Activation Problem - AT&T?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by crazyitalian198, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. crazyitalian198 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #1
    Every call I make I get "the call you are attempting to place is not allowed from this line"

    AT&T seems baffled over the phone. Anyone have this problem and get it resolved?
     
  2. applefan022 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    #2
    So I guess this begins the problems with AT&T activation process like last year....
     
  3. crazyitalian198 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #3
    Yah they said I need to sync with iTunes as everything looks good on their end...my next stop is to talk to someone from apple...
     
  4. Rafterman macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #4
    I got the legendary "your activation process is pending, please wait for our email" email. I should have know that AT&T wouldn't be ready to handle the load. Again.
     
  5. crazyitalian198 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #5
    I wish I at least received an email...nothing on this end a useless phone
     
  6. HowardSmith macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #6
    Mine had NO SERVICE till I called AT&T. When the recording asks for your number and you put it in, it advises that you have a upgraded phone. Answer a couple of questions and turn you phone off and back on in a few minutes and it went right to LTE!
     
  7. crazyitalian198 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #7
    In case anyone's curious - I fixed the problem myself after ATT tossed in the towel.


    There really isn't a way to trick the phone into re-entering the activation process other than resetting iOS, so that's exactly what I did. A simple "Erase All Content And Settings" let me start from scratch and the phone activated.

    Hopefully this will help someone.
     
  8. Maverick1337 macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #8
    I'm trying this now to see if it works. It was funny to see, in AT&T's store, when they turned on my phone to "activate" it there was only 1 bar. I was just waiting to see "call failed" but didn't happen. Anyways, I'm erasing everything and I'll let you know how it goes.
     
  9. vastoholic macrumors 68000

    vastoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    #9
    I didn't have any issues activating my phone over cellular except for the first try immediately said "we can't activate because we can't contact the server, try connecting to iTunes" message thingy. Then asked me to either connect to wifi or try again over cellular. Tried again over cellular and worked like a charm.
     
  10. txflyfish macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #10
    Half hour in and LTE still not up. I've got voice and text. Come on AT&T this is ridiculous!!! Every single year!
     
  11. RyanTheGeneral macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #11
    Ditto. Failed first time. Tried again 2 seconds later. Worked fine. Made a call no problem.
     
  12. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #12
    When I first turned it on and activated, I had text and data but not voice. Switching it off and on reactivated voice. I see that it switched from "LTE" to "4G" (3G) to make the call, so I'm wondering if the issue was in the hand-off to 3G or the activation.

    Meanwhile, after making the call, it was stuck back on HSPA for a few minutes before switching back to LTE. It appears someone at AT&T or Apple has some work to do figuring out hand-offs between LTE and 3G. Maybe we'll see something in iOS 6.0.1.
     
  13. Maverick1337 macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #13
    Well i reset everything and it shows AT&T at the top with full bars but if I try to make a call it directs me to AT&T's activation robot operator. I went through that and it already shows I "have accepted the agreement, it is activated, and it should be ready to use" but it's not. I'll just wait it out for a while. I'm sure they're getting hammered at the moment.
     
  14. HowardSmith macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #14
    Have you turn off WiFi? The second I turn off WiFi my goes right to LTE. It is FAST!;)
     
  15. ryguy2303 macrumors 6502

    ryguy2303

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
  16. techiegirl macrumors 6502a

    techiegirl

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #16
    No problem activating here. FWIW my wifi was not on and AT&T LTE connected within a minute.
     
  17. ashley1496 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #17
    I also have no service after activating. I'm syncing stuff onto the phone so can't fiddle with it yet. The first sync always takes forever while you get your apps and music on the phone!

    I'll just have to deal with AT&T later!

    EDIT: Just in case I signed on to att.com to view CSS. It still shows Apple iPhone 4 as my device!

    And of course my iPhone 4 has no service like it's deactivated! I can't make ANY call now! This should be interesting trying to call AT&T later!
     
  18. CH34P3T macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    The City of Roses
    #18
    I have voice and texting, but no data. Also, my AT&T account doesn't show unlimited anymore! It doesn't even show a data plan... Anyone else have this problem?
     
  19. jarbro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #19
    Mine activated in Brooklyn, NYC no problem. Took 5 minutes tops to transfer the number over. 11am EST.
     
  20. Hauss316 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #20
    Still waiting since 10:30am EST in Florida......couldnt even call 611 from the new phone. currently on hold with ATT to see if I need to activate my new contact.
     
  21. txflyfish macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #21
    Yep wifi was off. Had to restart the only 4g was on, then more waiting and now have LTE
     
  22. DrewDaHilp1 macrumors 6502a

    DrewDaHilp1

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    All Your Memes Are Belong to US
    #22
    Had to do the same thing.
     
  23. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #23
    I called AT&T to do an upgrade swap, took about 10 min as the rep advised me the only way she could activate it on my line (vs. my wife's that the upgrade was tied to) was to change from our mobile share to a minutes based plan, add it to my line, then switch it back to the mobile share plan. :confused: Anyways, was very nice, even waived the upgrade activation fee without me asking, and my phone was up and running with full functionality, including LTE. Plus I only probably waited about a minute to get connected to a rep when I called at about 10 am EST.
     
  24. ryguy2303 macrumors 6502

    ryguy2303

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    #24
    I waited 2 hours, then called AT&T. They said there was nothing they could do to get it activated. Anyone have any other suggestions?
     
  25. B737 macrumors 6502a

    B737

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    #25

Share This Page