Anybody else disappointed with Leopard?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jonschoen, Nov 10, 2007.

1. jonschoen macrumors newbie

Hello. Am I the only one who is very disappointed with Leopard? I mean, I paid $130 and waited in line for the 'Leopard Opening' at 6pm, on the Friday it came out. I have been using Mac OS X since BEFORE the $30 'Public Beta" of version 10.0, and I have been using Macs and the Mac OS since System 7, so I consider myself a professional user. I make my living fixing computers. I even had access to the developer edition of 10.5, but chose not to use it, because none of my apps were compatible.

I have had nothing but trouble on the four computers I have installed Mac OS 10.5 'Leopard' on. Here are the computers I have it installed on:

1. My Macbook 2.0ghz Core Duo, with 2GB ram, and an upgraded 100GB hard drive. I did a completely clean install on this computer, as it is my main computer I use daily. I backed everything up, formatted the hard drive, and installed 10.5, and then migrated my documents and applications over, except for Adobe Photoshop, which required a new install.

2. A 1.25Ghz Power PC Mac Mini, with 1GB ram.

3. A 2.16ghz Core 2 Duo 20" iMac, with the original 512mb ram.

4. a 2.16Ghz Core 2 Duo 17" iMac, with the original 512mb ram.

The Mac Mini refused to let me install 10.5 unless I formatted the hard drive. It said that I HAD to partition the drive as GUID. Why GUID? Don't know, thought that was only required for hard drives in Intel Macs. So I backed everything up, formatted the drive, and reimported apps and docs. What a pain! Especially since I was doing it for family, and didn't get paid.

The last two computers, I did an 'Archive and Install".

Here are the problems I have experienced with Leopard so far, and also my comments and concerns.