2012 Mac Pro + SAPPHIRE Pulse Radeon RX 580

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by BlueBubba, Sep 10, 2017.

  1. rakesh0385 macrumors newbie

    rakesh0385

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    #26
    Hi Squuiid,

    I understand it is frustrating to answer a repeated question but I was wondering if I can buy locally. The link for ebay is expired (relisted one is from China). What makes you think that I haven't read it?
     
  2. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #27
    Fair enough. The eBay.co.uk item is indeed form China but that's the best you'll get in the UK. It takes about a week to arrive, I've ordered 4 and they're very well made cables.
    I don't think there is anyone local who sells these.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 3, 2017 ---
    Is that in Sierra or High Sierra?
     
  3. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #28
    Both Sierra and High Sierra according to my tests.
     
  4. MarkC426, Nov 3, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2017

    MarkC426 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #29
    I had this same issue trying to find a UK seller and I wanted a good quality cable, the ones on amazon where cheap crap.
    I ordered from the US ebay site, logging in with my UK details (as I could not find it on the UK site), and received within a week (from china).
    This cable is so solidly made :)
     
  5. vetruvian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    #31
  6. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #32
    I had issues with the GutsParker one as well, mentioned it on another thread. Mine fell apart.
     
  7. g8rduc macrumors newbie

    g8rduc

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #33
    Resurrecting this thread. Any updates on the RX580 and it's comparison to other cards?
     
  8. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #34
  9. carambo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #37
  10. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #38
    The Mac Pro only has mini 6pin output, there is no normal 6pin on the Mac Pro.
     
  11. carambo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #39
    Oups, my bad, I forgot this, Txs
     
  12. downhillpony macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    #40
    with these cards if I hold down the option key at start up will it still show my boot drive options ?
    or is that part of the boot screen and not accessible .
     
  13. StuAff macrumors regular

    StuAff

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #41
    No boot screens, because these cards do not have Mac firmware. Until the drivers in the OS load, your screen will stay blank. Recovery partition should work, with the Command+R shortcut on startup. Only way to see boot screen is to have a card with Mac firmware, and either a second monitor attached to that card, or swap the cables.
     
  14. jacekkr macrumors newbie

    jacekkr

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #42
    Does anyone know what the performance of this card is in an early 2009 4.1 which has been flashed to 5.1?
    Looking at the specs the PCI bus it seems the same Double-wide, 16-lane PCI Express 2.0 graphics slot but I remember reading in another forum that the performance of graphic cards in flashed Mac Pros was not the same. any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

    Mac Pro 5.1
    https://support.apple.com/kb/SP652?locale=tr_TR
    Mac Pro 4.1
    https://support.apple.com/kb/sp506?locale=en_GB
     
  15. vetruvian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    #43
    I can tell you that in a 2010 5,1 I get between 133,000 and 138,000 on Geekbench Metal/OpenCL compute benchmarks. The PCIe specs look identical between 4,1 and 5,1 so as long as you place the card in the bottom slot, you should see similar results. I realize this doesn't specifically answer your question, but at least gives you a baseline for what you should expect.
     
  16. jacekkr macrumors newbie

    jacekkr

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #44
    Sweet! Thank you - good to know! Major boost from the stock ATI Radeon HD 5870 1024 MB. Much appreciated.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 19, 2018 ---
    I just bough one of the cards and it only has one 8 pin power socket that I can see.
    How come a dual cable is necessary? Or am I am missing something?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #45
    That “correct” cable only has one 8pin output.
     
  18. bookemdano macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #46
    The card's single 8-pin power socket requires more power than one of the Mac Pro's 6-pin sockets can put out. You need the Y-cable so that both 6-pin outputs can supply power to the card.
     
  19. jacekkr macrumors newbie

    jacekkr

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #47
    Thank you!
    --- Post Merged, Jul 19, 2018 ---
    Oh I see! Duh! The two 6 pins go into the mother board and the 8 pin into the card, right? And they're all female?
    I was confused because I have been looking at other cards which have 2 sockets on the card in a combination of 6 and 8 pin sockets so I got a little confused there. Thanks for making it clear.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 19, 2018 ---
    Hmmm The dual mini 8 to 6 cable seems difficult to source: all the links above have expired or are unavailable. ModDiy seems to be restructuring and are not accepting orders. Don't really want to wait till September for a slow boat from China on eBay. Anyone have other sources?

    I found this one on Amazon - is it right cable?
    https://www.amazon.com/PCIe-Power-C...PCIE+to+Dual+Mini+6Pin+GPU+Power+Supply+Cable
    --- Post Merged, Jul 19, 2018 ---
    I found this one on Amazon - is it right cable?
    https://www.amazon.com/PCIe-Power-C...PCIE+to+Dual+Mini+6Pin+GPU+Power+Supply+Cable[/QUOTE]

    Sorry - I just saw it is 6 pin all round.

    Any other sources anyone?
     
  20. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #48
    I would say no.

    That cable appears to be a dual mini 6 to a full size single 6.
     
  21. jacekkr macrumors newbie

    jacekkr

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #49
    Thank yes, I noticed that right after I posted and apologised.

    Do you have any idea where I can find the cable? Seems strange that it is out of stock or discontinued everywhere I look.
     
  22. bookemdano macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #50

Share This Page