32 gb memory into MBP 2012 13

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hitek, Mar 16, 2016.

  1. Hitek macrumors newbie

    Hitek

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    #1
    Hello! I'm curious about possibility of putting 32 gb of ram into my MBP 2012(mid, i7). I know the 3520m processor CAN serve 32 gb of ram memory BUT there might be some limitation on the motherboard making impossible the usage of 32 gigs of ram. The question is: did anybody try to put one pair of those recently avaible memory sticks of PC3 1280 16 gb into MBP 2012 13??
     
  2. applesith macrumors 68030

    applesith

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Manhattan
  3. Hitek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Hitek

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    #3
    There was time it was claiming 8 GB and we know what came next ;) I'm looking for someone who actually put those memories in and checked it himself - that is the final confirmation to me(judging by the past)
     
  4. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #4
    I'd say it probably can't be done. But I haven't seen confirmation.
     
  5. poematik13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #5
    Nope. Motherboard doesn't support it. 2x 8GB is the best you can do, despite the fact that 16Gb sticks do exist.
     
  6. Hitek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Hitek

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    #6
    Have you checked it or know somebody who checked it?(experimentally)
    --- Post Merged, Mar 16, 2016 ---
    Generally speaking from my experience usually what used to prevent the usage of bigger RAMs was the processor if number of slots wasn't the case and in this case we know the processor is serving 32 gb amount
     
  7. poematik13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #7
    Just because the CPU supports it does not mean the motherboard/chipset necessarily does. In this case, the highest amount of RAM you can use is 2x 8GB sticks for a total of 16Gb.
     
  8. Hitek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Hitek

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    #8
    I would like to know Your sources
     
  9. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    Why don't you buy a couple of 16GB sticks and try it?
     
  10. Hitek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Hitek

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    #10
    Can't find them in my city. As soon as I spot them somewhere it will be first thing I try :)
     
  11. JTToft, Mar 17, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2016

    JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #11
    - You can just get them off Amazon. The Crucial kit is out of stock at the moment, though, but I'm sure there are other kits available if you're in a hurry. Or you could get it directly from Crucial.

    Knowing Amazon's rather liberal return policies, you could probably return them if it doesn't work.
     
  12. HeroicDeath macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    #12
    There are no mobile DDR3 DIMMs available at 16GB. So no. You cannot fit 32GB of DDR3 memory into your 2012/2013 rig.

    There are only two slots available for memory on all Macbook Pros. As such you can do the simple math, (8*2 = 16GB) therefore the maximum amount of RAM you can put on the 2012/2013 Macbook Pro is 16GB.

    You clearly don't know your stuff...
     
  13. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #13
  14. HeroicDeath macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    #14
  15. Barna Biro, Mar 17, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2016

    Barna Biro macrumors 6502a

    Barna Biro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Location:
    Luzern, Switzerland
    #15
    Out of sheer curiosity... why do you "need" 32GB of memory on a 13" notebook from 2012?
     
  16. Ries macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #16
    The CPU supports 32 RAM using 2 channels. Each channel supports 2 dimms slots with a maximum of 8Gb per slot. Only 2 slots mounted, so 16GB is max.
     
  17. Jozone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #17
  18. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #18
    There was a thread in the Mini forum where somebody saw the Intel specs and wondered why they couldn't have 32GB and the answer was pretty much the same - if there were 4 slots, it could support 32GB but since there's only 2, 16GB is the max. (Intel really needs to revise their specs and list how many slots are required to support the maximum RAM.)

    Out of curiosity, I looked for laptops with the 3520M processor that could support 32GB and I found a couple - the Lenovo Thinkpad W530 and the Dell M4700, both of which have 4 RAM slots, both of which you can only put 8GB RAM sticks, not 16GB. For the OP, if you can find a laptop with the 3520M with 2 RAM slots than can support 32GB, then maybe all of us are wrong, otherwise ...
     
  19. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #19
    ThinkPad W540 can have 32GB as well (4 DIMM slots). There's an HP model that can too. All of them are considered to be "workstation" class systems, which Apple does not currently make, so 16GB will be the max unless Apple releases something that bumps the limit up, which they probably will eventually with whatever they spit out that uses DDR4.
     
  20. Hitek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Hitek

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    #20
    Guys! Sources! Links! Sorry but without hard proofs what you say doesn't count! I don't see anywhere information about the limit per channel!
     
  21. Ries macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #21
    It is in the CPU spec sheet.

    memory.png
     
  22. Hitek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Hitek

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    #22
    THX Ries! That's it! The final answer! THX again!
     
  23. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA

Share This Page