Apple released W10 BootCamp support ( BootCamp 6 ) - no support for systems before 2012

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by macenied, Aug 12, 2015.

  1. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #151
    Can someone post the BootCamp 6 package modified to work on a Mac Pro 5,1 / Windows 10 x64?
    (I don't want to have to install Mega or sign up for an account.) Thanks!
     
  2. d5aqoëp macrumors 6502a

    d5aqoëp

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #153

    Sorry to dredge up this old point. I tried this on my mid-2011 21.5" iMac and I still get the error box saying the iMac needs to be running Windows 7. All LaunchConditions have been removed from BootCamp.msi and AppleSoftwareUpdate.msi so I'm stumped as to where this is coming from.
     
  4. ifraaank macrumors regular

    ifraaank

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    Odense C, Denmark
    #154
    I would also like the links for BootCamp 6 modified to run on older hardware. I really can't remember what I did to make BootCamp 6 as well as the volume controls work on my Mac Pro 5,1...
     
  5. Braintrash, Oct 2, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2016

    Braintrash macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    #155
    So many people having the same problem: TL;DR.

    At first, I wanted to not help them and let them suffer because their laziness is a choice of them.-, but, well, some people are honestly lost at it, so here is the solution for everyone, for once and all. Share the word without limit.

    1. **** Orca. You don't need it.

    2. BootCamp 6 download link: http://swcdn.apple.com/content/down...3x20i5ge93l2yu869yegn222i8l/AppleBcUpdate.exe
    (There may be more recent versions and if you have the link, please share it here. But that version works on unsupported hardware, which is fine enough.)

    3. You don't want to install all drivers, but just the ones you need. To do this, after uncompressing AppleBcUpdate.exe, just delete the folders containing the drivers' installers.
    (On a personal note, I just put the BootCamp.msi file on my desktop. Faster and easier, and I had everything I needed working.)

    4. Once you are ready, open a Command line window as an administrator (it won't work otherwise) and navigate to the BootCamp.msi file and type the following command: msiexec /i Bootcamp.msi
    (This command also works with BootCamp 5 and any software.)

    5. Don't mind the error message(s), it won't stop the installation and is normal since you deleted the unneeded drivers. You're done. Wasn't was hard, was it?

    All of this worked fine for me using a MacBook Pro 2010 with El Capitan (since, upgraded to Sierra) and installing Windows 7 via BootCamp and then upgrading to Windows 10 from Windows 7 and upgrading BootCamp to version 6 using the provided link. Everything running without issue.
     
  6. ifraaank macrumors regular

    ifraaank

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    Odense C, Denmark
    #156
    Now that's the solution I was looking for. Thank you, greatly appreciated!
     
  7. Burnsey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #157
    Thanks, I did this but I'm having the following issue:

    when I hit the macbook keyboard display brightness buttons, the display brightness icon appears on the screen as normal, but the display itself does not change brightness.

    Similarly my volume buttons initiate the icon on the display, but my speakers still don't work, and there is a red LED light in my headphone jack.

    How do I get this all working?

    My display driver is provided by microsoft, and I can't find the name of the apple supplied display driver if any.
     
  8. jannisl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    #158
    I installed BootCamp 6 for my MacPro and everything works perfectly except my MagicMouse2. It connects automatically and works but I cant scroll with it.

    Does anybody know a fix for this?
     
  9. star-affinity, Mar 7, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2017

    star-affinity macrumors 6502a

    star-affinity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #159
    Do you remember how you installed Windows 10 on the MacPro5,1 in the first place?

    I did it once and had it running satisfactory with my non-flashed GTX 970 but it seems my Windows 10 installation got broken (at least bootwise) on my computer after I (temporarily for testing purposes) switched to my ”Mac EFI” ATI Radeon 5870 that came with the computer. After having used that when booting into Windows 10 and then switching back to my non-flashed GTX 970 I couldn't boot into Windows anymore. ”Legacy mode not supported on this computer” or something came up when I tried to fiddle with things in the Terminal. Now I'm at the stage where I have re-installed Windows 10 from scratch (using the ATI GPU) and with UEFI boot, but as soon as switched to my NVIDIA GPU I get ”no boot device found” when trying to boot Windows. So Windows UEFI boot on a Mac requires a ”Mac EFI” GPU it seems?
     
  10. enri1357, Apr 19, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2017

    enri1357 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #160
    The original questions about screen brightness has been fixed, because it is actually working automatically.

    My new questions is anybody notice the machine is always in Turbo Boost mode?

    My 2011 i7 Macbook Air normal clock at 1.8Ghz, but under Windows, it only work at turbo boost speed bewterrn 2.6 - 2.9Ghz (2.9 is max on spec)

    Even the usage is less than 10%. This makes the system hot when working. On idle, it is about the same temp as in Mac idle
     
  11. doynton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #161
    Is that good or bad?

    What does your task manager say it is doing?

    This is from my 2013 rMBP as I write this (memory is high because of idling VMs but basically it is doing nothing).

    Capture.PNG

    And this is my 2006 MBP also Windows 10 CU.

    Capture.PNG

    Both have bootcamp 6 drivers installed.

    The only unusual thing I had to do on the old one was install audio drivers from an old 4.1 version of bootcamp to turn the red light on the headphone socket off.

    I also undervolted the T7400 on my old MBP to 0.9750v with ThrottleStop which dropped its temps by 15°C. You could try that if your CPU allows it. My i5 would not but it is a huge improvement if you can.

    MBPs (well all laptops really) have crap cooling. At least the old ones still work with the latest Windows.

    As you can see, neither is running full tilt. Please, post a picture, I'd be interested.
     
  12. enri1357, Apr 19, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017

    enri1357 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #162
    I am not entirely sure if it is good or bad. On heat side, I just found it hot when Win Defender scan the system, reaching 100 C, on Battery side, I am not sure if this will eat up more energy.

    I did not see the task manager when I post the previous, but definitely strange as the Max shown in my view is not like yours - it show my Max is the normal no-turbo max speed

    -- edit--
    no sure why, the problem solved by itself, strange
     

Share This Page