Apple TV 4K doesn't support 24Hz output (Correction - it does now)

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by ActionableMango, Sep 14, 2017.

  1. chrismeilak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #251
    I have a B6 and noticed this, I read in a forum somewhere it’s beacuse they default the UI to be displayed at 60hz. The b6 (inc any 2016 LG sets) can’t do Dolby Vision at 60hz but can in HDR, hence why you are seeing HDR only on the UI. as soon as you start a Dolby Vision movie it’s Changes to Dolby Vision as the frame rate is set to the films rate which would not be 60hz more like 24hz. Hope this helps!
     
  2. kave macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #252
    I replaced an Apple TV 4 with a 4K and installed the developer beta on it. No auto switching occurs to 1080 24fps sd but manually setting it does.
    Is it flawed or are it not supposed to autoswitch when the swtting is set to on?
     
  3. chrismeilak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #253
    Have you set it to match frame rate and dynamic range. Two options both should be set to yes
     
  4. stringerhye macrumors 6502

    stringerhye

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #254
    It should switch to 24 but will not auto switch resolution.
     
  5. kave macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #255
    I have now set it to 1080p 50Hz (European TV standard) and match resolution only and it actually switches to 24Hz with some apps. If I set it to 24Hz it does not autoswitch back to 50 or 60Hz.

    Netflix and built in Movies works fine. Plex, HBO etc does not autoswitch at all, yet.
     
  6. Mac 128 macrumors 603

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #256
    Wait, what? You have an option to set it to 1080p 24Hz? So that's been added to 11.2 then?
     
  7. andrewstirling macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #257
    You can set it to 1080p 24Hz in 11.2. What I am confused about is his claim to have enabled a ‘match resolution’ option because I don’t believe that exists
     
  8. priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #258
    IMHO you can set it to 1080p 24Hz already now, on aTV 4K running tvOS 11.
    What 11.2 will be adding is autoswitching the framerate and/or HDR.
     
  9. andrewstirling macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #259
    Ah ok. I hadn’t seen that option prior to moving to the beta of 11.2. You’re right about what 11.2 adds. Crucially it’s important to note that it doesn’t add autoswitching of resolution as there seems to be a bit of confusion regarding that.
     
  10. fsl2017 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    #260
    That is currently the expected behaviour. Only few apps (Netflix, Itunes Movie) support the auto switching. All other Apps like Plex, HBO, Infuse, etc do not support the feature yet. The explanation here is: Obviously the Netflix and for sure the itunes Movie player use the standard playback engine (or however this is called). All other Apps which don't do that have to implement the switching. For Infuse e.g. it was announced soon after the public release of 11.2.

    I am on Plex beta, now signs that something is going into the direction yet. As well I didn't see official confirmations for doing so.

    Frank
     
  11. priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #261
    True. Don't even know, where does this claim come from. It was in none of the articles or YouTube spots I've seen so far.
     
  12. Mac 128 macrumors 603

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #262
    This might well explain the delay of the Amazon app then ...?

    Really? So it only auto switches refresh rate and SDR/HDR?

    That's something, but sort of misses the bigger point. So I'll still have to manually switch between 1080p and 4K sources, depending on whether I want my TV to upres the image or the ATV?
     
  13. andrewstirling macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #263
    To be fair, the Apple TV does a decent job of upscaling the image. I haven’t noticed any significant difference between setting it to native or leaving it at 4k. The Nvidia Shield has horrendous upscaling but that doesn’t seem to be the case with the Apple TV
     
  14. priitv8, Nov 17, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2017

    priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #264
    I also have not found any reason to switch it to lower res and not let aTV do the upscaling (apart from playing back single-frame 3D). I would even imagine aTV has far more powerful CPU and GPU than any consumer television. And Apple maintains their software in shorter cycles than most TV vendors do.
     
  15. Mac 128 macrumors 603

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #265
    This depends 100% on the TV you have and the algorhythms in use, not to mention the post signal processing available and the sophistication of it. So it's not really a hardware issue at all.

    I can assure you in my view, the ATV 4K does not do as good a job upscaling a 1080p picture to 4K as my Sony 900E does. I've done a head to head comparison and the Sony has a better-looking picture in all cases.

    Now maybe when Apple improves their algorhythms and introduces adjustable post signal processing in the box it will equal or surpass my TV's capabilities eventually.

    There are other reasons for wanting the Native 1080p display output correctly in my particular case -- again something that might not apply to everyone -- my TV reduces the amount of picture adjustments I have with a 4K signal, in particular I cannot stretch or zoom an image. So with some 4:3 content, I can't change the aspect ratio in 4K to fill the screen, or in some cases compress an as broadcast stretched image to appear normal.

    So this is not really good news. Fortunately the bulk of the content I watch is not 4K. So it just means one additional adjustment before watching a 4K movie. With any luck, Apple will make that a Siri shortcut, since that's the only parameter that needs to be switched now: "Siri, switch to 1080p", "Switch to 4K", easy enough.
     
  16. -Gonzo- macrumors 6502

    -Gonzo-

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    #266
    Why would anyone want to intentionally stretch a 4:3 image to fill the screen as everything would be out of proportion?
     
  17. Mac 128 macrumors 603

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #267
    Various reasons. Modern stretch algorhythms reduce the amount of proportional warping by focusing the stretching to the sides of the primary image. One can also zoom the image as well, without any proportional distortions, which results in some cropping but does not necessarily affect all material negatively. For plasma sets, and many OLED sets, having a stretched picture reduces the chances of burn in from letterbox or pillar box bars. It makes my mother very happy as she hates the black bars. I find zooming makes some shows more aesthetically pleasing. I personally don't care for stretched picture in some cases, but it does have its occasional usefulness.
     
  18. Hoosier317, Nov 29, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2017

    Hoosier317 macrumors 6502a

    Hoosier317

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    #268
    I just want to confirm something. I have read some of the more recent posts in this thread and want to make certain I am not misunderstanding.

    Will the Apple TV 4K, on the most recent developer beta, auto switch between 1080p SDR @ 60Hz and 1080p SDR @ 24Hz?

    I just picked up an Apple TV 4K tonight. I won't be upgrading to a 4K TV until after Christmas, but had an Apple Store gift card and there wasn't anything else I wanted at that price point. Thank you.

    EDIT: Looks like it is in certain apps anyway. Very nice!
     
  19. andrewstirling macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #269
    Yeah..any app which uses the native video player will auto switch frame rate, colour space and between HDR and SDR. It won’t switch resolution but the in built upscaler does an ok job.

    Apps which don’t use the native player require the developer to do a bit of work but apps are being upgraded.

    Finally the software update is also available as a public beta so you don’t need a developer account to take advantage of it.
     
  20. Scott Davilla macrumors regular

    Scott Davilla

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    #270
    This got me curious. I have a Samsung UHDTV. 4K/HDR capable.

    Set tvOS to 1080p/60/HDR. It Switched fine (under MrMC) to 24Hz/SDR and 24Hz/HDR just fine.
    Set tvOS to 1080p/60/SDR. This also switched fine to 24Hz/SDR and 24Hz/HDR.

    Even 4K/HDR switched to right display rate but it stayed at 1080p.

    Color scalings looked correct in all modes.

    This is under tvOS 11.2 beta5.
     
  21. Hoosier317 macrumors 6502a

    Hoosier317

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    #271
    Well, not exactly. Plex uses the native video player and does not auto switch the frame rate. Even in their beta. Infuse uses their own player and it is working fully in their beta.
     
  22. -Gonzo- macrumors 6502

    -Gonzo-

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    #272
    It doesn’t change resolution, if you want 4K then it needs to be set as 4K.
     
  23. Mac 128 macrumors 603

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #273
    Not really acceptable. It still means I'm going to have to manually switch between 1080p and 4K. Hopefully there will be a Siri shortcut for that, or at a minimum won't require me to confirm my TV can produce the signal. It takes up to 14 steps now to switch between resolutions and back. Hopefully that can be reduced to two.

    Hopefully Apple will eventually fix this.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 30, 2017 ---
    Curious ... What 1080p HDR content do you have access to?

    Will 4K HDR content even be available to stream if the tvOS format is set to 1080p? And if so, does it dither down, and still convey proper HDR encoding?
     
  24. benji888 macrumors 68000

    benji888

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #274
    Wait a minute! You can get a 24p/Hz setting at 1080p? Why is this not available on the ATV 4th gen. (not 4K)???? I see no options for this manually or otherwise, only a bunch of 60/50Hz. (...I have a 2013 blu-ray player that will play content at 24p on this TV, so, I know the set-up works.) ...I'm running the 11.2 beta...AirPlay and Home Sharing is slightly improved.
     
  25. -Gonzo- macrumors 6502

    -Gonzo-

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    #275
    Doesn’t have the required chip to run that frame rate........Apparently
     

Share This Page