Apple G5 A1047 Not detecting 1-4 RAM SLOTS

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by lightningsalesuk, May 24, 2017.

Tags:
  1. lightningsalesuk macrumors newbie

    lightningsalesuk

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Location:
    England
    #1
    So I got my hands on a Dual 2.5GHz G5 for a low price. The graphics card was almost dead. Now replaced I have got into the system and seen that only 4GB of the 8GB of RAM installed on the board is showing up. In errors an error reads :
    Last Run: 01/01/1970 01:00
    Result: Failed
    Failure type: Memory
    Memory slots: DIMM0/J11, DIMM1/J12, DIMM2/J13, DIMM3/J14

    Are the slots dead or is this a software error?
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Swap the RAM sticks around or test them individually per slot. This will isolate if there are certain faulty sticks or a number of slots which won't read.
     
  3. lightningsalesuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    lightningsalesuk

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Location:
    England
    #3
    I have tried this. All sticks work. Most of the Sticks are from my Old G5.
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    OK, so all sticks work when trying individually in every single slot?

    All RAM out, one stick in slot one, boot... then the same stick in slot two, boot...?
     
  5. lightningsalesuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    lightningsalesuk

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Location:
    England
    #5
    [​IMG]

    The RAM slots with the RAM Removed will not boot the system. Only the ones with the RAM in let the system boot.
     
  6. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
    Aah so if you try those same four RAM sticks in the middle four slots rather than the outer ones, no luck?

    And just to confirm, you've tried one stick at a time in all eight slots? It will boot from any of the outer slots but none in the middle? I appreciate it's time consuming but it's necessary to try and get to the root of the problem.
     
  7. lightningsalesuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    lightningsalesuk

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Yes. I also tried booting with 2 in working slots and 2 in non-working slots and it did not boot. It sees when 2GB are in working and 2GB in not working, It will not boot either.
     
  8. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #8
    Thank you for taking the time to go through those troubleshooting steps. Sounds like you've isolated the issue is relating to those slots, so that's where the fault lies.
     
  9. lightningsalesuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    lightningsalesuk

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Do you think it is a coincidence that it is these one or is this a know issue to happen?
     

Share This Page