[Apple TV 4K] Black screen while streaming video. Audio works fine.

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by punkdthrice, Nov 18, 2017.

  1. tonyr6 macrumors 65816

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #51
    Do any of you put your Apple TV to sleep or leave it on with the screensaver? I leave it on with the screensaver because sleep mode shows no signal until I wake up the ATV.
     
  2. Diemenz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    #52
    I had this issue originally on my Apple TV but have not had it since the first few weeks.

    iOS 11.2 brought in the frame rate change but had nothing to do with HDCP changes. I believe the trouble shooting that has been mentioned so far has been right. Here is what I have seen work to fix the HDCP errors.

    1. Change HDMI cable to a proper cable.
    2. Ensure your using HDMI advanced or whatever is required to be enabled on your tv.
    3. Use the proper HDCP 2.2 enabled HDMI input on your tv.
    4. Try different picture configurations on your tv settings (I know this sounds crazy but I have a p series Vizio and when the custom picture settings are on the custom 5 slot it black screens on wake but doesn’t on custom 4)
     
  3. Andylols macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    #53
    --- Post Merged, Feb 15, 2018 ---
    had this problem from desember until yesterday.

    Tried all sorts of tings. Bought the Belkin 4K hdmi. Sent the appletv in for repair. But the problem did not dissapear. But yesterday I bought one more Belkin 4K hdmi. This cable I use between the TV and the reciver. And now everything works perfect!
     
  4. Nickash28 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    #54
    have had this problem since day 1. Sony x700d. Recommended Apple hdmi.
     
  5. channon83 macrumors newbie

    channon83

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    #55
    --- Post Merged, Mar 13, 2018 ---
    I had the same issue with my apple tv 4k and sony 900e 65in. It worked fine last night and wokeup to black screen when playing video. Rebooting the apple TV seemed to fix the problem just fine. Must be an update issue.
     
  6. Skeptical.me macrumors 6502

    Skeptical.me

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #56
    I'm having this black screen issue but only on the DirecTV Now App, Netflix, Hulu, CNN Go, CBS and all the other channel catch up apps work fine. Its a real pain in the neck. I've tried using different HDMI cables, turning it off and on, uplugging, updating the os, uninstalling and reinstalling aaarrrggh lol

    I have no idea what's causing it.
     
  7. SP_XP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    #57
    These issues make me think of some odd ATV behaviour I have been experiencing:

    My Apple TV 4K runs through a Yamaha RX V-381 amplifier to a Samsung 4K TV (Belkin cables). When I wake up the Apple TV from sleep, the TV switches on but the audio comes from the TV.

    If I then put the Apple TV to sleep, and wake it up, then the audio will go come from my L and R speakers as expected.

    Any thoughts?
     
  8. Skeptical.me macrumors 6502

    Skeptical.me

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #58
    hmmm, thats a strange issue I haven't encountered. Have you tried asking over at the Apple Support Forums.

    I couldn't be specific about the issue as it could relate to one device or the other, if you get what I mean.
     
  9. punkdthrice thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    #59
    For anyone who still has this issue, updating the ATV4K to tvOS 11.4 Beta 2 fixed it for me. No black screen for 3 days! Fingers crossed!
     
  10. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #60
    Can you tell us your entire chain? Are you running into an AVR first? I’ve been forced to plug my ATV directly into my Sony 930E and optical out to my Denon 2400. Every time i run it directly into the AVR I have the issues. I’m still in 11.3.
     
  11. punkdthrice thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    #61
    I have mine plugged directly to my Sony 800D via HDMI. I don't have a receiver so can't comment on that. But its been working fine after 11.4 B2, I suggest you give that a try.
     
  12. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #62
    Thanks for the info. Keep us posted on the betas. Maybe Apple finally is looking into this.
     
  13. conshok26 macrumors 6502

    conshok26

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    North Tonawanda, NY
    #63
    Installed the beta yesterday and I’m still seeing this issue on my Sony 900e. Very disappointing.
     
  14. jaycebeasley macrumors newbie

    jaycebeasley

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #64
    I have your exact same setup. Same TV, cable, 11.4b2. I still have the issue. Is there anything else you can think of that may have helped solve it?
     
  15. Coffee50 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    #65
    I'm think of upgrading to the 4K apple tv. My HD TV just started acting wacky, so I'm going to just get a new 4K TV.

    Based on what I'm reading here, should I avoid installing the new update when I get the 4k apple TV?(doing the direct tv now promo).

    Many of the issues seem to be after upgrading....just thinking of what I should do...
     
  16. Tech198 macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #66
    I wouldn't bypass the HDMI cable... as cables do go bad. Could be just a sheer coincidence it happened the same time as updates.

    I've had the odd thing happen, and restarted Apple TV was perfect video as well. But i didn't let that get in my way.

    Most of the time when you have black screen for whatever reason, even if its intermittent, its usually the cable, unless you changed settings, or an update did.

    But i'd get a HDMI cable to test from Apple directly, no cheapy. As that would only further derail the troubleshooting.
     
  17. conshok26 macrumors 6502

    conshok26

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    North Tonawanda, NY
    #67
    Tried the belkin hdmi and still had the issue.

    I did notice if I hold the tv button and sleep the Apple TV it also shuts off my tv. When it do this I do not see the issue happen. I would say this was a solution if I had an ARC compatible sound bar.
     
  18. cpet2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    #68
    has anyone found a solution this yet. im having the same issue with a sony a1e oled tv. does the same thing with any streaming app and i have to restart to fix the issue. ive tried many different hdmi cables all with the same issue.
     
  19. punkdthrice thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    #69
    My Apple tv worked fine for 4 days straight with tvos 11.2b2. The issue returned. I just updated to tvOS 11.2b6 to test. Using a Sony x800D and Belkin Hdmi cable.

    Interesting to note: I was using another ATV4k using tvOS 11.0 on the same setup and it worked fine for weeks. Something apple messed up when they introduced the automatic SDR/HDR switch.
     
  20. Dimitrov84 macrumors newbie

    Dimitrov84

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    #70
    Same here, Sony TV OLED A1 same issue, only restarting fixes it, have you found a workaround? Thanks
     
  21. bopajuice Suspended

    bopajuice

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Location:
    Dark side of the moon
    #71
    I am not sure what brand or type of cable Apple is recommending, but may I suggest Blue Jeans Cables. They offer a lot of info on their site about HDMI, and are reasonably priced. Lots of choices and sizes. It's all I use.

    For those running through an AVR you have to make sure your receiver is 4k compatible. At the very least set the HDMI in your receiver to pass through. Let the AppleTV do the decoding into your TV. Make sure you are running a compatible cable from your AppleTV into your receiver AND from your receiver into the TV.
     
  22. cpet2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    #72
    i bought the belkin hdmi cable and it has helped. The issue happens far less often but does still happen occasionally. if you have a logitech remote you can program it to reboot the apple tv every time you turn it on.
     
  23. German Toys macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    #73
    Reporting same problem since day 1, same Sony 900 series.
     
  24. christsay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    #74
    When did you get a ATV 4K? Problems started for me after 11.1

    -chris
     
  25. German Toys macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    #75
    April 2018
     

Share This Page