Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

project_2501

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 1, 2017
This is my review for the 2017 MacBook Pro 13 non-TB - it will be updated again to reflect any changed opinion after weeks / months of use.

Use
I am a technology professional - and use the MacBook for several tasks:
  • browsing, emailing
  • programming - sometimes pretty intense CPU and memory workloads such as text mining analytics, raytracing calculations
  • teaching classes, meet up tutorials, presentations at conferences for others - including using the laptop at those sessions
  • earning a living as an author of technology books - designing illustrations and editing images
  • photography hobby
  • watching programmes / films - BBC player, youtube, Netflix etc

History
I've never been a fan of Windows since the 1990s (yes I'm that old). My first laptop was a Dell 8600, after having owned some desktop PCs. Inevitably I used Linux on the PCs as Windows just was not the easy or reliable option for coding, technical writing or learning about tech. The Dell laptop, however, like most laptops then and now, was too proprietary for Linux and didn't run things like graphics and power management successfully.

I had kept away from Apple due to it's extremely proprietary image and practises.

After getting too old to deal with graphics drivers, terrible fonts, devices that didn't work, poor power management from Linux, carrying around a power cable and a mouse (because the PC laptops had terrible trackpads) .. I decided to save up for a MacBook...

MacBook Pro 2015 13