Apple released W10 BootCamp support ( BootCamp 6 ) - no support for systems before 2012

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by macenied, Aug 12, 2015.

  1. macenied thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macenied

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #101
    My MacBook Pro mid 2010 13" ( 7,1 ) is working perfect with Windows 10 Pro and the BootCamp 5.1 drivers. No issues. I don´t use the BC 5 applehfs.sys driver though. This driver caused Windows VSS errors.
     
  2. FusionDawg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    #102
    Escenkay, you also need to remove the LaunchConditions from your cache installation file.
    You will want to search your registry (regedit) to determine which installer package to update for BC 4.

    Run "regedit" and do a search for "www.apple.com/support/bootcamp"

    You will find it in Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\UserData\...

    You should find an entry for "Boot Camp Services"

    What you want to look for is "LocalPackage" which should point to "C:\WINDOWS\Installer\xxxxx.msi" where "xxxxx" is some random file name. Modify the launch conditions in that msi.

    The reason why you are seeing the "Windows 7" message when trying to install BC6 is because the installer is trying to uninstall BC4.

    Another location for the BC4 installer cache is in "C:\ProgramData\Apple\Installer Cache", but I didn't find making changes to that making any difference. The one you want to modify is in "C:\Windows\Installer"
     
  3. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #103
    I did not review this entire thread before posting...

    I was looking into installing Windows 10 (via Bootcamp) on my early 2011 15" MBP with AMD Radeon HD6750M graphics with the hope of eking out a bit of a gaming performance improvement. The benefit would be DX12. My understanding is that W10 could be installed on this hardware, but based on this link: AMD drivers for Win 10 & AMD cards supporting DX12 that my card does not support DX12, so I'm thinking there is no real benefit and I should just stick with W7.

    Thoughts? Thanks! :)
     
  4. escenkay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    #104
    Hey, I didn't see this reply until now. I will try to this when I get home today. Thank you for taking to time to help me. I will post back with results~~

    Cheers,
     
  5. escenkay, Sep 22, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2015

    escenkay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    #105
    I found the CACHE .msi and modified the launch conidtions. Just tried to run BootCamp.msi (6) and its giving me

    "The feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable.
    Click OK to try again, or enter an alternate path to a folder containing the installation package 'BootCamp64.msi' in the box below."

    I've tried everything from renaming BootCamp.msi to BootCamp64.msi to copying BootCamp64.msi from an old flash drive I used to install Windows 7 and still not working.

    Any advice?
     
  6. doynton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #106
  7. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #107
    After I upgraded I lost the functionality of the 'F' keys on my keyboard, play pause etc. I just grabbed my USB drive with the Boot Camp 5 drivers on it, installed them again and it all came back. Not sure why folks are making more work of this than necessary.
     
  8. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #108
    I downloaded the 1.3gig bootcamp 6.0 file, and Orca.

    Copied out the bootcamp.msi file.
    Used Orca to edit it, and remove the 3 launch conditions.

    I still had bootcamp 5.1 installed on my MacPro 5,1 with Win10Pro. Everything was working fine except for the known problems caused by applehfs.sys.

    I ran the modified bootcamp.msi. It threw some errors, about missing packages, since all the secondary drivers were not with it, but it did install properly.

    The new bootcamp control panel does show as 6.0, and the disk problems have stopped it seems. No problems so far.

    Does the MacPro 5,1 only need bootcamp.msi to update the control panel and hfs file?
    Since the other drivers in bootcamp 6 are for other macs, are any of them useful on the 5,1 tower?

    This is my driver install order:
    Install bootcamp 5.1 first with its driver package
    Uninstall bootcamp driver for realtek audio
    Download and install Realtek HD Audio R2.79 64bit audio driver
    Uninstall bootcamp driver for nvidia
    Download and install newest Nvidia driver for win10 64bit
    Use modded bootcamp.msi from bootcamp 6 to install new control panel with updated hfs+ support.
     
  9. superkrups20056 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #109
    Hi! I was wondering how much of a speed increase I can expect on an early 2011 MBP with a Samsung 850 SSD enabling the UEFI. I'm kinda scared of disabling sleep mode, but I'll do it if it's worth it!
     
  10. escenkay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    #110
    I'm coming from aa Windows 7 installation that had the boot camp 4 drivers. I think it would have been easier if I had the boot camp 5 drivers but I can't for the life of me upgrade from Boot Camp 4..
     
  11. racecar0 macrumors newbie

    racecar0

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Location:
    UT
    #111
    Just popping in here to give a big thank you to everyone who worked on making these files available and easy to install. Just did a fresh install of Win10 on my 2011 iMac and everything is running beautifully!
     
  12. Richdmoore macrumors 65816

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #112
    I had more issues on my 2011 iMac unofficial bootcamp. I think windows 10 tried to install updated and drivers, and now it can't finish booting and shows a messed up display. I can't figure out how to restore it without wiping it and starting fresh either.

    For now I abandoned bootcamp for parallels, but may try again when I have time later to redo everything.
     
  13. tslin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    #113
    How's the performance after you upgraded to W10? I'm planning to upgrade from W8.1 but I'm afraid my mbp will slow down.
     
  14. sanke1 macrumors 65816

    sanke1

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    #114
    Speed boost using SSD is far greater and totally worth it for me. I shut down my iMac instead of putting it to sleep. Saves more power.
     
  15. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #115
    I'm pretty pissed that Apple isn't supporting Windows 10 on a Mac Pro 5,1 (a sign of things to come?)...really makes no sense. I was mainly angry because Apple only released "Input Device Driver Update" for users with Bootcamp 6. I really wanted my new Magic Keyboard and Trackpad 2 (though it makes sense because of these devices hardware requirements) to work with Win10. Scoured the web and finding no solutions finally figured it out myself. I hope this information helps someone:

    I used my 2014 rMBP to download only the update via Apple Software Update. Sent the file over to my 5,1 and was pissed to see the error "This update is not intended for this computer and will not be installed". Extracted the contents of the exe with 7-zip and sure enough there sat the driver updates for the three devices. Ran each individually and now have full support of the new devices on my 5,1 (basically added normal trackpad support and brightness/volume back to keyboard). All working flawlessly via Bluetooth 4 on my 5,1.

    Preface: I had already upgraded to BC 6, but I'm sure I didn't need to once I grabbed the keyboard installer. If there is a big demand for these drivers I'd be happy to post them somewhere.

    Capture.PNG
     
  16. doynton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #116
    I think they are just incompetent rather than malicious. To run Windows 10 on my 2006 Core2Due MBP I need Bootcamp 6, audio and Wi-Fi driver from bootcamp 4.1 and the ATI driver from somewhere or other.

    Mind you, bootcamp 6 is already about 400TB and takes several weeks to download. Imagine if it covered more than the current model. Probably wouldn't even fit on the disk or download before I was finished.

    I wish they would update the AppleHfs and Wi-Fi drivers for at least the recent Macs though - BC6 doesn't even work on my 2015 MBP which is a bit poor. Have to use other old versions for that as well.

    Perhaps AppleHFS.sys is complicated for them but they could just ask another OEM for bcmwl63a.sys.

    Ho hum.
     
  17. Jamie-30 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #117
    That would be great. having issues getting my trackpad 2 (tap to click etc) and F keys to work.
     
  18. AidenShaw, Feb 28, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2016

    AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #118
    Apple needs a 400 TB "helper app" for a 3.87 GB operating system?

    If so, they're holding it wrong.
     
  19. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #119
    I'll PM you a link to it on my dropbox.
     
  20. Jamie-30 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #120
    Many thanks for the drivers, installed keyboard and F keys work great now. Installed the trackpad driver, however I still have no tap to click option. Have you got that setting on your system?
     
  21. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #121
    Good question, do you see any trackpad options in the boot camp settings via the system tray?
     
  22. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #122
    Thanks for this. Funnily enough I'd done the exact same thing with great results.
    I see from your screenshot that you have an NVIDIA card in your cMP. Can I ask what model card it is? And are you running Windows 10 in UEFI or Legacy BIOS mode? START--> RUN -->msinfo32 (this will show you under the BIOS MODE heading)

    The reason I ask is because I can't get my NVIDIA card to work on my cMP in UEFI Windows.
    Thanks!
     
  23. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #123
    I can get UEFI to work but I don't find the results satisfactory. It will boot and go to a black screen and then about 30-60 seconds later the login screen will show (takes a long time to initiate the 770 for some reason). My experiment was ultimately for faster boot. I found the wait too long and reverted to legacy and it works fine.
     
  24. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #124
    Yep, same here, black screen/lockup when I install the NVIDIA driver under UEFI mode. See here:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mac-pro-gtx680-windows-efi-problem.1959255/

    Thanks for the quick reply!
     
  25. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #125
    For what it's worth, my GTX 980 flashed with a Mac EFI works with Windows 8.1 EFI and Windows 10 EFI installations.
     

Share This Page