Apple installed 512G SSD (iMac14,2)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Mac4Brains, Aug 16, 2018.

  1. Mac4Brains macrumors member

    Mac4Brains

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    #1
    Just an idea I wanted to ask about, My iMac14,2 is showing signs that it might not last much longer. So I was thinking about getting a new iMac. The idea hit me that but I don’t know if I can do it or not.


    Can I move the Apple installed 512G SSD from my “ME089LL/A” (iMac14,2) to a new iMac? This was a fairly pricy part that I would like to keep if I can.
     
  2. Expobill macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    #2
    if the iMac has the same slot, sure, i doubt that tho
    becauuuuse:
    macs gets fussy about us trying to save money by swamping older disc on ours/their computers nowadays
     
  3. Mac4Brains, Aug 16, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2018

    Mac4Brains thread starter macrumors member

    Mac4Brains

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    #3
    Well I am guessing that I would at least need to reformat it and reinstall everything from scratch. Considering the amount I spent on this one extra, it's no biggie for me. I would also assume that I would need to order a new iMac with no SSD so I can drop it in. This computer originally cost me like $3.5K and I am sorry to see it go after only three years.

    27-inch iMac (ME089LL/A)
    With the upgraded choices:
    [​IMG]
    • 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
    • 16GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2X8GB
    • 512GB Flash Storage (Currently 256 Mac OS and 256 Win7 Via Bootcamp)
    • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M 4GB GDDR5

    with an USB3 WD 3Tb standard drive and a DVD Burner.

    Now it is starting to act funny however I can't find anything wrong with it. I just got the feeling that the clock is ticking and it is gonna croke soon.
     
  4. jerwin macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #4
    I remember there being a big hoopla about the imac finally getting a 4xPCI SSD, instead of limping around with a 2xPCI (or even SATA).
     
  5. Mac4Brains thread starter macrumors member

    Mac4Brains

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    #5
    I looked it up and yes I have a X2 type but I don't know if the X2 SSD will fit into a X4 slot.
     
  6. Mac4Brains thread starter macrumors member

    Mac4Brains

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
  7. mj_ macrumors 6502

    mj_

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    To be honest I wouldn't bother for a simple reason: by opening your new iMac you'll void your warranty.

    If I were you I would get the new iMac with a 512GB SSD and sell the current one on eBay/Craigslist/etc. Original Apple-made SSDs are incredibly rare and therefore very expensive. Apple currently charges $300 for upgrading the default 1TB Fusion Drive to a 512GB SSD, and I honestly believe you'll make at least that if not more.
     
  8. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    You can pop your SSD into an external chassis, and still enjoy it.
     
  9. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #10
    I'm going to -guess- (and it's ONLY "a guess") that the blade SSDs that Apple is using on current (2017) iMacs are physically different from those used on the 2013 iMacs (which is what the OP has, I believe).

    As such, the two drives might NOT be "interchangeable".
    And of course, by opening a new iMac the OP voids his warranty.

    OP -- your idea probably isn't gonna work.

    If you want to "save the stuff" on the existing internal drive, get an external backup drive (if don't have one already).

    But the days of "taking your old drive with you" are pretty much over, at least with the Mac.
     
  10. Mac4Brains thread starter macrumors member

    Mac4Brains

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    #11
    I noticed that the current iMac Mini (or Late 2014 Model) is listed as using the same "5.0 GT/s PCIe x2". I might get that and drop in the SSD from my 2013 iMac (that I got new, from apple, in 2015) unless someone sees and issue with this.

    I am starting to get the feeling that Apple is giving up on the Mac now that they update the computers every two or three years.
     
  11. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 65816

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #12
    lol brains many here are going scone hot there is not an annual update
     

Share This Page