Acquisition Won't Connect Anymore

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DJAKO, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. DJAKO macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    I've been using Acquisition for over a year now, great app, love it very much. The other day it stopped connecting. I dismissed it at the time and tried a few hours later to get the same problem. I followed the steps on the sites FAQ to no avail.

    This got me to thinking that maybe my ISP or router had to do with the problem.

    I also have the Torrent app by the same person and it connects fine, so it doesn't seem like my router / isp is causing any problems.

    Can you think of anything else I may have missed or any solutions?

    Thanks.

    Maybe digging the story will give the developer some attention to fix this?

    http://digg.com/apple/Acquisition_Does_Not_Connect_Developer_AWOL
     
  2. magznyc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #2
    same problem

    i've been having the same problem with acquisition since about the same time as you - have you gotten any more info since your post? i can't seem to find anywhere that's willing to discuss acquisition since it's in that shady p2p realm, and the acquisition website is, shall we say, less than helpful. it's driving me nuts! any help appreciated.
     
  3. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    Unfortunetly no luck...I even emailed them.

    The developer, Dave has this iChat email listed: porfiry99@mac.com and the feedback one on the site is feedback@acquisitionx.com

    Try giving those an email and I will do the same. Maybe include a link to this thread and hopefully we can get some answers.
     
  4. magznyc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #4
    working now

    started up acquisition last night and now it's working perfectly with no effort on my part. i wonder if it was some sort of system failure that's now been rectified. anyway - hope yours is too - good luck
     
  5. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    Wow, you're right. It connected. WTF lol.
     
  6. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    Hey just an update. It does connect now, but when I search for something it's not finding any results. Are you getting this same issue?
     
  7. stef6252 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #7
    Can't connect at all!!

    My aquisition stopped working a couple weeks ago and it still won't connect at all. I have a airport extreme wireless base and i have done everything to try and configure the ports and make sure everything is up to date.
    Is everyone else having this problem to?
     
  8. pondie84 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #8
    If its worth anything I can add my voice. I installed a few days ago and found it didn't connect so I deleted.
     
  9. stef6252 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
  10. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    Which version are you using? The 1.whatever I bought last year was the one I was having trouble with. Now it connects, but still won't download.

    I downloaded a trial of the new one and it connects and downloads correctly. I just don't want to have to pay again for pretty much the same application.
     
  11. Stormalong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #11
    porfiry99@mac.com showing up on my Buddy list

    I came across this thread by "Googling" "porfiry99@mac.com" only to find out that this is the screen name of the author of Aquisition. I have bought and installed Version 2. I am encountering the same problem as most of you here. It won't connect. I have corresponded with the author from time to time over the last few years and he has always been responsive and helpful, so my bet is that he is working on this problem and will correct it in an update. I am curious if this may be related to all of the Leopard glitches. Has anybody run into this connectivity problem while using Tiger?

    The second issue that has me a bit concerned is that the author's screen screen name keeps appearing in my buddy list in iChat. As I have never communicated with the author over iChat (so he should not be in my buddy list), this is a bit alarming. Has anybody else run across this issue? Does anybody have an idea why his screen name would appear in my buddy list like this? I am wondering if this might be some sort of security breach.

    Thanks guys.

    Stormalong
     
  12. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #12
    I am running Leopard with no Acquisition problems at all :eek:

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  13. stef6252 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #13
    I am using whatever my computer came with. I have a black macbook.
    I am using the most current version of acquisition that i purchased last year to upgrade my older one. Its only in the last month that it has not worked at all, no connection.
    I have emailed feedback@acquisition but have not gotten any response, but i am annoyed because i do a lot of downloading!!
    Are there any other downloading programs that any of you recommend for mac users or should i wait for a response from acquisition?

    Thanks all!!
     
  14. Stormalong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #14
    Connection problem solved!

    I am running with an Airport Extreme router. I opened up ports 6346 and 6881. Now it works.

    In Airport Utility, select the Airport icon, click the Manual Setup button, click the Advanced tab, then Port Mapping, hit the plus "+" button, then type "6346, 6881" in each of the four port boxes. Finally, hit the update botton, which will restart your Airport. You should then be able to run and access Aquisition just fine.

    Stormalong
     
  15. stef6252 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #15
    The only thing is mine won't connect whether i am connected to my airport or directly to the modem. I have asked them for my money back. Does anyone know of another downloading program for mac?
     
  16. emkaiser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #16
    I just bought an iMac this last weekend and transferred my activation code (that I just purchased last month!) for Acquisition from my PowerBook that was still running Tiger. I use a router that I have no control over (it's my roommate's) so I cannot configure it as the FAQ page suggests. I never had any problem on my old computer, using the exact same router. Now it will not connect. And I am frustrated. Any suggestions?
     
  17. patrick99e99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    #17
    I too have this problem. I just bought a license for Acquisition2, and it will not connect. I have my ports forwarded, and my firewall settings to allow incoming/outgoing data to acqusition.

    The developer of this software is actually quite rude, and I was hesitant to buy version 2 of this software. Many years ago, acquisition stopped working (telling me I needed to upgrade to pro) when I already had, and when I'd put my email in it gave me an error that it was an invalid address.. Anyway, I emailed the developer describing the problem and asking for help-- no reply. I sent another email a few weeks later.. no reply.. I think I probably sent close to 10 emails, the last one I think I said something like "why are you ignoring all of my emails? I am a user, I paid for this, help me".. and he replied with "DIDN'T YOUR MOTHER TEACH YOU ANY MANNERS???", and apparently he reset the email address so it began working again...

    But anyway, after I exhausted all efforts to get acquisition2 to work-- I emailed him (politely) about this current problem with acqusition2 and got no reply.. So I did find him on iChat and I said hello-- he said hello.. I told him the problem I was having and he replied with "unfortunately I cannot help you troubleshoot". So then I said "ok, well then I'd like to request a refund". And he immediately signed off (or blocked me, who knows which). So I have just had to file a dispute with paypal.

    So annoying.. and such a shame because I really do like Acquisition.

    -patrick
     
  18. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #18
    I just recnetly reformatted my Mac and downloaded the trial of Acquisition 2 to make sure it worked before I bought the new license (was a previous license 1 owner, funny he won't let them transfer). Not connecting, I'm getting ready to give up and find a new application.

    We should all email him the link to this thread, maybe he'll do something about it....
     
  19. erlendviken macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #19
    agreed

    I downloaded the trial v.2 and when i double clic the icon there is no reaction at all.. the same happens with xtorrent. any other programs available?

    everyone should definetely email the developer. this is not good enough
     
  20. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #20
    I'm going to email the developer again, I suggest some more of you guys do and include the link to this post. Maybe action will then be taken by him.
     
  21. elcanja macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #21
    Same Problem

    Hi guys... I'm also having problems with acquisition lately... Previously I never had any issues with Acquisition 1.32 no matter what version of the os x (10.3.9 or 10.4.11) I was running. Now after formatting and reinstalling 10.4.11, I got the new version of Acquisition 2 (206) and no matter what, it did not connect. I deleted it and installed the old version 1.32 which I never had any problems with and it does not connect anymore.
    And after reading this forum things seem to be a bit fishy...

    If anyone knows of any updates on the situation please post them....

    By the way... I never purchased a license for it... Can that be it? I don't think so as there seem to be people who paid for it and can not connect either.

    Cheers
     
  22. elcanja macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #22
    OS X incompatibilty

    Hi erlendviken...

    Dude, as for double clicking and not getting any reaction this happened with me before when trying to run some apps due to an old os x version... Maybe you need to update your os x or run an older version of acquisition.... Although probably it won't connect... :)

    Cheers
     
  23. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #23
    Yep, add me to the list too of Acquisition owners who's software won't connect. The developer Dave Watanabe is not helpful nor will he return emails. Acquistion version 1 always worked until I downloaded version 2. Oh well.
     
  24. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #24
    Shoot him another email, maybe if all of us voice are concern he'll do something...

    I submitted this thread to DIGG. Let's get this story popular. Maybe then Dave Watanabe will come out of 'hiding'

    http://digg.com/apple/Acquisition_Does_Not_Connect_Developer_AWOL
     
  25. Acquisition macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #25
    I appreciate the feedback, but the simple reality is that despite significant efforts, I have not succeeded in reproducing any connection issues nor have I received sufficient evidence to suggest a probable cause. The 10.5.2 update appears to be a common theme creating problems for a very small number of users. That said, I'm running 10.5.2 and no combination of firewall settings or other deliberate obstacles has stopped Acquisition from connecting for me.

    Ultimately the only thing that will solve this issue, or any issue for that matter, is old-fashioned troubleshooting to expose the exceptional conditions on your computer that are to blame, followed up with detailed information to me. Finger-pointing is not productive.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page