Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Racineur

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 11, 2013
Montréal, Québec
Hi, I bought my Imac in July. Back then I told myself a few times I should wait until september-october for the refresh but waiting was what I had been doing for almost 2 years. My specs: 27 / 3.2 i5 / 1 To FD / Mouse / Trackpad. Some say the speed and graphic bump is no big deal when others say that's what happen where you're too impatient. I do lot of MS Word, Safari, Mail, light postprocessing in Aperture, LR, DxO Optics Pro. No gaming at all if you call Angry Birds or Pinball Machine gamin. Maybe I just need to be reassured. :). What you think other pre-upgrade iMac owners?

Have une bonne journée:D

Tjosansa

macrumors regular
Jul 27, 2013

Well.. i did wait and just ordered an iMac. Mostly bacause of the graphic card.
I wanted to see if they would put a gtx780mx in it. They didn't.. It got gtx780m.

So if i would have bought the earlier iMac i wouldnt be to sad about it.. You got a good computer there.

JustMartin

macrumors 6502a
Feb 28, 2012
UK
Well my 2007 model was getting slower and fuller by the end of last year, so I pulled the trigger in November. Now, nearly a year later, I can't say I regret it a bit. I think I've saved quite a bit of time over the months just in beachball avoidance.

Again, it's the old difference between 'want' and 'need' - if you needed a new computer back in July, then there's no argument, you did the right thing. If you really, really wanted an iMac back in July, you probably did the right thing as well. If you just felt like splurging some money on a new computer, you might feel that you could have waited, but that would be the case at any point in the refresh cycle.

Bear

macrumors G3
Jul 23, 2002
Sol III - Terra
My specs: 27 / 3.2 i5 / 1 To FD / Mouse / Trackpad.