Anyone disappointed?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by hhaydenn, May 3, 2011.

  1. hhaydenn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    There are always people who are disappointed. "No unicorn tracker = NO BUY." Get over it.
     
  3. Blaine macrumors 6502a

    Blaine

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Abilene TX
    #3
    Yeah, I'm surprised the top end doesn't have an i7 by default, and I was hoping for 8GB of ram standard on the top end. I also hoped the prices of their ssd would have dropped a tad.

    It's still a very beefy machine though :)
     
  4. sanderwood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #4
    I was hoping for an SSD option for the 21.5 inch, but unfortunately not. On the other hand though, I was not expecting it to get such a nice video card.
     
  5. Orme macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    The prices of the SSD did drop a load.. by £85 GBP I think?
     
  6. tdream macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #6
    The top spec imac only has a 1TB hard drive when 2TB is like 60 bucks. 8GB RAM is less than 100. How stingy are thee :apple:
     
  7. Jazwire, May 3, 2011
    Last edited: May 3, 2011

    Jazwire macrumors 6502a

    Jazwire

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    Disappointed in wait time for the SSD only, other than that awesome update.
     
  8. KandyKane macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    The previous generation 27" was able to be used as an external monitor... no mention of it on this revision, I'll be disappointed if it no longer has that feature :/
     
  9. zephonic macrumors 65816

    zephonic

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    greater L.A. area
    #9
    No 16GB option for 21.5" upgrade = disappointment.

    +1
     
  10. koolkat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #10
    I was searching high and low for that too.

    That would be a deal breaker for me - I use iMac and MBA and like to be able to use the external monitor function. Without that I will probably get 27 inch monitor instead and macbook pro plus macbook air for travelling.
     
  11. G4er? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Temple, TX
  12. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #12
    I was actually hoping we would see SSD caching in the new iMac. But besides of that (and the long SSD wait times), the update is actually rather great! The base model looks like a great bang for buck and the GPU in the top 27" is great as well. Looks like I will be getting a new i7 then ;)
     
  13. legreve macrumors regular

    legreve

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #13
    Although I wont be getting one any time soon, it's always fun to fantasize...

    And I gotta admit. I'm a bit disappointed. I know it's going to be fast and rock the world, but I honestly though the step would be steaper.

    To sum up the changes (and please correct me and add more to the list):

    - A bit faster processor <>

    - Sandy bridge ^

    - 2 times Thunderbolt <>

    - Better graphics card <>

    I almost know why they didn't, but why oh why couldnt you just offer that damn anti-glare screen. Curse you at forcing my hand towards the Mac Pro for desktop work :(
     
  14. hhaydenn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    Get this screen when I click 'Select an iMac' ?ANYONE HELP!?!?!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. steadysignal macrumors 6502a

    steadysignal

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #15
    crap. no uni-tracker? i'll just wait for next year's release then.

    ;)
     
  16. Chris5488 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #16
    Me too!
    And I'm not even buying from the US store but from the Belgian store... seems to be global? :(
     
  17. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #17
    Yes. Why can't we see pictures of a dead Bin Laden. :rolleyes:
     
  18. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #18
    I was actually configuring a new PC and seeing what the new desktop Sandy Bridge are all about, and I was quite shocked what I saw.

    The 3.3 ghz Core i5 2500k is the mainstream Sandy Bridge cpu at a very cheap price. So Apple is actually shipping very low end Sandy Bridge CPU's of 2.5, 2.7 and 3.1 ghz?

    Ok sure, it's an improvement over last years models, but let's get real here, it's all low end hardware except for the 27" iMac i7.

    Atleast put a cheapo 3.3 ghz core i5 2500k which costs nothing basically?

    edit: Unless the new iMac has big heating issues, but I don't think it has heating problems since it's able to ship with the 3.4 ghz i7?
     
  19. iamthedudeman, May 3, 2011
    Last edited: May 3, 2011

    iamthedudeman macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #19
    The 21.5 has a option for a 256SSD For 500.00. I ordered a 21.5 2.7 with the SSD for 1850.00, 2000.00. With tax out the door. The base does not. There is also the option for the i7 2.8.

    And no I have no interest in a 27 for less money. I already have a main display 25.5 HP with brightview anti glare. It's a glossy but with hardly any glare. Looks better than the multiple 27 inchers that I have back at the office. No ultra gloss for my main display thank you. Two screens are better than one.
     
  20. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #20
    It does have Thunderbolt, so it's an easy fix.
     
  21. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #21
    Even the previous generation 21.5 inch iMac was able to use 16gb of ram. Hell, even the previous generation iMacs were able to have up to 32gb of ram. Just because apple doesn't list 16gb of ram doesn't mean it doesn't support it.

    As far as the upgrade goes, I'm extremely impressed at apple. It isn't one bit underwhelming. The quad core in lowest end model, 6970m instead of 6950m in highest model and option for 2gb vram 6970m surprised me for the better.
     
  22. iamthedudeman macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #22
    ??

    Cheapo. This is the most they spent on processor upgrades in a long time.

    Here is the base i5.

    http://www.eio.com/p-31443-intel-bx...lga-1155-65w-quad-core-desktop-processor.aspx

    The price Apples pays is lower, but considering the last core i3 3.06 cost 133.00 I would say that is a upgrade.
     
  23. iamthedudeman macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #23
    Apple does list it, see my post above.
     
  24. iamthedudeman macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #24
    The high end 21.5 has the option for the SSD. Not the base.
     
  25. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #25
    OK thanks for the info. If Apple paid only 133.00 for the last gen CPU in the base model for example, then I suppose it's not that bad :D
     

Share This Page