$22,000 mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Old Wembley, Jul 24, 2009.

  1. Old Wembley macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #1
    I was fooling around in the online apple store, and started customizing a mac pro. I put everything up as high as possible and it came out to 22000. Would u spend 22k on a comp? Haha buuuut it did have 32gb memory
     
  2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #2
    Some might, some claim to, others might find other uses.
     
  3. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    The Mac Pro usually has a top end configuration around this price range, so I don't see why it is shocking. Some people in the professional world need a computer that powerful, so they would be buying it, it isn't marketed towards the normal consumer.
     
  4. Old Wembley thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #4
    Yeah Ide say so, what exactly dk u think someone would use this machine for?
     
  5. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #5
    Programming or Video Production. Although they may not need all of the Server Options ;)
     
  6. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    I would assume rendering or something similar to that. Where they would use the full processor potential and where time matters.
     
  7. Old Wembley thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #7
    Yeah some really advanced rendering. That thing could run a pretty large business with ease
     
  8. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #8
    I've given my friend with a 8-core 2.93 Mac Pro some of my Terragen pieces to render, they still take days.
     
  9. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #9
    I think they use them for large movie rendering like Transformers.
     
  10. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Yes, but I wouldn't get a Mac Pro.
     
  11. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #11
    The reality is a lot of studios of certain sizes have specific machines solely for specific purposes. But, maybe they used it for that. The people that use Mac Pro's like this are the non-super huge studios.
     
  12. Old Wembley thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #12
    And what would you get with that money?
     
  13. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #13
    I can't wait for a Mac Pro so I can finally play all the PC games I've bought at decent framerates.
     
  14. amd4me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #14
    Not even dude. Final cut runs great on my MBP.
     
  15. vermintrex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #15
    No, Mac Pro's are certainly not used for rendering CG movies. Studios rendering film resolution frames are on bladed render farms that cost in the millions.
     
  16. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #16
    number crunching, though i highly doubt a professional would get a MP for that, maybe 100 of them might be up to standard - too bloody expensive but!!
     
  17. David G. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    Alaska
    #17
    Well sure, but on the 22K USD Mac Pro it would work greaterest.:p
     
  18. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #18
    Not programming, either
     
  19. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #19
    A lot of that money would be simply wasted for buying stuff completely overpriced und under speced. For instance you would not be getting SSDs and W5580.
     
  20. M&M macrumors regular

    M&M

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Joliette, Quebec, Canada
    #20
    Maybe univercitys for research.

    I know for sure that If one day I got a lucky number from the lottery and it's a huge amount, I sure order one just for the kick of it!
     
  21. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #21
    I'm fairly certain that there are not people that just spec it completely out, it comes with a bunch of unnecessary stuff and when you spend that kind of money, you want specific stuff for what you are doing. Visual people will get specific monitors, etc. etc. etc. Also, at the kind of money, chances are you are buying different hard drives for different purposes. The comments were more to, of people that might be looking to spend that kind of money on a Mac Pro, here are the users...
     
  22. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #22
    It's a testament to the fact that even some pro users are too... er... uninformed to buy their own hard drives and RAM. :p
     
  23. fluidedge macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #23
    thats because terragen is a piece of shitake mushroom.
     
  24. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #24
    Granted, an update is needed, but what terrain generation software takes advantage of current Mac Pros?
     
  25. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #25
    most film remastering is done on them, and i would assume at top configuration, they use banks of the things, also for shake on big productions, i.e. Benjamin button. If people didnt want it, they wouldnt make it.
    this is an old article but helps: http://www.macworld.co.uk/news/index.cfm?NewsID=14919
     

Share This Page