AMD Radeon R9 270X ports are not working on Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by HK1234, Jun 15, 2018.

  1. HK1234 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #1
    I have a problem...

    I have a Mac Pro "Eight Core" 2.8 (2008). My old graphics card "died" and I bought another one.
    The new card is AMD Radeon R9 270X, 4096mb. With OS X El Capitan it almost works. One monitor is working and one display port (dvi) is working, but I can´t get a picture from HDMI or any other port. This type of problem is new for me.

    What can I do?
     
  2. TheStork macrumors 6502

    TheStork

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #2
    Is the 270X a PC graphics card or has it been flashed to work on a Mac Pro? If it's a PC graphics card that hasn't been flash, then that's probably the problem.
     
  3. HK1234 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #3
    Yes it is flashed for Mac pro. One dvi port is working well, but HDMI is just "black". According to my monitor there is signal, but it is just black...
     
  4. bookemdano, Jun 15, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2018

    bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #4
    What brand is the card? Usual case when some ports don't work is if the port layout is different from the reference design. I don't know if that applies in your case though. Did you buy it pre-flashed or flash it yourself?

    Edit: also, it was a little confusing because you said "Display Port (DVI)" was working. I assume in that case you meant the DVI output. There is a specific port type (which your card also probably has) called DisplayPort. How many outputs does your card have and what type are they?

    Edit: Old thread with similar issues: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/2008-macpro-3-1-radeon-r9-270x.1889387/
     
  5. HK1234 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #5
    It was pre-flashed. I was prepared to to flash it myself, but the price was OK for pre-flashed.

    Yes you are right. I did´t use the right terms. My card has two DVI outputs, one DisplayPort and one HDMI. My main monitor is DVI and my second monitor is HDMI. Only one DVI is working. The other DVI is just "black" and same for HDMI. I haven´t tried DisplayPort.
     
  6. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #6
    If you look at the thread I linked, you'll see it's due to the non-standard port layout on this card. You might try a PM to fl0r!an or hope he sees this thread, as maybe there has been some progress made on a fix, I dunno. But in that thread he flat-out states that the 270x is not a good candidate for MacOS.

    If you're still able to return the card and pick up something different you may want to consider that.
     
  7. HK1234 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #7
    Thank you for good explanation! Have to think about this for a while...
     
  8. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #8
    This card can't be flashed perfectly due to it's port layout. Personally I wouldn't waste any time on this and return it to the original seller.
     
  9. DearthnVader macrumors 6502a

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #9
    Do all the displays work at boot time, then go black when you boot the OS, or are the displays dark all the time?
     

Share This Page

8 June 15, 2018