Anyone with a PC Gaming Rig?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by pimentoLoaf, May 22, 2012.

  1. pimentoLoaf macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #1
    Something with dual-/triple-/quad- SLI or Crossfire setups and a specialty mobo and everything is overclocked with extra fans or water cooling and ... :eek: ??
     
  2. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
  3. pimentoLoaf thread starter macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #3
    Describe or show it (or both). Or not (with a simple yes or no). :cool:
     
  4. macbook pro i5 macrumors 65816

    macbook pro i5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    At the end of the year I am building one here are the specs:
    CPU:Intel i5 2500k
    RAM:16GB Corsair vengeance
    HDD:64GB boot up SSD(Intel) plus 4 512GB HDD 7200 in RAID 0
    Graphics card:two Nvidia GeForce GTS 450 in cross fire
    Case:Cooler master HAF XM
    OS:Windows 7 ultimate(with student discount)
    MOBO:Gigabyte P67A-D3-B3
     
  5. pimentoLoaf thread starter macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #5
    Crossfire isn't available for nVidia, as it is an AMD term. nVidia has SLI. It means the same thing, though: you're designating one card as the master and the other(s) as slave(s).

    You might want to rethink the SSD. 64gb probably won't even hold the current version of Win7, due to the disk having to be formatted first. I have a Corsair 120gb SSD that holds the OS, a bunch of utilities, and it's a tight fit adding Battlefield 3 with NTFS formatting.
     
  6. boss.king macrumors 68040

    boss.king

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #6
    You have some odd specs...
    Why so much ram, and then 2 old graphics cards (which would be in SLI, not Crossfire)?
    Also, why not get 2x1TB harddrives? Having 4 small ones will seriously limit expandability in the future?
     
  7. MorphingDragon macrumors 603

    MorphingDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    The World Inbetween
    #7
    Nope, The Algorithm's for XFire and SLI have changed significantly since they went 3+ way.
     
  8. InvalidUserID macrumors 6502a

    InvalidUserID

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #8
    2x GTX 580 Lightnings, overclocked i7-930, water-cooled with 8 case fans (Corsair 800D case).

    Built it a while back for Starcraft. ;)
     
  9. jav6454, May 22, 2012
    Last edited: May 22, 2012

    jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    See my signature to answer your question.

    Oh what the hell:

    Computer: Macross
    CPU: i7-930 OC'd to 3.8 GHz
    RAM: Corsair 6GB (3x2GB) 1600MHz at CAS 7 timings
    Motherboard: Asus P6X58D-L
    Storage: 80GB Intel G2 SSD (Boot up) and 2TB RAID 1+0 (4x1TB WD RE4 7200rpm)
    GPU: CrossFire 2x ATI Radeon 5850
    Sound: Creative Xi-Fi Fatal1ty
    Network: Asus Wi-Fi PCIe Adapter 802.11n 2.4GHz
     
  10. macbook pro i5 macrumors 65816

    macbook pro i5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    When I get back to my house will post the proper specs those are not the graphics chips that i am putting in there just from last year,I think its a GTX but I forgot the full name.

    ----------

    They are running in RAID and that much RAM is for a game server.
     
  11. MusicEnthusiast macrumors 6502

    MusicEnthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #11
    Built last August

    Here's my rig! Current specs are:

    Antec Lanboy Air Case
    Intel Core i7 950 (3.07 GHZ running 8 hyperthreaded cores, not overclocked)
    Gigabyte X58a ud3r rev 1.0 Motherboard
    Coolermaster V8 Heatsink Fan
    XFX Radeon HD 6870 with 1 GB Video RAM
    8 GB RAM
    2 1 TB Hard Drives (one 7200 RPM and another 5400 RPM)
    750W Power Supply
    Basic DVD Burner

    [​IMG]
     
  12. macbook pro i5 macrumors 65816

    macbook pro i5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    Here is what I am actually using
    Graphics card:GeForce GTX 680
    If I save up enough by the end of the year I could get 2 680's in SLI instead of just one:cool:
     
  13. boss.king macrumors 68040

    boss.king

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #13
    Are you running more than two 1080p monitors? If not a single 680 should be fine. That way you could replace it later in life with another high end card when you need it.
     
  14. macbook pro i5 macrumors 65816

    macbook pro i5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    No I am just getting a 25" monitor so one 680 is good enough for that,And thanks for your advice:)
     
  15. macbook pro i5 macrumors 65816

    macbook pro i5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #15
    I can't afford a bigger SSD I am on a pretty tight budget,although as soon as I have the funds I will buy the bigger SSD and put the old one in my MBP and put the stock hard drive in as the optibay:D
     
  16. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #16
    I built my own PC but its not a gaming rig.

    I use it as a hackintosh for my kids now
    • Case:......Silverstone FT02
    • PSU:.......EarthWatts 650 Watt ATX 12V Power Supply
    • CPU:.......Intel Core i7-930
    • MB:........ASUS P6T
    • Ram........OCZ 6GB DDR3-1600 CL8 Memory Kit
    • Video:.....ASUS EAH5670
    • HD:........WD Caviar Black 500gb
    • Optical:...LG Lightscribe burner
     
  17. qijianjonathan macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
  18. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #18
    I've got one, but it's it's modest. No dual/triple/quadruple :)eek:) SLI and stuff like that.
     
  19. Mr. McMac Suspended

    Mr. McMac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    Far away from liberals
    #19
    I built this modest system about 7 months ago. I have to say it's been 100% trouble free so far. No blue screens, etc.

    Antec Three Hundred Mid Tower**ASUS P8H67-V (REV 3.0) Motherboard**Intel Core i5-2300 Sandy Bridge Processor** 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Series Memory** EVGA GeForce GTX560 1GB Superclocked Video Card** (4) 640GB Western Digital Cavier Black HD's**Asus DRW-24B1ST DVD/CD Burner**Seasonic X750 Power Supply
     
  20. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #20
    I had one, the hard drive took a dump while I was at college though, and I haven't gotten around to fix it as my laptop is better :eek:

    But in the spirit, I have...

    Case:......APEX Matte black case
    PSU:.......Seasonic 400w silent power supply
    CPU:.......AMD Phenom X3 710
    MB:........GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM
    Ram........Generic 4gb kit
    Video:.....Gigabyte 4550 Fanless
    HD:........Samsung EcoGreen 2TB & [dead] Segate 640gb drive
    Optical:...Generic DVD burner

    All in all, it was a good computer, and excluding the CPU fan and HDD's, completely silent. Once I finish moving at the end of the summer, I'll probably update it with more RAM, a blu-ray drive, and a better video card.
     
  21. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #21
    I've got a box I built 4-5 years ago for gaming which also acts as my home lab box. Nothing is overclocked, never saw the need to do so.

    Cosmos cooler master case
    850 watt P/S
    Asus p6t6 ws board
    Core i7 920 @ 2.67 ghz
    12 gig crucial ram
    SLI using 2 x gtx 260
    21" Asus monitor
    Microsoft wireless keyboard & mouse
    300 gig 10k rpm boot drive, 3.5 tb of 7200 rpm drives
    Altec lansing speakers & sub
     
  22. macbook pro i5 macrumors 65816

    macbook pro i5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #22
    Whats the specs of that thing?
     
  23. pimentoLoaf thread starter macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #23
    My system, built for me by Digital Storm Online:

    Case:......Cooler Master HAF X 942
    PSU:.......Corsair HX1050 Pro Silver
    CPU:.......Intel 2600k 3.4ghz (Sandy Bridge) = oc'd to 4.5ghz
    Mobo:.....Asus P8P67 Deluxe
    Ram........Corsair 16gb @ 1600 MHz
    Video:.....2x SLI Dual (NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 2.5GB (PhysX) (EVGA 025-P3-1579-BR)
    HD 1:......Corsair Force GT Series CSSD-F120GBGT-BK (Boot + Utilities + Photoshop CS 5.1 + Battlefield 3)
    HD 2:......Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" (data + iTunes)
    Optical:... LG WH12LS39 Blu-ray rewriter

    I'll soon have a second 120gb Corsair SSD for the games and such, leaving the boot drive with the OS, various utilities, and not much else.

    BTW, Adobe products automagically recognize nVidia hardware and accelerate everything accordingly.
     
  24. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #24
    Case: Fractal Design Define R3 Black
    CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K (stock clocks)
    GPU: AMD 6850
    Motherboard: AsRock Z68 Pro3
    RAM: 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600
    Storage: 256GB Plextor M3 as a boot drive, 1TB Samsung F4 for data and 2TB Seagate for backups. Plus a bunch of other SSDs, though they are not in use.
     
  25. macbook pro i5 macrumors 65816

    macbook pro i5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #25
    All im thinking of is RAID-0 speeds:eek:
     

Share This Page