Anyone NOT have wireless problems with leopard??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by fluidedge, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. fluidedge macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #1
    If there is anyone out there that doesn't have issues with connecting to the internet through their Airport card can they tell us all their settings etc

    If we're all set up the same way then we must all be able to connect properly right?

    Any why haven't apple released a proper Airport/Leopard patch for this?! It's all very well bundling in some fixes with a dot release of leopard, but for most (all?) of us it hasn't worked. I hope apple aren't claiming this is a non existant problem and we should all update our routers firmware :rolleyes:
     
  2. kiwi-in-uk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    AU
    #2
    Mine are fine

    All three are fine. No problems.

    1 x Airport Express

    1 x PB 1.33 Leopard
    1 x iMac CD 1.83 Leopard
    1 x iMac C2D 2.4 Leopard + Win XP
    1 x Toshiba Tecra 1.4 Win XP
     
  3. Oh-es-Ten macrumors regular

    Oh-es-Ten

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Vocal Minority

    Have rolled out Leopard on iMacs, MacPro, Macbook Pro (old and new gen), and plenty of Powerbook G4's.

    Have not had a single wireless problem with any of them.

    There was only twice when the new gen MBP jumped off wireless, but quickly jumped back on again.

    This is with a few different routers on these machines as well.

    Although I believe this issue does affect some machines, I think it was mostly taken care of in 10.5.2, and also people perhaps have not tried changing the the channel in the wireless router, which does seem to help in a lot of cases.
     
  4. priller macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #4
    I've had no wireless problems, belkin 54g wireless router, wep, channel 6, essid broadcast disabled. Its been fine with 10.5 & 10.5.2.
     
  5. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    Mine has been mine.

    2 x iMac G5's, 1 x 2008 MP, 1 x PowerBook G4. Connected to a Linksys WRT54GS running DD-WRT.

    No special settings other than wireless turned on!
     
  6. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #6
    so far so good..
    imac, blackbook, iphone all fine using linksys wrt54g

    i hope it stays that way when i replace the linksys with the time capsule next week!
     
  7. brad.c macrumors 68020

    brad.c

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Location:
    50.813669°, -2.474796°
    #7
    1 MBP + 1 Mac Mini (Leopard), 1 G4 (Tiger Server) and 1 PSP
    Running off an original UFO Airport Extreme 802.11g

    No problems whatsoev-
     
  8. hajime macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #8
    I heard that doing something physical to the router help. However, in public areas such as cafes and on-campus, there is no way that I can get nearby the routers. What can I do in such case?
     
  9. smurfjammer macrumors 6502a

    smurfjammer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #9
    No problems here - D-Link Wireless Router + MacBook + G5 iMac
     
  10. cheeseadiddle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #10
    No problems here. All my wireless devices are working as advertised.
     
  11. mrwizardno2 macrumors 6502a

    mrwizardno2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #11
    No problems here either, 2.4 SR MBP using 5ghz N AEBS (gigabit)
     
  12. fluidedge thread starter macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #12
    i HATE you all!!! :p

    I think i've tried so many different things (including changing channel which worked for about 3 days - a record) that my MP is now a bit confused and fractured. There seem to be bits and pieces of the things i've tried lying around my mac.

    I've tried setting up new keychains so there are some of those old ones lying around, there are several locations each with different passwords and fractured settings. And i've changed from WPA to WEP to WPA to WEP so many times its not funny. All in all i've tried about 10 different solutions all of which have had some sucess for about 24 hours but then the signal drops to 2 bars, and the transmit rate bottoms out at '1' (Alt-Click the black bars to see what i mean)

    All in all a bit of a mess. Can i some how reset all the keychains/locations/settigns/everything to do with Airport in one fell swoop? Reinstalling the OS isn't an option really (i haven't got the time to reinstall all my apps etc)
     
  13. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #13
    MP, MBP, MBA, 2xAEBS.

    No problems beyond the legendary No Time Machine Support for Air Drives and a generally flaky willingness to connect to the Air Drives.
     
  14. Viremia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #14
    Had constant dropouts since post-10.4.10 airport update. Continued into Leopard. No matter what brand router I tried to connect to, my mbp would constantly lose its connection.

    When 10.5.2 was released, all problems went away. Haven't had a single disconnection.

    MBP 15" 2.33 GHz (Nov 2006) + Netgear G (at work) and D-link N (at home)
     
  15. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    No probs here at all with several different Mac/WAP combos:

    Various MBPs, iMacs, towers along with:

    LinksysWAG200 (home)
    Linksys WAP54G (work)
    D-Link 604 (also work) The D-Link is a POS, but the wireless works just fine.
     
  16. Can macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #16
    I would love to say that I have no problems in 10.5.2. But I have. Internet sharing is not a easy thing to do for my mac. It works a lot better than 10.5.1 tho.

    Problems arise in a rapid manner when I get connection from my router on ethernet 1, and want to split it to ethernet 2 and trough the AirPort Extreme. Connection get dropped constantly and I must restart the "sharing".
     
  17. davidjearly macrumors 68020

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #17
    Here's what I would try:

    1. Turn your router off
    2. Open Network inside System Preferences
    3. Click on Airport, then 'Advanced' and delete all the Preferred Networks using the "-" button.
    4. Turn Airport Off in Menu Bar.
    5. Open Keychain (Applications/Utilities/Keychain Access)
    6. Find and delete all remembered passwords for your wireless network.
    7. Trash com.apple.airport.preferences.plist in Macintosh HD/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/
    8. Restart Mac
    9. Switch router on.

    This normally solves my wireless problems (until the next time anyway). :)

    David
     
  18. gavd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #18
    I've never experienced a network dropout when I'm connected, but I do sometimes find when I awake my iMac, or MBP from sleep that they say none of my preferred networks are available. I then turn Airport off and back on again and they connect no problem.

    Doesn't even happen every time I wake them up so I don't get it at all...
     
  19. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #19
    I never once had a problem with Leopard.. Tiger, well that was another story!
     
  20. chaosbunny macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #20
    No Problems either, 2,8 ghz iMac & 1,67 ghz PowerBook with 10.5.2, both on "automatic" settings connected to an Airport Extreme Base Station (the previous model which looked like an ufo).

    My girlfriends 1,3 ghz iBook and a friends (who has his studio right above mine) iMac G5 both with 10.4.11 also have no problems.
     
  21. stomer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #21
    No problems for me. Everything is working fine.

    MacBook <--> AEBSn
     
  22. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #22
    I had a ZyXEL wireless DSL modem router thing.
    When I switched to Leopard, my wifi links to Macbooks or my mini didn't work as well as Tiger.
    I turned off the wifi on the ZyXEL and plugged in my Airport Express.
    It works perfectly and I have lots of signal strength.
     
  23. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #23
    No Wireless issues here. I use Ethernet, but still no wireless issues when I have used it.
     
  24. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #24
    I have never had any issues with wireless connectivity on my Macs (G4 mini, G4 PB 1.5, G5 iMac (2), C2D iMac, C2D MB) on any flavor of OS X from Panther 10.3.6 to Leopard 10.5.2 - all have worked flawlessly. This is also on a variety of routers (but no Airport routers). I have never used wireless on my Alu iMac at work so I can't say.

    EDIT: Thinking back on it now I remember that I did have one issue at one time quite some time ago with my Linksys WRT54G but I resolved that by upgrading the firmware. No change to the Macs was needed.
     
  25. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #25
    ive never had wireless connection problems in Tiger or Leopard. im using an ADSL modem which is connected to a netgear router which is connected to a netgear wireless access point (messy i know!).

    although i did have a problem in Tiger where Airport would not auto connect to my wireless on login and i would have to select my network from the airport menu. Leopard fixed this for me :)
     

Share This Page