AirPort set up quick question

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Maglalangfrancis, Oct 13, 2017.

  1. Maglalangfrancis macrumors newbie

    Maglalangfrancis

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    #1
    This is how my set up looks like in our house. A being the main network while B and C are extensions.
    The speed when I'm connected to the C router (Beside it) is noticeably slower. Right now, the automatic setup configured C router to extend router A as well (B is extending A also)

    my question is.
    Should C to extend router B to have better performance?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #2
    What kind of devices are they? We need to know that to answer your question. But the better answer is to replace your network with one of the newer mesh style networks from Eero or Ubiquity. Google also sells a system but...Google.
     
  3. Maglalangfrancis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Maglalangfrancis

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    #3
    They're (Router A) AirPort Extreme latest gen. (Router B) AirPort Express and (Router C) AirPort Extreme 4th gen I think.
     
  4. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #4
    The Airport Express (router B) can't extend to C, so your network is set up the only way it can be. Apparently the signal from A to C is too weak to permit high speed. There is nothing you can do with those parts unless you can put an Airport Extreme at B and make it the primary router.
     
  5. Maglalangfrancis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Maglalangfrancis

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    #5
    Thanks! I guess I have to find a way to move it closer to A. Since the main connection is in A.
     
  6. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #6
    See if you can get an Ethernet cable over to B.
     

Share This Page

5 October 13, 2017