320M overclocked... (5340 3DMark06 score, MW2 smooth) *update*

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by saschke, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. saschke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #1
    SECOND UPDATE at the end of the post.

    Follow me on Twitter for more updates :)

    *** DISCLAIMER: Overclocking may harm your computer's internals. Try this at your own risk. *** ;)

    5340 3dMark06 points

    with my OC'ed baseline macbook pro 13" 2010 @

    core clock: 631mhz
    shader clock: 1280mhz


    SpeedFan 4.40 (to monitor temps)
    LubbosFanControl (minimum fan speed of 3800rpm)
    nvidia system tools

    Modern Warfare 2 runs perfectly at 1280*800! * :)

    The GPU stays below 70°C, it hovers around 60-65°C most of the time while OC'ed. Overclocking is controlled by the nvidia driver which was installed through Bootcamp (NOTE: The new nvidia driver 197.45 was installed later on in the testing process). It's loaded when starting a game. The whole Macbook Pro (which resides on a stand) is totally cool to the touch.


    EDIT, some NOTES:

    1. Going above these settings for clock speeds results in artifacts / and or 3dmark06 crashing.

    2. Leave Lubbo'sFanControl running in the foreground. The current version seems to have some problems when minimizing. The fan behaviour went nuts at some point after putting the tool into the tray.

    3. The stock bootcamp nvidia drivers were used. Maybe some people can recommend me another driver? I'm not that on top of things anymore.

    4. * MW2 runs at 1280*800, stock settings, AAx2 disabled. I will have another go in a minute and I will measure the best-possible settings for you. I'm pretty sure I can easily play at 1440*900 or 1280*800 with some AA :)

    5. You can enable temperature monitoring graphs in SpeedFan. Perfect for tracking how hot it really gets.

    6. The stock result in 3dmark06 @1280*800 was something like 47xx. I don't remember and I'm not sitting through another benchmark right now, again :D

    7. Off to testing the MW2 :)

    8. Screenshot attached...

    UPDATE 2

    My 3dmark06 score just went from 5247 to 5340 (with slightly slower shader clock even) just by installing the nvidia 197.45 driver through laptopvideo2go.com. Have a look at the new screenshot:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Celedral macrumors 6502

    Celedral

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    What was the original score? Im guessing around 4500-4700. Also do you know the fps and settings for mw
     
  3. ssn637 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #3
    Still waiting for my 13" MBP...

    Could you post the nvao.inf configuration file included with the BootCamp Windows 7 64-bit installation for this GPU? You'll probably have to extract it from the .exe file with WinRAR or 7zip...I'd like to modify it before my laptop arrives and load the modified driver as soon as it arrives. There are no other sources for the 320M driver other than the installation DVD that came with this model. The NVidia website doesn't provide this one; in fact, it's not even mentioned!

    I think overclocking to 330M frequencies would be a bit less radical (575 / 1265). Those are the settings I'm using on my current 9400M and they're rock solid.

    Thanks for the info!
     
  4. Pikkoz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for the info saschke, but can you post a screen of the 3dmark06 results? I'd like to know the screen resolution and the settings used.

    Also, can you post your MW2 video settings ?

    thanks
     
  5. The ORly owl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
  6. gordonyz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #6
    How smooth?
    Like all settings high with 4x AA, fps >30?
    looks like the bottleneck of this GPU is memory bandwidth.
     
  7. saschke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #7
    Sorry guys gonna get back to you tomorrow.
    3dMark was run at 1280*800px, as was MW2 with no AA.
     
  8. saschke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
  9. ssn637 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #10
    Be careful with those modified drivers...the 197.45 is a desktop version. Can you, for example, still control display brightness in Windows using the F1 and F2 keys? Users have reported loss of this functionality with desktop versions of the GeForce drivers. If so, you may want to try the 197.16 laptopvideo2go modified version, although I'm surprised the NVidia GeForce 320M GPU is included in the configuration file.
     
  10. saschke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #11
    Thanks for the heads-up. You can still control brightness via Bootcamp tray tool. I wasn't able to control the brightness through the F keys in Windows7 with this new MBP..

    System is running stable with the new drivers. I will test MW2 a little more and will have a go at PES 2010 :)
     
  11. ssn637 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #12
    Aren't the default frequencies 450/950 for that GPU? That's some pretty serious overclocking! I've also got my CPU overclocked to 300 MHz FSB for a total of 2.85 GHz. You can probably do the same without a hitch...
     
  12. saschke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #13
    Yes, 450/950 are the default freqs.. :)
    How exactly are you overclocking your CPU? Are you running the same C2D?
     
  13. ssn637 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #14
    In the NVidia Systems Tools under Performance there's also a separate tab for the CPU, similar to that shown for the GPU. My default frequency was somewhere around 266 (fsb) and I just moved the slider over to 300. That should give you a boost...my Windows 7 CPU Experience Index went from 6.0 to 6.4.
     
  14. iTootyFrooty macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    #15
    Was there a guide you followed to overclock?
    I'm kind of new to overclocking.
     
  15. Maximus434 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    #16
    How did you install the 197.45 driver?

    The files they tell you to remove/extract on the laptopvideo2go website don't exist in the download, at least on windows 7 64 bit.
     
  16. saschke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #17
    This is so strange - I'm not able to change settings for CPU there. The slider is immobile and no frequency/multiplier is shown?! :p

    Driver: http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/topic/26537-v19745-windows-7vista-64bit-nvidia-desktop/
    Download the driver, the modified INF, follow instructions and use the "have-disk" method for installing the new driver :)

    I'm totally new to overclocking to be honest. Applied some OCing with my first MBP way back with the ATI X1600 :)
     
  17. saschke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #18
    Ahh the instructions are a bit sloppy there. It's not "other_infs.zip" or something similar, but "additional_infs.zip". There you'll find the nv_whql.inf file.
     
  18. klover macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #19
    Great work OP. Any chance you have a copy of Bad Company 2? Would love to see how the OC handles that game.
     
  19. saschke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #20
    Unfortunately no BC2 for me.

    But I can tell you that this game's engine is a real sucker for clockspeed. I tried the beta back in February (?) in my old late 2008 MBP 15" with the 9600M GT (256MB RAM) and it ran as slow as a snake with a walking frame. A performance boost was reached only through switching to Dx9 for graphics.

    So in all honesty, if things have not improved vastly, I can't see you playing BC2 on the 13" at enjoyable settings. But maybe the engine has improved in the final version. What do I know?!?! :rolleyes:
     
  20. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #21
    What about source games? TF2, etc. How do you think those would do?
     
  21. saschke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #22
    I've tried HL2 deathmatch (mind you, without any enemies) on dm_overwatch and it ran great in 1920*1200 (got the LED Cinema Display hooked up to the Macbook Pro). ;)

    So, you can play it easily. Half-Life 2, CS:S, TF2, PORTAL.
     
  22. KappyB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
  23. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #24
    I have to run TF2 on super effing low on my fail desktop. Thank you kind sir. I cant wait to test TF2 tomorrow.
     
  24. saschke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #25
    You should be fine. I think the FAIL @ memory department is negated by the shader config in this chip (48 pipes if I understood correctltly).

    I find great pleasure in doing this thread :D Never mind.
    Just post your results and we'll have a nice place to accumulate all this information.
     

Share This Page