. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #21
    Certainly it will. I tried ElCap and Yosemite boot.efi, even editing PlatformSupport.plist (which wasn't needed before) and all I got is exacty the same KP. Someting in "old" Pike's boot.efi files isn't compatible with new kernel. It does KP just on the very start, nothing gets loaded. Kernel trap with OS version "not yet set".
     
  22. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #22
    I've taken a good look but haven't found an answer - are there specific GPU requirements for macOS 10.12?
     
  23. nounousomes macrumors newbie

    nounousomes

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #23
    Same here too.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 14, 2016 ---
    Pike just had a blog started:

    https://github.com/Piker-Alpha/macosxbootloader/tree/Sierra

    He is have a beta version of the boot.efi (Grey and Black)

    Can not wait to test

    https://ci.appveyor.com/api/buildjobs/3c3b3wkrh99jv4iw/artifacts/macosxbootloader_grey_3834255.zip

    https://ci.appveyor.com/api/buildjobs/awqanbr2lp3a86gv/artifacts/macosxbootloader_black_3834255.zip
     
  24. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #24
  25. Mr. Zarniwoop thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #25
    Well that didn't take long.

    Once someone gets it running, can you check if the 2006/2007 Mac Pro PCI Expansion Slot Utility is still there and works? It's still in El Capitan. If it's not there, maybe the El Capitan one still works? https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT2838
     

Share This Page