64GB RAM in 2006 Mac Pro (2,1)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by profinite, Nov 21, 2015.

  1. Teon macrumors regular

    Teon

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    #26
    Oh people... where you need 64 GB RAM?))))
    32 GB is toooooooooooo many)
     
  2. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #27
    Isn't it obvious...? pr0n and tiny bit of Facebook.
     
  3. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #28
    In more than 2 tabs at the same time!!! :cool:
     
  4. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #29
    Which M.2 (NGFF) PCIe Adapter do you use? And can it boot your 2006 Mac Pro?
     
  5. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #30
    With this one it's the Lycom DT120 AFAIR, but you can use any of them. And it is bootable ofc – I use it as OS and apps volume. These are just pass-through adapters (chipless and driverless), only for re-arranging pinouts to regular PCIe form. "Bootability" is a talk between the controller of the drive and Mac Pro EFI AHCI driver.
     
  6. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #31
    Thanks for that explanation. Seems like the Lycom DT120 is a good upgrade. Is 512MB the largest M.2 AHCI PCIe SSD? Like the XP941 or SM951?
     
  7. 666sheep, Apr 1, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2016

    666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #32
    Except Apple ones 512GB is max what you can buy. Regarding adapters, I find Lycom overpriced for the same functionality as $6 adapter from Ali. I'm currently using such no name cards in all my builds and you can't tell the difference. There is no point in buying SM951 for 1,1/2,1 because these ~700MB/s is actual limit of speed in x4 PCIe 1,1 slot. If one wants a heatsink for their PCIe SSD the best solution is to use heatsink scrapped from old FB DIMM module (a half of it from the side without AMB). It can be glued to the SSD with thin thermal adhesive tape. But heatsink for a boot/apps only drive is an overkill.
     
  8. cw48494 macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #33
    Still plenty happy with my MP 1,1 though I'm STILL looking for a pair of intel confidential 5355's (1066mhz).
     
  9. hrutkaymods macrumors member

    hrutkaymods

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    #34

    Hey time to reboot a dead thread, I have a question about your setup. Is it totally stock OS wise (minus the boot.efi of course)? I only have 4 slots in my Pro because the memory controller is screwed up for the Riser A slot. So I'm running 16GB in Riser slot B. Do you think I could get to 32GB with 4x8GB? I just got the Pro a month ago from a recycler, and it took me 3 days to figure out why it kept crashing. I had all 8 slots filled with 32GB in total until I realized why it was crashing and pulled out Riser A. I'd like to go back to 32GB, can I? Also if I need to boot into Lion, will that cause an issue?

    You're the first person I've seen online to get 64GB to work, I knew the Intel 5000x chipset could, but everyone said 32GB was the max for the Pro. This post of yours has given a glimmer of hope for me to get 32GB back.
     
  10. cw48494 macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #35
    Should work fine, though for a few dollars more (depending on where you live) you could find another Mac Pro 1,1. I picked mine up for $100.
     
  11. hrutkaymods macrumors member

    hrutkaymods

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    #36
    I got mine for $139, I that was with the money I had left, I'm broke now and probably will be for some time, also 32GB is plenty for me and other than the ram controller for slot A, its 100%, works totally fine. I just wanted more ram for the stuff I do with it. Thanks for the quick reply!
     
  12. profinite thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #37
    hrutkaymods,

    (1) Yes, it is a stock OS (now, OS X El Capitan, 10.11.5) minus boot.efi
    (2) I agree with cw48494 that 32GB should work in your specific application.

    With 32GB, I hope that your Mac Pro will serve you well for many months to come. Please post your results here!!
     
  13. hrutkaymods, Jun 16, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2016

    hrutkaymods macrumors member

    hrutkaymods

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    #38
    lol it may be months considering Sierra apparently needs SSE 4.1, been considering 3,1 logic boards, but I'm not too sure yet, plus I could get another 1,1 logic board and use the other 16GB of ram I have, we'll see if I can fins 4x8GB cheap enough. logic boards cost about $50, though I would have to take the ENTIRE system apart, and its anywhere near as simple as a PC to do so


    I found a great deal on 4RX4 ram, I see you used 2RX4. I haven't bought it yet, I doubt it compatible, I've seen previous posts on 4RX4

    Okay I've found 2RX4 ram at a pretty good price. I think its the same seller I bought my HP sever 8x4GB kit from looks like the same heat spreaders too. I might buy it... anyone know a place other than ebay I can sell my 8x4GB kit?
     
  14. roto1231 macrumors newbie

    roto1231

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #39
    I saw an individual who pulled the heatsinks off of his original 667MHz FB DIMMS to reapply the thermal paste. Makes me think if you have the correct speed and spec RAM one could surmise that just swapping the heatsinks from Apple certified DIMMS to non certified DIMMs you would have the same results. I'm guessing the folks who as selling the 8GB FB DIMMs with the correct heatsinks have done just that.
     
  15. hrutkaymods, Jun 29, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016

    hrutkaymods macrumors member

    hrutkaymods

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    #40
    I considered swapping my heatsinks actually, but decided the thin HP heatspreaders would work fine and there's a possibility the heatsink design may not work on other ram properly


    Edit: I just tried it (Since I have 4 unused 4GB Dimms) and my theory was correct. I had to re-notch the ends to get the Apple heatsink on (plus the side clips wouldn't go completely down) and then I realized the memory chips stick out the top of the heatsink (original had 4 chips in the center of the heatsink and the new one has 16, in sets of 2, 1 on top 1 on bottom)
     
  16. dougp59 macrumors newbie

    dougp59

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    #41
     
  17. adamsun, Dec 9, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2016

    adamsun macrumors newbie

    adamsun

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    #42
    What is it that allows the ram to be doubled up to 64GB?

    Upgrading to the quad xeons, upgrading to a higher OS than Lion or the 2.1 firmware?

    Does Lion support 64GB or just the 32 we are told it will?

    I have a standard 2 x 2.66 dual machine with 32 GB ram but may need 64 for an application in the near future.

    I'm actually happy with the dual processors and prefer the simple stability of Lion too although I could upgrade if need be.

    I only want it to run midi and to store music samples in the ram for quick retrieval and performance so later OS's are not required and are just padded out with stuff I don't need.
     
  18. weckart macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #43
    I did this with my original heatsinks. I also bought a few more low capacity Apple FB-DIMMs cheaply just for the heatsinks and transferred those to higher capacity RAM that came with cheap thin heatspreaders. I used 1mm thermal pads I bought rather than paste as this is what I found Apple had used. Although part of some chips protrude above the Apple heatsinks, I reckoned that the effect would be minimal on the overall heat transference.

    To be honest, I did not see a massive difference in temps recorded once up and running. The original Apple FB-DIMMs ran quite hot and so did the generic RAM either in the heatspreaders or with Apple's thicker heatsinks. Nor did the fans kick in so perhaps we place too much store on passive thermal dissipation.
     
  19. nigelbb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #44
    8GB FB-DIMMs. These weren't available when the Mac Pro 1,1 2,1 were shipping.
     
  20. George Hau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    #45
    Is it possible to mix ram sizes in pairs? For example I have 2x1GB and 2x4GB occupying 4 slots (with 4 empty slots). Can I populate the remaining slots with e.g. 4x8GB to give a total of 42GB?

    Obviously I am already mixing 1GB and 4GB rams; but I am wondering if adding 8GB rams will be an issue.

    I have a MacPro 1,1 flashed to 2,1, running OS X 10.11.6.
     
  21. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #46

    The two inner slots on each riser are the main slots. The outer two slots are slaved to them, all data to the outer ram has to go through the inner dimms controller chip first. For max speed with what your saying, I would use only the four 8GB in the inner slots and leave the other dimms off.

    Also, the MacPro will use the dimms four at a time for 256bit access IF the dimms all match. The inner pair in each riser makes one 256bit group, then the outer pairs. The only reason eight dimms is faster than four considering the second four are slaved off the first, is that the serial memory controller is faster than four dimms alone, and does get a boost from the second set.
     
  22. George Hau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    #47
    Great information! Many thanks!

     
  23. gpatpandp macrumors 6502

    gpatpandp

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #48
    FYI...I was curious as to what this upgrade translates to cost wise from the quoted price of $199.00 purchased on November 18, 2015 to the current/present day just a mere year and three months later. Low and behold the 64GB (8 x 8GB's) of PC2-5300F FB Dimm memory can now be had for less half the cost ($97.95 Total) it was going for just a year and three months ago.
     
  24. nigelbb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #49
    I think that the price drop is a combination of the fact that the market has been flooded with FB-DIMMs pulled from EOL Xeon servers & that the number of people still running systems that require FB-DIMMs is diminishing all the time. Even price of 800MHz FB-DIMMs has plummeted & these were only ever used in the 2008 Mac Pro 3,1.
     
  25. MortenMoulder macrumors member

    MortenMoulder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    #50
    I hate to be the guy who's like "HEY DOES THIS WORK"... but...

    HEY DOES THESE WORK: 8x 4GB PC2-5300F DDR2 667MHz ECC Fully Buffered Server RAM

    "PC2-5300F" and "Fully Buffered". They are "only" 32GB, but that's more than enough for me and they're very cheap. The "compatibility" list only shows HP servers, but I assume that won't matter.. right?
     

Share This Page