Activation server down?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Resevdog, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. Resevdog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #1
    I haven't seen this exact problem yet...

    Downloaded 3.0. Already backed up so click Update. It extracts the software then states its contacting the activation server. It then puts up an error box saying the server is temporarily unavailable please try again later.

    So, is it truly unavailable, and if so then Apple--> Fail.
    If not, then is my firewall or something blocking the connection?

    Any ideas?

    ***SOLUTION ON PAGE 2!!!!!******
     
  2. joejoejoe macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #2
    same exact problem here.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Same here :(
    I guess they're getting hit hard by everyone updating.
     
  4. evsmotors macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    #4
    iphone activation server temporarily unavailable

    Anyone getting this error?

    "iphone activation server temporarily unavailable"
     
  5. iphoneg33k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #5
    OMG.. I'm having something like that earlier... I got the same error message about a network connection. Once I was able to download 3.0 and install. NOw I'm getting again a network connection to activate the phone...

    At this point I am only able to make emergency calls only... the menu that shows you your iphone is having trouble contacting Itune Store...

    Will keep trying..


    ***UPdate***
    it works now... I was able to get it working... Everyone enjoy...
     
  6. Online macrumors member

    Online

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
  7. beankid1025 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    #7
    I must agree apple = major fail for not wanting to try and fix the problem....now we can't even update yet....:mad:
     
  8. Resevdog thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #8
    I guess I just don't understand what they need to "activate". Obviously if I'm upgrading, my phone is activated. The software is local now. So WTF? :mad: -->:apple:
     
  9. lloyd.smith. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
  10. vexious macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #10
    Turn off your internet and the update will work :)
     
  11. RumMunkey macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US) AppleWebKit/530.17 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Safari/530.17)

    Mine did that, it cleared up in 2 minutes. Just try again.
     
  12. wingsabr macrumors 6502

    wingsabr

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #12
    Lolz, it's like 2.0 dejavu? Hmm didn't :apple: have activation server problems last year?? So we made all this money, but screw having enough server capacity to handle the load.
     
  13. prelag macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #13
    My phone is stuck in emergency mode. I get the error message "Could not complete your Itunes store request."

    Anyone else getting this?
     
  14. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #14
    reset the modem you mean?
     
  15. 03sho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  16. CrEsTo macrumors 6502

    CrEsTo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Are you sure this will work?
    How will it activate the phone then after the install?

     
  18. azsprty macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #18
    just keep trying guys...took me about 7 or 8 times and it finally worked
     
  19. insimbi macrumors 6502

    insimbi

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #19
    Yes, I am - it sucks - wtf?!
     
  20. wingsabr macrumors 6502

    wingsabr

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #20
    Turn off your wireless or unplug your internet and it will skip the activation part. Just worked for mine...
     
  21. beankid1025 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    #21
    basicly...it wont....until you get through and apple can fix the problem/bottleneck....Apple probably just wanted to make sure they still had these same problems they did when 2.0 was released so they could fix them for the 3gs activation......:confused:
     
  22. Resevdog thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #22
    Nope, that definitely didn't work :p
     
  23. jbennardo macrumors 6502a

    jbennardo

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #23
    Spamming the update button but server is still unavailable. Does it require a re-plug? Would that somehow make a difference? :confused:
     
  24. iHateMacs macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #24
    Arrrggghhh

    Is it a case of the server only allowing a certain number of connections at once? Is it best to just keep trying and hopefully you get a connection when someone else has completed activation (if you can get in before someone else).
     
  25. Bklynblaze207 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #25
    Mine says...

    "This Iphone cannot be used because the Apple mobile device service is not started".

    Anyone else getting this?
     

Share This Page