AP Exam 2011, tips for studying?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by wordoflife, Mar 18, 2011.

1. wordoflife macrumors 604

wordoflife

So I just looked at iCal and realized how close AP exams are! :eek:
    I mean, they aren't that close, but they kinda are. I just realized how much I have to catch up to be prepared for these exams. This is my first time taking AP, so I'm not sure what to expect or how I should study.

I'm taking Art History, World History and Human Geography. I know I'm completely screwed for Art History.

Do you guys have any tips for prepping for these exams? :eek:
    Are any of you guys taking AP? And what are you doing to prepare?

2. fireshot91 macrumors 601

fireshot91

This is my first year taking AP classes also.

I'm taking AP US History, and AP Chemistry.

I'm screwed for AP Chemistry. Even if I spend countless hours studying, I still only get like 60% on tests. I'm basically giving up on the AP Exam. Shooting for a 3, when in VA, every college requires a 4 for credit.

For studying, I have bought Barron's AP Books for both subjects. I took a practice exam in the AP Chemistry one already. And will study my ass off for this exam.

I think I'll do fine on the US History one.

3. arogge macrumors 65816

arogge

fireshot91,

The AP course is supposed to be very similar to the course that would be found at a university, and the AP exam is supposed to be very similar to one that you would find as a final exam in a regular university course. It's too bad that both conditions can be false. Good luck on your AP waivers. They're nice for saving money on tuition and personal time that could be used for other courses.

4. ender land macrumors 6502a

For the AP chem exam I went through an entire study book nearly cover to cover.

Worked well enough :)

5. jav6454 macrumors P6

jav6454

I took the AP Chemistry test. Didn't do that good. Got a 3.