Apple Developer Site Down as Developers Report Possible Hack [Update: Apple Says No Breach]

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Sep 6, 2017.

  1. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #51
    I just checked the Developer site, and I don't see any evidence of tampering with my account information. Glad I had two-factor turned on.
     
  2. penajmz macrumors 68040

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
  3. jdillings macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    #53
    As usual, Apple is going to remain silent on the hack and pretend it never happened.
     
  4. Blu Reel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Location:
    Southern California
    #54
    Well, why let a hacker know that he succeeded with which method?
     
  5. precogincog macrumors newbie

    precogincog

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    #55
    Read this initially as "hacking Siri". Was hopeful.
     
  6. Rob_2811 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #56
    Same.
     
  7. Williesleg, Sep 6, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2017

    Williesleg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Location:
    NY, NY
    #57
  8. jdillings macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    #58
    Because developers deserve to know if their information was compromised. If this was any other company, people would be up in arms about their lack of information about the hack.
     
  9. Swift macrumors 68000

    Swift

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #59
    If it's hackers, it's an exploit! Early copy of GM!

    If it's Fancy Bear, just a scouting party, and they'll be back.
     
  10. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #60
    Apple did drop that sever vender due to a fake patch that they downloaded and that was kept silent.
     
  11. jsmith189 macrumors 68000

    jsmith189

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #61
    Hack or bug, either way not good. Not sure why a "bug" would update billing information to Russian addresses/banks.

    While it's not saying much, both my regular and dev account seem unaffected in terms of attempted changes.
     
  12. michaelgill1969 macrumors newbie

    michaelgill1969

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Location:
    Oxford, OH
    #62
    I wouldn't say the problem has been fixed, however. Automatic signing of provisioning profiles is still not working in Xcode. SNOW DAY!!!
     
  13. abhibeckert macrumors regular

    abhibeckert

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Cairns, Australia
    #64
    .. if you take the day off every time that happens, you'll only work 3 days a year.
     
  14. michaelgill1969 macrumors newbie

    michaelgill1969

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Location:
    Oxford, OH
    #65
    Everything seems to be working again after I deleted my App ID. It was probably just a coincidence.
     
  15. jonharris200 macrumors 6502

    jonharris200

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #66
    "Missing bank account holder type"

    I get this error on iTunesConnect here in our UK developer account today, which I've not seen before, and sure enough the 'account holder type' field (normally should be 'individual' or 'corporation') now has no option selected from the dropdown menu.

    Our other visible bank account details are correct, and we did just happen to be paid by Apple today - money came through without any problem.

    No developer email from Apple came through to us, so I'm going to sit tight for now and not update anything. Look forward to further clarity from Apple asap.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Vorkeyjones macrumors member

    Vorkeyjones

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    #67
    Same problem here. :/
     
  17. jonharris200 macrumors 6502

    jonharris200

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #68
    I've emailed Apple/iTunesConnect Support and am awaiting their reply.

    Are you UK based too?
     
  18. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
  19. newtestleper macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    #70
    I've just had an email notifying me that an app was downloaded on a device not associated with my Apple ID. Password changed.

    Look out.

    Edit: Never mind; it was the warden.
     
  20. jonharris200 macrumors 6502

    jonharris200

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #71
    Update: Apple replied to me: "This is not an error. This is a new field which is mandatory for all bank accounts provided in iTunes Connect." Kudos to  for replying so fast.
     
  21. Jako7286 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #72
    Really? Because my name is bul. Novatorov, from Saint-Petesburg, Leningrad 198216, Russian Federation, and I think you're lying to me.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 7, 2017 ---
    Who's to say it updated the billing information? While the data being updated might be one way to cause this issue, their explanation was that an incorrect address was displayed, which also would make sense. Just because it looks like your address was set to some Russian address doesn't mean it actually was.
     
  22. Vorkeyjones macrumors member

    Vorkeyjones

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    #73
    Yes, I am in the UK as well.

    Thank you for posting Apple's response. Glad to know there's nothing to worry about!
     
  23. daveak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #74
    Drifting slightly off topic, are you able to set the field? Refuses to let me save as I've not changed any other details. Waiting on support to get back to me.
     
  24. coolfactor macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    #75
    I'm not sure that I trust this response by Apple, but maybe that's because it was a Russian address that was displayed.
     

Share This Page