Activator update....any issues?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by lansa, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. lansa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #1
    Just saw there's an update to Activator 1.4.1. Has anyone installed this yet? Any issues or is it safe?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Just did it a few hours ago.
    Everything seems fine so far.
     
  3. LoLife macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Location:
    Reno, NV
  4. drensin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #4
    Activator update

    Been using swipe in from bottom left (anywhere) to bring up "multitasking" (ha!) tray. Worked great in previous version. Now the gesture causes screen to judder and open/close tray many times until I stop it. fades icons on screen above.

    Changed gesture to (anywhere) icon spread. Works fine.

    everything else seems okay.
     
  5. Gizmotoy macrumors 65816

    Gizmotoy

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    #5
    Swipe up from bottom is broken. I have Lockinfo set to pull down from the top or close up from the bottom, and if I do the swipe up from the bottom it goes crazy. Pull from top works fine.
     
  6. aelalfy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #6
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=984558

    checkout my thread, its not the update itself, but activator is giving me the worst problem yet since my jailbreak, leaving me with no choice but to not install any app that requires it. I have contacted Ryan, who is the contact developer for it and he made the update to address the issue, but it hasn't changed. Scenario 1&2 mentioned in my thread are still there.

    Thanks
    AE
     
  7. philip in al macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #7
    When you have a JB iPhone, how do you guys know when there is an update available for one of you apps, or for a system app like the one you are talking about in this post?

    Thanks
     
  8. supervelous macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    #8
    I had Notifier set to pull up from bottom, and it was going crazy as well and even crashed my springboard.

    However, I went to Activator, deactivated Notifier and swipe from bottom, then reactivated it to swipe from bottom, and now swipe up from bottom works fine.

    Must just go crazy for anything you had using that function from before the update.
     
  9. aelalfy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #9
    go on your cydia app and go on the "changes" tab at the bottom of the app. any update will show as "new" to download there.

    Thanks
    AE
     
  10. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #10
    I cant believe it wont allow you to activate Camera by pressing the statusbar.
     
  11. philip in al macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
  12. aelalfy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #12
  13. F123D macrumors 68040

    F123D

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Del Mar, CA
    #13
    I've never had any luck with swipe up from bottom. Maybe I'm using it incorrectly but I'm always accidently hitting an icon in the dock. What's the correct way to swipe up from the bottom? Unless I'm just lousy with that gesture.

    I've updated and everything still works perfectly for me.
     
  14. i hate phones macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Location:
    Philly Suburbs, PA
    #14
    this... am i swipe retarded? i want my phone to go to sleep when i swipe up from bottom. absolutely nothing happens. it doesn't even go crazy as other people are complaining. this is before and after update. i had heard of someone having this working previously. i am moving my thumb in an upward slide starting right above the home button. and yes my thumb is touching the screen :rolleyes:
     
  15. Benji222 macrumors 65816

    Benji222

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    So Cal
    #15
    Mine is working fine :D, still have the same lock and try to unlock after problem with top switch but whatever.
     
  16. aelalfy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #16
    Hi,

    say what? sorry I ddint get the last few words. basically the whole sentence actually. Anyways if you have a problem that I discussed in my thread:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=984558

    Then wait for activator 1.4.2, which should solve the issue by just ignoring the double tap lock button if it has nothing assigned to it.

    Thanks
    AE
     
  17. Benji222 macrumors 65816

    Benji222

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    So Cal
    #17
    I have discussed in your thread.
    Springboard-> top lock button -> top lock button again -> screen flash

    I was there with you when you put in into pertrich or whatever the guys names is that runs activator...
     
  18. aelalfy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #18
    Oh yea now I remember, sorry I was just a little confused with that sentence, you mean tap lock button -> tap lock button again -> screen flash.

    Anyways thanks for the help, we finally have the issue almost resolved, well not resolved but have a workaround now. Hes adding code to the app, making it ignore the double tap lock button if nothing is assigned to it. which will most likely resolve the issue. Activator 1.4.2 should be out any minute.

    Thanks
    AE
     
  19. Snowman3459 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #19
    There is one thing I noticed. This Activator update SIGNIFICANTLY improved my battery life.
     
  20. aelalfy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #20
    update 1.4.1? or 1.4.2?

    Thanks
    AE
     
  21. mokeiko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
  22. Snowman3459 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #22
    1.4.1
     
  23. aelalfy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #23
    Thats good to hear, maybe he cleaned some of his code on the way, all because of my thread :p. He probably had memory leaks in the code that got cleaned on the way.

    Thanks
    AE
     
  24. Gizmotoy macrumors 65816

    Gizmotoy

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    #24
    It is a very touchy gesture. You need to get the starting point right. If you don't do that, it never works. On iOS4, I aim for the tiny bar that represents the front face of the "shelf" the dock icons are sitting on. If you're off even the slightest amount, it won't work.

    I mainly did it for the seamlessness of "pull down to open, push up to close". Typically I just tap on an empty area of Lockinfo, which causes it to close.
     
  25. deeznutz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #25
    same problem here.
     

Share This Page