Anyone on Verizon able to switch lines yet?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by black743, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. black743 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Location:
    Huntington, WV
  2. jetlitheone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #2
    Get iPhone 5.

    Do NOT turn on at all.

    Call Verizon from another phone give the the imei code for it which is on bottom of box to activate it on your line.

    Power on.
     
  3. DomLando macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #3
    Did you actually do this and it worked like that? Other people are reporting you need a new sim card.
     
  4. Codepiink macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    #4
    my dumbass forgot and turned the phone on. Now i have to wait 24 hrs to reuse the sim... Oh well. Just happy to have the phone
     
  5. jetlitheone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #5
    You don't. It only activates once powered on. If you don't power it on its not activated and pretty much free to go on any other Verizon line.
     
  6. Jeff5886 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    #6
    this!
     
  7. TheBuffather macrumors 6502

    TheBuffather

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #7
    I don't know if this is true or not, but Verizon said the SIM card comes attached to the original number the phone was ordered with. Just got off of the phone speaking to both the corporate line and a few local VZW stores.
     
  8. black743 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Location:
    Huntington, WV
    #8
    Well then wouldn't the new sim activate as soon as it was slid in???

    Are you actually saying that we need a new sim but none of the stores have them???
     
  9. Jeff5886 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    #9
    Verizon can switch the number programmed to the SIM......

    AS LONG AS YOU DON'T TURN THE PHONE ON FIRST!

    Clifs:

    1. Receive new iPhone 5
    2. DO NOT POWER ON!
    2. Call 611 from a different phone
    3. Ask tech support rep to switch iPhone to different line for you
    4. ???
    5. Profit
     
  10. markb8705 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #10
    How do you know this works?
     
  11. steve dave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #11
    He doesnt. Especially since NOBODY has been able to actually do it.
     
  12. jetlitheone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #12
    Maybe cause EVERYONE turns the phone on first. I've spoken to over 4 reps. Theyve all said the same thing.
     
  13. mjn298 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Location:
    Palisades, Washington, DC
    #13
    Out of curiosity why can't this be done online like past phone activations/switches?
     
  14. nyjets macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Location:
    CT
    #14
    I have to do this tomorrow..I'm probably just going to go into the Verizon store and see if they can do it. It better work..
     
  15. pshifrin macrumors 6502

    pshifrin

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    #15
    After waiting on line at a VZ store this morning for only 40 mins (we were told by the store mgr while waiting that they can't do ESN swaps today) my sales guy did it anyway ;) I have a business account, don't know if that matters. I was taking an upgrade from another line to upgrade my line which wasn't eligible yet.
     
  16. TheBuffather macrumors 6502

    TheBuffather

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #16
    Where are you getting this information from, and is it one source or multiple sources?
     
  17. metzy25 macrumors 6502a

    metzy25

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    #17
    So you have to go in and switch it onto the line?
     
  18. TheBuffather macrumors 6502

    TheBuffather

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #18
    According to the reps I have spoken to today, you have to activate the phone on the line it was intended for first (even though others here on MR has said that doesn't apply anymore), and then switch the iPhone 5 to the line you want, and replace the other line's original phone. Fing confusing. Then, you have to wait 24 hours (hopefully less; they're "working on it") until you can use LTE. I'm so confused now. I'm sorry.
     
  19. metzy25 macrumors 6502a

    metzy25

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    #19
    Weird I wonder why you have to wait for lte
     
  20. black743 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Location:
    Huntington, WV
    #20
    So it would operate as 3G for a day? As long as it's transfered to my line, I'm good with that.
     
  21. crobbins macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado
    #21
    There were Verizon employees in the Apple store I went to that were assisting with this. I explained to Apple what I wanted to do and they took me to a Verizon employee who did the upgrade process for me. (used a different number for the upgrade than the actual line I use the phone on) The process was simple. Not sure if every Apple store has VZW employees in it or not?
     
  22. TheBuffather macrumors 6502

    TheBuffather

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #22
    From my understanding, 3G will still work just fine. You just won't be able to use LTE, but at this point I am frustrated enough to say screw it for the day, sit back, and smoke a cigar. They're trying to get the SIM cards to switch over faster (after an attempted activation, I suppose), but they weren't very clear with what's going on. They were super nice, but I feel like the reps were not prepared well by management. I wish I had more clear feedback to post here.
     
  23. black743 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Location:
    Huntington, WV
    #23
    You did this over the phone or at a store?
     
  24. metzy25 macrumors 6502a

    metzy25

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    #24
    But you for sure can go in and get them switched today? You don't have too tell tomorrow? That's the on,y thing I'm worried about.
     
  25. climber20 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    #25
    I went back to the Verizon store after realizing that I need a new SIM card to switch the phone back to my line.

    The manager told me that if I wait 24 hours, the SIM card that came with the iphone 5 can be switched to a different line, so no need for a separate SIM card.

    My plan is to wait until tomorrow to test this out and see if it's true.
     

Share This Page