2006/2007 Mac Pro (1,1/2,1) and OS X El Capitan

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Mr. Zarniwoop, Jun 8, 2015.

  1. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #1426
    Updated my 1,1 to 10.11.2 this morning directly from the App Store with no issue whatsoever. Previously running 10.11.1 with CapitanPikeFix. :cool:
     
  2. jt_69.V macrumors newbie

    jt_69.V

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #1427
    I don't have CapitanPikeFix, so I swapped the two boot.efi files manually (plus the one in the Recovery partition, just in case...) I had one kernel panic on the first reboot, but then everything looks good.
    copie.jpg
     
  3. LightBulbFun, Dec 9, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2015

    LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #1428
    Just figured id post here now I got a Mac pro 1,1 running el cap very nice thanks to Pikes EFI :) Just as a note since i see other people have had issues with this too it seems that low amounts of RAM will cause el cap and Yosemite to Kernel panic with this boot.efi just before or after the window server loads (i also get the same KP on my 2,1 Macbook) once I fitted the 32GB of ram i got for my mac pro el cap ran without a hitch (before my Mac pro had 4 512MB sticks) (its defo a boot.efi thing since using the Yosemite boot.efi with yosemite does not cause a KP but the el cap one causes the same KP in both el cap and Yosemite) so yeah el cap runs very well on my 1,1 its such a shame that apple dropped the 1,1 and 2,1... (BTW the Geforce GT 740 has web drivers installed but it will work without them even all the way back to 10.7.5 due to being GK107 based but OS X will not know what to call the card just calls it nvidia chip model) edit: next reboot ill update to 10.11.2 and see how it goes
    upload_2015-12-9_17-17-40.png
     
  4. rthpjm macrumors 6502

    rthpjm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #1429
    I have edited my post at #1412 with some updated information.
     
  5. the bug macrumors member

    the bug

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    #1430
    I did not show hidden files on that volume, and only saw the first one you listed (./com.apple.recovery.boot/boot.efi).
    After replacing ./com.apple.recovery.boot/boot.efi , I was able to boot to recovery using cmd.+R .


    - Jay
     
  6. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #1431
    But there's no /System/Library/CoreServices on the Recovery HD :confused:

    Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 5.08.37 PM.png
     
  7. the bug macrumors member

    the bug

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    #1432
    I didn't see one either, I assumed it was possibly a hidden System folder, but it looks like the ./com.apple.recovery.boot/boot.efi is the only by your screenshot.

    I have never attempted "Internet Recovery" from the recovery partition, but there was talk some pages back in this thread about a second boot.efi located in the BaseSystem.dmg.

    It was my understanding that "Internet Recovery" needs that second one (in BaseSystem.dmg) replaced to work (I never bothered).
    Maybe that is the one he was referring to.

    - Jay
     
  8. rkanaga macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Location:
    London
    #1433
    Rather than disabling SIP from the recovery partition so that you can manually replace the Boot refi files, isn't a simpler approach to do this?

    Keep a small partition on one of your HD's with a copy of Yosemite on it. After the Ap Store update, you boot into your Yosemite partition and you will be able to replace the necessary Boot Efi files on your newly updated El Cap partition since Yosemite does't stop you doing this? You can then boot back into El Cap.

    (A small complication with this recent update that you need to update the Recovery partition first, then boot into Yosemite, fix the the recovery partition Efi 1st before doing the above or else you won't be able to book into the recovery partition as the Efi will have been overwritten.)
     
  9. macprobuffalo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    #1434
    Has anyone performed an upgrade install on a RAID-0 volume running Yosemite to El Captain? I know in el captain you can only access the RAID Utility thought the recovery partition, i'm wondering if the installer will recognize my Yosemite created RAID volume.
     
  10. the bug macrumors member

    the bug

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    #1435
    Oh, I almost forgot to mention that 10.11.2 fixes the FaceTime crashes I've been having since ElCap, on my 1,1 flashed to a 2,1 !! :)

    - Jay
     
  11. donjames macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Location:
    Henderson, Texas
    #1436
    What is an easy to tell if boot.efi is protected? I do have El Capitan 10.11.2 installed.

    Regards,

    donjames
     
  12. rthpjm macrumors 6502

    rthpjm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #1437
    Open a Terminal, type
    touch /System/Library/CoreServices/boot.efi

    If it is under SIP protection you will get an 'operation not permitted' message. If there's no message then it's not SIP protected. You can also simply try to overwrite it with a fresh copy of Pike's boot.efi file. Also you can list the directory typing
    ls -lO /System/Library/CoreServices/

    (the switches are minus, lowercase letter l (ell), uppercase letter o (oh))

    If you see the word restricted on the line, then the file is protected
     
  13. jt_69.V macrumors newbie

    jt_69.V

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #1438
    Maybe I have a faulty Recovery partition then...

    Capture d’écran 2015-12-10 à 13.12.45.png
     
  14. donjames macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Location:
    Henderson, Texas
    #1439
    Here ya go:
    sh-3.2# cd /System/Library/CoreServices
    sh-3.2# pwd
    /System/Library/CoreServices
    sh-3.2# ls -lO boot.efi
    -rw-r--r--@ 1 root wheel restricted 316416 Dec 9 19:59 boot.efi

    Looks like it is restricted.

    Regards,

    Don James
     
  15. rthpjm macrumors 6502

    rthpjm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #1440
    I think maybe at some point you have extracted /System out of the BaseSystem.dmg into your partition (or ran a tool that did it).

    Out of interest, what is in the com.boot.apple.R folder - it is very strange. I suspect that these are artefacts left over from other tools or mods...

    For some time now, Recovery partitions only really contain com.apple.recovery.boot as a folder, with BaseSystem.dmg inside that folder. My Recovery partition looks like this:
    Code:
    .Trashes
    .fseventsd
    .metadata_never_index
    com.apple.recovery.boot
     
  16. donjames macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Location:
    Henderson, Texas
    #1441
    HI,

    I just thought you might want to know.

    I used pikify3.1v5 to make an El Capitan 10.11.1 installer. Installed on a clean hard drive. Ran Boot64v2. Downloaded and installed all of the updates. Rebooted the computer. Everything worked perfectly. The computer is now running El Capitan 10.11.2.


    Thank you very much for the good work.

    Sincerely,

    Don James
    Henderson, Texas USA
     
  17. goodfidelity macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    #1442
    Anyone got problems with the app store? Min just quits and i cant update anything..
     
  18. Mortimus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    #1443
    Hello, i update today capitan 10.11.1 to 10.11.2
    I changed manually the two boot.efi
    The macpro boot on black screen with Apple but the progression bar blocked on 2/3
    An issue ?
    Sorry for my approximative english of frenchie
     
  19. sweetspud macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    #1444
    Guys,

    Please forgive me for being lazy! I've been away and I see there have been some exciting developments!!

    Could someone, please direct me to the latest method for installing El Cap for the first time from Yosemite??

    I'm currently at 10.10.5 on my MP 2.66, 1,1 to 2,1.

    Much appreciated!!
     
  20. Vickmnc84 macrumors newbie

    Vickmnc84

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #1445
    I downloaded the CaptainPikeFix but when I started to install it on my Mac Pro 1,1 with a HD 5770 and 16 GB of Ram running 10.11.2 I get a warning message that reads as follows: This package is incompatible with the version of OS X and may fail to install.

    The message also says it may damage my system. I want to make sure I have the correct fix before I install it. If its not the correct one can you post a link to the one I should use?
     
  21. profinite macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #1446
    sweetspud,

    When I moved from Yosemite to El Capitan, I followed the installation method explained by andsat in #1229. I really like this method because:

    (1) I can mount the target volume on the Desktop, and
    (2) Even if something goes wrong, I know the whole setup will in the least start from the host volume.

     
  22. donjames macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Location:
    Henderson, Texas
    #1447
    Follow the instructions in posts 1390 and 1391. I installed El Capitan on a clean hard drive using OS X 10.11.1. After the install, I was able to update to OS X 10.11.2.

    Regards,

    donjames
     
  23. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #1448
    He wants to upgrade from Yosemite, though.
     
  24. sweetspud macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    #1449
    Thank you!
     
  25. rthpjm macrumors 6502

    rthpjm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #1450
    Make sure you have a good backup.

    My instructions at post 1390 & 1391 should work fine.

    If you have a spare disk, I would recommend performing a clean install of El Capitan onto the spare disk. When the install finishes and you reboot into the new El Capitan disk, one of the set up steps is the Migration Assistant, use this to migrate your data from your Yosemite disk to this El Capitan disk. Doing it this way has the benefit of keeping your Yosemite disk intact for a while, think of it as your backup, or roll-back.

    When you are satisfied that everything is working as expected on El Capitan, you can then choose what to do with the Yosemite disk, e.g. wipe it and use it for something else. I have used this method successfully as I migrated from Mavericks to Yosemite, and now to El Capitan. It's the safest method I can think of.

    If you don't have a spare disk, then please make sure you have a full backup of your Yosemite disk. If you are using Time Machine, go into System Preferences > Time Machine > Options... and review any exclusions you have there. Think carefully about the exclusions, if you think you will need data that is currently shown as excluded, remove the entry from the list. Then force Time Machine to backup now. Finally run through my instructions.

    Good luck.
     

Share This Page