MP 1,1-5,1 2009 Mac Pro - Latest MacOs

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by m11rphy, Aug 13, 2019 at 11:33 PM.

  1. m11rphy macrumors 6502

    m11rphy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #1
    Hi all, I just got a 2009 Mac Pro with dual 2.26 processors and Apple 30 inch display, what is the newest MacOS I can install?
     
  2. Manzana macrumors 6502a

    Manzana

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #2
  3. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
  4. m11rphy thread starter macrumors 6502

    m11rphy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #4
    No it hasn't been upgraded at all, its got Geforce G120 Gard in it currently. Happy to buy a new card if needed
     
  5. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    both links outline what you have to do and need.

    it's a good time to move to osx10.14 it's got all the bugs worked out, id not look at osx10.15 yet as it's still beta so there will be problems but nice to know you can instal it when final comes.

    do check any legacy apps before updating
     
  6. MIKX macrumors 65816

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
    m11rphy

    A good first step to upgrading would be to go to your Macrumors member profile and make a " signature " to describe your current Mac pro setup.

    My signature is at the end of this post.

    Having a SIGNATURE alone will speed up replies to your questions and save members having to eternally ask you about your cMP setup.

    ===================

    If I were you, my 2nd. step would be to flash your Mac Pro from 4,1 to 5,1.

    The search button is your friend.
     
  7. m11rphy thread starter macrumors 6502

    m11rphy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #7
    Thanks I will do that, my new MSI RX560 will be going into night so hopefully I should have Mojave up and running. So far I have updated firmware from 4.1 to 5.1 so Im now running High Serra

    I'm also looking to buy 2 delided X5690 CPUs from a seller on ebay, Could some a good how to guide
     
  8. MIKX macrumors 65816

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    m11rphy

    Next step ; put your Mac Pro info into your SIGNATURE.

    After that search the forums for upgrading your Mac Pro Bootrom version.

    ( My cMP is at bootrom 144.0.0.0.0

    What is your current bootrom version ?
    Go to "About This Mac" at top left of your Finder window - then click System Report then go to "Hardware". (don't tell anyone your Mac pro serial number. )

    You can use Preview to take a screenshot - don't include your Serial Number.
     
  9. m11rphy thread starter macrumors 6502

    m11rphy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #9
    New RX560 fitted and Im now running Mojave, CPU upgrade next
     
  10. SnakeCoils macrumors newbie

    SnakeCoils

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Location:
    Italy
    #10
    I was also considering to purchase an MSI RX 560 to use with Mojave on a updated MacPro 2009 (5.1) so I have a couple of questions to ask to a first-hand user about it:

    1) Do the framebuffer show as "Orinoco" or "Radeon"?
    2) Is the HDMI audio functional without kext mods?
    3) Do it drain its power from PCIe slot only or extra help is needed?

    Thank you in advance!
     

Share This Page

9 August 13, 2019